Customer Reviews for

Joy of Cooking: 75th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Cook up some classics!

Originally a self-published book in 1931, and no less than nine revisions later, this thick volume of recipes (it's got to be at least 3 inches thick) is a great addition to anyone's cook book library.

But wait! This book is not merely just a collection of rec...
Originally a self-published book in 1931, and no less than nine revisions later, this thick volume of recipes (it's got to be at least 3 inches thick) is a great addition to anyone's cook book library.

But wait! This book is not merely just a collection of recipes- although with 4000 classic recipes and an additional 500 new ones, that would make it worth buying alone. No, this cook book stands heads and shoulders above the rest because its what I call a "teaching" cook book. It contains recipes for just about every dish or food category you can think of which are arranged in various sections throughout the book. Then, at the beginning of each chapter, there is a kind of introduction which goes into detail about that category. For example, the section on grains starts off with an almost encyclopedic explanation of the types of grains, their anatomy, how to combine them, and so on.

A handy, informative cook book with plenty of choices, there is sure to be something for everyone and even healthy eaters will find a great section on what makes up a healthy diet, how many calories you need, etc. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for readers who need more motivation to eat healthier and have trouble changing their diet habits.

posted by 216982 on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Revision 8 was much, much better!

I was really looking forward to the new revision of this timeless recipe book. I even pre-ordered it. When I got it, I realized that the way the book was set up was very confusing. That the dressing and preparation of various wild game and fowl was no longer in the book...
I was really looking forward to the new revision of this timeless recipe book. I even pre-ordered it. When I got it, I realized that the way the book was set up was very confusing. That the dressing and preparation of various wild game and fowl was no longer in the book, and that my favorite recipes were no longer there. Plus, the most important part of all - the Know Your Ingredients chapter was not there!! The previous version, from the 1970's, had everything in one chapter. I didn't have to look throughout the book to find out about alternate measurements, types of flour and sugar, or anything else. This version makes you really look for any of that. I found it highly disappointing. After getting frustrated, far too often, looking something up, I gave it to a neighbor. I am now looking for a copy of the 8th revision for my kitchen.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Cook up some classics!

    Originally a self-published book in 1931, and no less than nine revisions later, this thick volume of recipes (it's got to be at least 3 inches thick) is a great addition to anyone's cook book library. <BR/><BR/>But wait! This book is not merely just a collection of recipes- although with 4000 classic recipes and an additional 500 new ones, that would make it worth buying alone. No, this cook book stands heads and shoulders above the rest because its what I call a "teaching" cook book. It contains recipes for just about every dish or food category you can think of which are arranged in various sections throughout the book. Then, at the beginning of each chapter, there is a kind of introduction which goes into detail about that category. For example, the section on grains starts off with an almost encyclopedic explanation of the types of grains, their anatomy, how to combine them, and so on. <BR/><BR/>A handy, informative cook book with plenty of choices, there is sure to be something for everyone and even healthy eaters will find a great section on what makes up a healthy diet, how many calories you need, etc. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for readers who need more motivation to eat healthier and have trouble changing their diet habits.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Over-Joyed

    Whether you are a weathered chef or beginning cook, the Joy of Cooking 75th Anniversary Edition once again knocks one out of the ballpark. Eleven years as a chef and a copy of the book has never left my side. From the extensive explanations of the history of food to the excellent recipes, this is a must for anyone looking to improve or hone their skills in the kitchen. The new sections added to this edition are awesome especially the drinks and spirits chapter that gives you tantilizing drink recipes and serving suggestions. Bottom line is that no cooks collection of books is complete without the chef's bible, the Joy of Cooking 75th Anniversary Edition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Calling All Cooks...

    This cookbook is great for all levels of cooks. If you aren't sure how to cook something, the book explains. If you are beyond a beginner level cook, the book contains excellent recipes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    The Best Cook Book Ever

    This book is a little different then an earlier version that I had lost. I have yet to look for a recipe I could not find in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Best Basic Cook Book!

