Customer Reviews for

Joy of Cooking: 75th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Cook up some classics!

Originally a self-published book in 1931, and no less than nine revisions later, this thick volume of recipes (it's got to be at least 3 inches thick) is a great addition to anyone's cook book library.

But wait! This book is not merely just a collection of rec...
Originally a self-published book in 1931, and no less than nine revisions later, this thick volume of recipes (it's got to be at least 3 inches thick) is a great addition to anyone's cook book library.

But wait! This book is not merely just a collection of recipes- although with 4000 classic recipes and an additional 500 new ones, that would make it worth buying alone. No, this cook book stands heads and shoulders above the rest because its what I call a "teaching" cook book. It contains recipes for just about every dish or food category you can think of which are arranged in various sections throughout the book. Then, at the beginning of each chapter, there is a kind of introduction which goes into detail about that category. For example, the section on grains starts off with an almost encyclopedic explanation of the types of grains, their anatomy, how to combine them, and so on.

A handy, informative cook book with plenty of choices, there is sure to be something for everyone and even healthy eaters will find a great section on what makes up a healthy diet, how many calories you need, etc. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for readers who need more motivation to eat healthier and have trouble changing their diet habits.

posted by 216982 on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Revision 8 was much, much better!

I was really looking forward to the new revision of this timeless recipe book. I even pre-ordered it. When I got it, I realized that the way the book was set up was very confusing. That the dressing and preparation of various wild game and fowl was no longer in the book...
I was really looking forward to the new revision of this timeless recipe book. I even pre-ordered it. When I got it, I realized that the way the book was set up was very confusing. That the dressing and preparation of various wild game and fowl was no longer in the book, and that my favorite recipes were no longer there. Plus, the most important part of all - the Know Your Ingredients chapter was not there!! The previous version, from the 1970's, had everything in one chapter. I didn't have to look throughout the book to find out about alternate measurements, types of flour and sugar, or anything else. This version makes you really look for any of that. I found it highly disappointing. After getting frustrated, far too often, looking something up, I gave it to a neighbor. I am now looking for a copy of the 8th revision for my kitchen.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Joy of Cooking: 75th Anniversary Edition

    This edition of the Joy of Cooking includes some of the old classic recipes, along with some new ones - with incredibly detailed directions. The recipes are so detailed that even the inexperienced cook can theoretically turn out a decent feast. It seems a bit odd at first that it has so many modern recipe additions, but they may have already become standard (use of tofu, various grains, such as soy, spelt, blue corn meal ...) - so it does make sense. The 'Know Your Ingredients' section is accurate. (There are many sections in this huge book - even separate sections for Coffee/Tea, Wine and Beer, and Cocktails and Party Drinks.) This may serve as the sole cookbook for those with limited space, since it covers a great deal and fairly well. It goes from meals infused with condensed soup to meals infused with lavender. (One thing - It seems that they have most of their proportions well, although I would most likely reduce most of their recommendations for 1/2 cup of sugar to 1/3 cup of sugar and then add more flavorings for most of the desserts.)

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Everything you need to know

    The Joy of Cooking taught me a few things about cooking and I am 54 years old! A great reference book for the kitchen along with wonderful receipe's.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Joy of Cooking 75th edition

    This is the fourth copy of "Joy of Cooking" I've purchased since 1980. All the previous copies are tattered, full of smudges from recipies and have slips of paper in them to mark favorites. My current copy has no cover any more and the edges are all dog-earred. I'm thrilled my husband bought the 75th edition for me; however, many previous recipes are missing from the 75th edition. Also, I noticed the instructions are different on some of the recipes. Since I've only had this copy a month, it is too soon to write a more comprehensive review. If it is anything like the prior editions, it will be cherished. This makes a perfect 1st cookbook because it assumes nothing and includes everything "how to boil water" type instruction.
    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    The Bible of cook books

    I recieved the 'Joy Of Cooking' as a bridal shower gift over 40 years ago. It gave me all the basics and so many wonderful receipes to learn from. When I saw they had a 75th Anniversary Edidtion, I had to check it out. It had all the ethnic dishes that had been missing from the original but still the great all around reference cook book it always was. I highly recommend this to the novice and the experienced cook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Fantastic Book

    This is an outstanding cookbook. In addition to great recipes the helpful hints to use in the kitchen are fantastic. Almost anything you have a question about will be answered somewhere in this book! One of my best purchases so far.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Rewarding

    I owned the first Joy of Cooking book. This book was a step up above the normal. It breaks down the complexities of how to cook for the novice 'chef.' Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    A Must Have for Every Kitchen!!!!

    I have had my copy for years and find it very useful. My neice is getting married in June and purchased the updated edition for her new kitchen. Being a newlywed, marrying a former standout college football star it is sure to come in handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Joy! Joy! Joy!

    This cookbook is outstanding! It has absolutely any recipe you might need and then some. The recipes are all tried and true and delicious! The only thing missing is the nutritional value for the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Joy of Cooking - still dependable after all these years

    The typeface is familiar and it's not entirely inclusive (I tried finding recipes for turkey thighs without luck) but it's still a leader in basic, all-around cookbooks. I just tested 'know your ingredients' section for coconut and coconut milk with good results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    All the best of the old and new!

    I have the revised edition but always wanted a copy of the original. My husband bought me this for Christmas and I am so glad he did. This combines the best of both worlds. I may never make homemade marshmallows but if I wanted to - the recipe is here.. and that was in the original Joy but not the revised. I did make one of the waffle recipes and they turned out terrific. This book is a delight to read .. and no matter how many times you sit down with it, you will always find something new (or old) to try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    A great basic for every kitchen

    Can't remember how to make a bechamel sauce? Or for how long to roast a piece of beef? Or how to truss a chicken? This book is great for the basics - tons of recipes, easy to follow, good illustrations. If you have an idea in the back of your mind, instructions for how to make it will probably be found here. Also helpful for metric transplants who need help with different oven and measurement settings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2