Customer Reviews for

Joust (Dragon Jousters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    DRAGONS UNITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this was an awesome book. it didnt take me long at all to finish because i was reading all the time.YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    definatly one of the best books

    I ve waited a long time to find a book as good as this. Ever since I read Terry Goodkind's sword of Truth novels I have been unable to find un equal to its superior novels. Joust is definatly an equal. its very discriptive and on ocasions made me burst with laughter for the situation vetch and others got themselves in were similar to every day life even though this book was based in fantasy. At times it had me on the edge of my seat when i rejected even the idea of putting the book down. it is a warm story with a bond between man and animal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    appeal to Anne McCaffrey┬┐s Pern fans

    The kingdoms of Tia and Alta are at war while at the present time the Tians are winning because they have better Jousters who know how to use their dragons as a tool of war. Much of Altan has become part of the Tian empire and Vetch, who was once a farmer¿s son, is now a serf, lower than a slave, belonging to a master who treats him very badly. When the Jouster Ari sees Vetch¿s owner whip him, he takes him away to the Jouster compound and makes him his dragon boy. Vetch now cares for Ari¿s dragon Kashet who he comes to love. He has plenty of food and a fair workload but he never forgets for one moment that he is a serf with no rights. Although he comes to care Ari and a few other people in the compound, he can¿t stomach what the Tians are doing to his people. He wants his freedom and embarks on a course of action that will achieve that goal if he doesn¿t get caught. Mercedes Lackey always writes a terrific story and this first installment in her new series is absolutely mesmerizing. Readers will feel for the protagonist who is only a ten-year-old child yet wise beyond his years. Once he sets a goal for himself, he sees it through no matter the risks. JOUST is a fantasy tale that will appeal to Anne McCaffrey¿s Pern fans as well as anyone who loves an adorable dragon. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Love this series!!

    This is one of my favorite series of books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    This is my favorite book series of all time, plain and simple. I

    This is my favorite book series of all time, plain and simple. I've read my current copies so often that i actually need to order new hardcover ones due to how much i have worn my poor paperbacks out. I am so glad to have picked up this series of books so many years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    A great Series

    A great read. I've read this series several times and love it each time. Anything by Mercedes Lackey is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book.

    After reading this first book had to get second. Having read the second I'm off to get the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An enchanting and gradually building tale.

    Mercedes Lackey is more of a hit than miss author, and though she does slow down she doesn't disappoint with this first book in "The Dragon Jousters" series.

    Having lost his entire family to Tian marauders, who killed his father and sold the other members of his family as slaves, Vetch is forced into servitude under Khefti, a lecherous and cruel Tian merchant. Only a tiny boy, barely larger than a toddler, Vetch silently curses Khefti but endures his severe treatment until a jouster stops at the farm for water and, while there, claims Vetch as his dragon boy.

    Though slow to brew, this story begins to take on intriguing depth as we learn Vetch is as hardworking and determined as he is bright. We also learn that Tian dragon boys do not befriend serfs, but they are soon forced to acknowledge Vetch with a grudging respect as he performs all his duties as well and usually better than anyone else. We soon also realize that Ari is no ordinary jouster. Even-tempered and thoughtful, he seems to choose a quiet lifestyle in comparison to his aggressive counterparts. He also has a special relationship, a friendship actually, with his dragon Kachet, and that friendship grows into something more when Vetch is allowed into their close circle.

    I'm not going to say this book will have you at the edge of your seat, but you will definitely be cheering as Vetch comes up with and begins to carry out a wild scheme that may change everything.

    An obvious setup for larger adventures, this is a solid book that will leave you feeling as though you have visited this fantasy world and have known these people. Nicely done.

    Reviewed by "Maine's Other Author"(TM) Tim Greaton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Supri Wonderful

    A surprizingly good read. Holds your attention wonderfuly. Has a very charming and likeable ch. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    great story

    this is my favorite series from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Here Be Dragons!

    I'm generally a fan of Lackey's Valdemar books, but felt she was suffering from tired blood around the time Joust came out, so I didn't pick it up when it was first published. Recently I went on a nostalgic binge of rereading her books, and finding a lot of my old favorites like Magic's Pawn and Oathbreakers still stood up. So then I went back and tried Joust. I was pleasantly surprised--this book (and the ones that follow in the series) are just as good as Lackey's best--they might even be my favorites. The story begins in a vein very familiar to Lackey readers, with a seemingly orphaned boy, Vetch, in intolerable circumstances who only in leaving home finds his destiny. What separates Vetch from most Lackey heroes though is his anger and bitterness, and it makes it all the more interesting to see him grow and change in this book. Besides that, instead of the usual pseudo-medieval European setting you get in most fantasy, including Lackey, these books are set in a land reminiscent of Ancient Egypt. And with dragons! Dragons just as winning in their way (but very different) than those of McCaffrey's Pern.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    Hard to put down

    In Joust you follow the life of a young serf who owns nothing and dreams of owning everything.. The only downfall to Joust is the fact that by the end it doesnt have that epic feel that most Mercedes Lackey books have, of course if you read the next two books you will soon realize that by the end of this beautiful series it will become epic.. So give it a shot. Email me to talk about this or any other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Great new series by Mercedes lackey

    Joust is yet another wonderful story by one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    I couldn't let go!!

    The book was wonderful! All the main characters were well done as well as the setting. The plot made you hate, crow, laugh and feel sadness through out the book. If you like dragons and good plots I highly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    Love these books

    I have read almost all of Lackey's books. I love the Valemar series very much but it is nice to see a book about another subject and world. Joust was an excellent first installment to a new world, in my opinion. I cannot wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    Awsome

    I loved Valdemar, but it seemed to be getting wrung out... This is everything I could have hoped for, with an interesting setting twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Great Book!

    Love this book! Great Fantesy!!!! Very well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Lackey's great, as always!

    Joust is a book about a slave and his fight for freedom, but it's also about a boy and the love he has for his dragon. Joust seems to combine alot of knowledge with much egyptian flavoringe, a pinch of gaelic, and a whole barrel of imagination. When I began to read 'Joust', I just couldn't put it down. It's one of her bet stories yet. I recomend this book to anyone, and hope that she writes more about this fasinating world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Just Amazing

    Mercedes Lackey uses her considerable skill in narration and character development to create a world quite unlike Valdemar. Vetch, the abused main character, is sympathetic without Lackey giving him too many advantages. Small and mostly starved at the beginning, his main attributes are perserverence, intelligence, and a sterling work ethic, which allows him to shine in his new environment when he is rescued by a Jouster. Yet he is allowed to hate, be resentful of his situation. All these traits allow the reader to like him immensely. The dragons are a separate wonder. They're not like Anne McCaffery's creations--they are not as intelligent--perhaps--and do not speak to their riders. However, if you raise a dragon from its hatching, it will be more gentle and trainable, will not require drugging to be handled, and will recognize people it likes. I can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5