    This is the best basic cook book every house hold should have for a reference. It is what I always give the bride as a wedding gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Magnificent "go-to" cookbook

    My mother gave me this cookbook many, many years ago. Our house burned down recently and this was the FIRST book I replaced. Every household should own this cookbook. It has everything from elementary measurement equivalents to recipes for dinner parties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Joy of Cooking

    This was a Christmas gift for my daughter who recently moved out on her own. I have an old copy and LOVE IT. Refer to it all the time. The revised version seems to be more comprehensive. That's good, she can use the help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Best Cookbook For Real Cooks

    I've been using this cookbook in one edition or another since I was a little girl- forty years ago. I bought this edition for my daughter who has been calling me regularly for months, asking for recipes. When she received it, she called to tell me it had been on her wish list, because she knew this was the book I use (and she loves my cooking).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best All Around Cooking Resource

    This has always been my first resource for cooking how to's. I've used it for over 30 years. I just gave this edition to a friend of my son's who wants to be a chef and he was thrilled!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    great gift and keepsake

    Was given to my 12 yr. old on her birthday because she loves to cook. She has made a few recipes and has enjoyed reading it too. She is learning new things and hopefully her dream to become a chef comes true. A great reference book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    An absolute must-have!

    If you're an old hand in the kitchen or just starting out, Joy of Cooking is indispensible. I've been using mine for years, and the recipes never fail to impress. It's easy to read, the tips are very helpful, and the finished products are delicious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A Book for Every Household....

    I have never been a cook, nor do I enjoy cooking, but the "Joy of Cooking" makes this chore a pleasant experience. I do more cooking now that I am retired than I did when I was younger. I, so thoroughly enjoy reading this book. Thank you Rombauer Family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    FABULOUS!!!

    The Joy of Cooking should be in every kitchen!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Great for a new cook looking for information on all aspects of cooking.

    I'm on my third one. Bought many as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Outstanding

    I received this as a Christmas gift, and with this had been my first cookbook. It has everything you need from the basics, to more complex recipes. I plan on buying this for my sister's wedding gift!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    HOW COULD I HAVE WAITED SO LONG TO BRING 'JOY' TO MY LIFE!

    My mother collected and read cookbooks the way most read novels thus I too have far more cookbooks than evidenced by some of my weekly menus. When I received notification that the 75th anniversary edition of 'Joy of Cooking' had been published I realized that was one cookbook I had never read/owned. So, I bought myself a Christmas present and, boy am I glad! This is not merely a cookbook but a veritable encyclopedia for cooks. Don't be disappointed that there are no color photos of the finished product...the information about and directions relative to just about any dish you would want to prepare are there, step by step, so your recipe turns out perfectly. I love this book and I have found a new and perfect gift for brides (or grooms for that matter as my husband is enjoying it too.) By the way,we've been married for 44 years!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    Global

    I live in Scandinavia and I was not familiar with this classic American cookbook. However,I was absolutely delighted when I got it. It contains many inspiring and not over complicated recipes and a lot of useful information. In a way the content is international. It was fun to find out what Dutch owen is, a cast iron pot. The cookbook itself provided an explanation. Apart of these occasional 'dictionary style puzzles' I find cooking with help of this book very easy. Do not expect photographs, they are not included but the drawings are well executed and instructive and in my opinion totally sufficient. I get inspired anyhow. It is a well balanced edition that I would recommended to everybody with joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    An absolute must in the kitchen

    I have been using Joy of Cooking since I was a bride and have recently purchased copies for both my daughter and my son's fiance. No other cookbook is really necessary for either the beginner or the seasoned (no pun intended) cook like myself. Joy of Cooking not only gives detailed explanations of the howtos but also of the whys. I recently made a cheesecake for my stepson's birthday and Joy of Cooking walked me through it like having a chef whispering in my ear. The cake turned out perfectly and my praises are still being sung.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Great cookbook!

    This is a great cookbook that all cooks need in their kitchen! Perfect recipes that my family will eat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    The Only Cook Boook you will ever need

    This book is like a dictionary for every single fish, meat, and vegetable you might ever want to cook. Every chapter starts with a description and preparation instructions. Then the chapter goes on to have a large number of possible recipes. I have made many of the recipes in the book and everyone of them is wonderful. I also bought a copy of the book for every cook i know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3