Customer Reviews for

Joy Takes Flight: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Love it

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Satisfying Conclusion to Series

    Kate, a bush pilot in Alaska, has forged her position in an area where men pilots dominate. Before Kate and Paul, a medical doctor, marry he promises her she can continue her role as pilot. When a doctor is needed in any part of Alaska, she flies and he is the doctor she takes to where ever the need awaits. When tragedy hits the newlyweds, Paul blames himself. His brother calls him that their mother is near death and Paul returns to his former home in San Francisco. Kate, impatient that Paul hasn’t returned when planned, flies to San Francisco to urge him to return to Alaska. Can the two find a compromise that will meld them together? A great conclusion to Leon’s Alaskan Series of books. The vivid description of setting makes the reader feel the cold as Kate pulls her parka’s hood tighter around her face. Action-packed adventures, romance, and memorable characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Joy Takes Flight by Bonnie Leon Here’s another good book

    Joy Takes Flight by Bonnie Leon
    Here’s another good book in the Alaska Skies series by Bonnie Leon. Bonnie brings reality to the airplane cockpit flying in and out of the primitive frozen Alaska runways .
    You hear the crunch and feel every bump as the wheels touch down or prepare for takeoff.
    The author brings readers to the skies and into the frigid valleys of Alaska but Bonnie Leon doesn’t live in there, and she’s not a pilot.
    How does an author write effectively from a location where she doesn’t live and a career she’s never experienced?
    Bonnie Leon says you pick brains and do research. Ah, but there’s more to Bonnie Leon than that. She also knows how to plot a compelling story. We get the feel of flying through blue skies, looking down on moose, bear—and the rustic cabin where a murderer probably is holed up.
    Bonnie characters are so true to life it feels like a close friend is telling (actually showing) you the story about real people. Newlyweds Kate and Paul fuss and have head butting arguments just like normal couples, but their love is deep, their risks and problems large.
    As with many Christian novels, there is spiritual pay dirt in this book and good advice on making sound marriages as characters discuss the challenges and the way to work them out.
    The story is wrapped in brilliant writing and inspiration. Writers will notice good craftsmanship, strong active verbs, and good examples of showing instead of telling.
    How you dodge bullets and an attacker when you’re flying a plane?
    The way to find out is to read this compelling book. A great read.
    Note: I was provided a review copy, but the opinions here are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Star's bio

    To be posted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Dag

    Here is where you apply for lead hunter or guard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Pinepaw

    Gasped. "Armorkit!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Whitewing

    Whitewing chased after a squirrel. It disappeared. "Mouse dung!" She hissed. She looked up and saw Goldflame. "Mom?!" She gasped.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Icetail

    Yeah. Get used to spectacular miracles with me. I have my ways. She smiled at armorkit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Disappointed

    I really enjoyed the first 2/3 of the book but once Paul went back to SF the book dragged on and on. I could barely stand it and skipped to the end for the reunion thinking that's it?!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Joy Takes Flight is a gripping story filled with adventure and e

    Joy Takes Flight is a gripping story filled with adventure and excitement, but it also shows wonderful character development for both Kate and Paul as married life forces them to stretch. Those who have enjoyed the first two books in this series (and they DO have to be read in order) will love watching the sub-plots come to satisfying - although never easy - conclusions. I highly recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    If you've been following Kate's adventures you won't want to mis

    If you've been following Kate's adventures you won't want to miss the conclusion to Leon's Alaskan Skies series. Although this book can stand alone I recommend starting the series from the beginning.
    I really enjoyed seeing Kate grow into her role as a wife and career woman in Joy Takes Flight. At first her attitude annoyed me, but her growth through the story was a delight to witness.
    Leon has a knack for making me feel like I'm right there with the characters in the book. Her descriptions and characterizations are fantastic.
    Special thanks to Revell for my review copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1