Customer Reviews for

Joy School

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My first Berg

This is one of my first berg books, and I will admit that I enjoyed reading it on the train, bus, between class breaks and any free time i had during the day. This book made me remember how it felt to be a kid and 'in love' sometimes we need a book like this to remind u...
This is one of my first berg books, and I will admit that I enjoyed reading it on the train, bus, between class breaks and any free time i had during the day. This book made me remember how it felt to be a kid and 'in love' sometimes we need a book like this to remind us of sweeter days gone by! THis book WILL make you laugh and cry and it will break your heart at times but the ending is satisfying and its an all around good book. as a barnes and noble employee I recommend it 100%! ENJOY!

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book sucks!

Am I 12???? Is this a Judy Blume book???? Youth book??? NOT a good read very boring and never had a point!

posted by LauraleeAL on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    My first Berg

    This is one of my first berg books, and I will admit that I enjoyed reading it on the train, bus, between class breaks and any free time i had during the day. This book made me remember how it felt to be a kid and 'in love' sometimes we need a book like this to remind us of sweeter days gone by! THis book WILL make you laugh and cry and it will break your heart at times but the ending is satisfying and its an all around good book. as a barnes and noble employee I recommend it 100%! ENJOY!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    Review excerpt from Curled Up With a Good Book

    Elizabeth Berg, probably best known for her TALK BEFORE SLEEP, offers up this sequel to 1993's DURABLE GOODS. It's a sequel that stands very well on its own, though, thank you very much. JOY SCHOOL is a straightforward story about a young girl learning about life and love, told in the charming narrative voice of 12-going-on-13-year-old army brat Katie. It's impossible to resist Katie's voice -- she tells her life as it happens with disarming candor and truthfulness. Her story is a bittersweet journey back in time for adult readers who have forgotten the intensity with which everything, every joy and pain, is experienced when you are just thirteen. A beautiful little book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    This book sucks!

    Am I 12???? Is this a Judy Blume book???? Youth book??? NOT a good read very boring and never had a point!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    and the point was..

    I read the first couple of pages on BN.com, and decided it looked like a cute book to read. Now, not so much. After reading the whole novel, I have no clue what the story was actually supposed to be about. There was no climax, no drama, no ending. It felt more like a journal Katie was doing for herself, and they just decided to copy some of her pages and make it a book. Not worth the money to buy this book, definitely skip.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Joy To Read!

    Elizabeth Berg delivered another great story from the life of Katie Nash with Joy School. It's the sequel to Durable Goods, but manages to stand alone. It's even better if you've read the first book. As the narrator, Katie tickles your funny bone and tugs at your heartstrings. By the end, you'll be reminiscing about your first love and all the joy and heartache it brought you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Love It

    A perfect book that I couldn't wait to get back to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Dezarae

    Same night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Buck

    Gtgtb bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Kanjii

    Sat under a tree. He poked a rock with his toe

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Jonathon

    Ghost is locked out move to next res

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Luke

    Falls asleep lov ya srry bbt

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Lexi

    Cams still on Juvie but yea hes fine

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Bree

    She falls asleeo.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    NEXT RES

    Ghost got himself lockdd out.....again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Sam

    Hi kanj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Ali

    Ewwwwwwwww Bo. Cya Ghostl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Bo

    Night

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Bunnie

    Got her homework and left

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    BAD BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Windrush

    Lied down in the nice little spot she made to rest in but she heard the winds and decided to go out and let the windsblow at her using her powers to make them a little stronger and then lied down in he snow the wistling of the winds creating the perfect lullaby it was about as close to happy as she would ever get.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2