Customer Reviews for

The Joy of Cooking

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must for every kitchen.

There is a new version of TJoC which I do not like as much as this original one. I have used this book for longer than my 26 years of marriage, and intend to make sure that each of my children have a copy when they establish their own households. The book not only giv...
There is a new version of TJoC which I do not like as much as this original one. I have used this book for longer than my 26 years of marriage, and intend to make sure that each of my children have a copy when they establish their own households. The book not only gives well written recipes in many varieties for thousands of recipes - both those one would use in every day cooking, for holiday or festive occasions, large- and small-scale entertaining - but also contains a great deal of information about: preparing and preserving foods (including how to smoke meats); preparing and cooking wild game and organ meats which are not generally found in American supermarkets; clearly explained rules about table-setting and food display; and many more subjects that would take too much time for me to detail. My children and I use it for recipes which range from those for simple pancake or biscuits to more complex gingerbread houses, trifles, etc. Every time I want to make a perfectly pink roast or a turkey dinner, I open TJoC as soon as I bring home the meat so that even my time planning and defrosting will work out perfectly. WARNING: MAKE SURE TO BUY THE HARD COVER VERSION AND EXPECT TO HAVE TO REPLACE IT EVERY 10-15 YEARS FROM HEAVY USAGE!!!

posted by dll on November 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Failure by Revision

I have always relied on my Joy of Cooking for the fundamentals. This new edition is sorely lacking the basics, now it has become just another mediocre cook book. The old version had all the basics and was easy to read, the print in this new one is very difficult to fo...
I have always relied on my Joy of Cooking for the fundamentals. This new edition is sorely lacking the basics, now it has become just another mediocre cook book. The old version had all the basics and was easy to read, the print in this new one is very difficult to follow. My suggestion is scour the used book stores for an older version. My newer version, well, it went back to the store it came from. This is definitely on the 'not Recomended' list until they get back to the basics.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A must for every kitchen.

    There is a new version of TJoC which I do not like as much as this original one. I have used this book for longer than my 26 years of marriage, and intend to make sure that each of my children have a copy when they establish their own households. The book not only gives well written recipes in many varieties for thousands of recipes - both those one would use in every day cooking, for holiday or festive occasions, large- and small-scale entertaining - but also contains a great deal of information about: preparing and preserving foods (including how to smoke meats); preparing and cooking wild game and organ meats which are not generally found in American supermarkets; clearly explained rules about table-setting and food display; and many more subjects that would take too much time for me to detail. My children and I use it for recipes which range from those for simple pancake or biscuits to more complex gingerbread houses, trifles, etc. Every time I want to make a perfectly pink roast or a turkey dinner, I open TJoC as soon as I bring home the meat so that even my time planning and defrosting will work out perfectly. WARNING: MAKE SURE TO BUY THE HARD COVER VERSION AND EXPECT TO HAVE TO REPLACE IT EVERY 10-15 YEARS FROM HEAVY USAGE!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Failure by Revision

    I have always relied on my Joy of Cooking for the fundamentals. This new edition is sorely lacking the basics, now it has become just another mediocre cook book. The old version had all the basics and was easy to read, the print in this new one is very difficult to follow. My suggestion is scour the used book stores for an older version. My newer version, well, it went back to the store it came from. This is definitely on the 'not Recomended' list until they get back to the basics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    A multipurpose cookbook

    One of the best cookbooks I have ever used for its ability to reference how to do the simplest things that even many experienced cooks do not know how to do -- how many minutes to broil, bake or steam. Good for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    If you're even thinking about turning on your stove you should own this.

    I've collected the last three editions of the Joy of Cooking and look in one of them at least every other week. I just purchased a copy of the latest edition as a wedding present for a young bride who likes to cook but has done very little of it. I recommend to everyone who "thinks" they might like to start cooking, or start cooking more, that they read "Joy" like a novel. Cooking from it will make a serious improvement in the quality of life. If nothing else, it is an invaluable reference. Frequently I need to know "how long and at what temperature must I roast/simmer/fry" a certain meat/fish/vegetable. It has truly been a joy in my life for nearly 50 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    It's a shame they went and ruined the 1975 (seventh) edition! I

    It's a shame they went and ruined the 1975 (seventh) edition! I wish it was still in print, I'd like some to give to young relatives. The new edition is just another cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended - the best of the best basics

    This has been my go to cook book for basics for almost 50 years (the 1975 edition). I own more than 300 cookbooks and love them all, but this is the the most used in the collection. This purchase was for a gift for my daughter recently called me for a specific recipe from it and I was surprised that she did not have a copy; she, too, loves cookbooks and has many. I was embarrassed that I had not given her one so here comes Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    The Joy of Cooking

    I received my cookbook the Joy of Cooking in 1980 from my best friend as a shower gift. I have used this book constantly over the years as a bible of cooking. While there are no fancy pictures like the cookbooks of today it does give detailed information how to on everything basic/mediocre and more advanced cooks need. My daughter is getting married this June and when my mom asked me what do I get her I immediately said The Joy of Cooking cookbook (the 1975 addition). You may have other cookbooks on your shelf but this is a "must" have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Fabulous cookbook - I can't live without it!

    I'm 51 years old and have never lived without this cookbook. My mother was very attached to hers and as soon as I left home I obtained my own copy. I'm not so dependent on the recipes as I am on the information it supplies on the "whys" and "hows" for cooking. It's also invaluable for its info on substitutions. I don't consider it the best cookbook for a casual cook, but I've never found one better for a serious cook/baker. Using info in this book I've created desserts so consistently good that I've had restaurant owners beg me to provides desserts for them! I recently loaned out my old copy and it never came back - that's the only reason I'm buying one now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Choose carefully

    This is the cornerstone of my cookbook collection simply because it has all the great tricks, the basic ingredients, and techniques necessary to make any cook a great cook. When other cookbooks muddle a recipe with complexity, I can always go to Joy to get the inside scoop on what really should have been written. It is also written in a manner that is easily understood even by my friends that are not native english speakers. BEWARE: The 1975 edition is the best. The new edition (8th edition,usually touted as the 2006 edition) is horrid compared to it. The lettering is difficult to read, it introduces bad shortcuts and many of the basics that make good sound cooking have been edited out. They were clearly unduely influenced by those who should be making reservations for dinner. I am hoping they will come to their senses and write an edition that is more in-depth as it pertains to the ingredients and techniques. I have read mine from cover to cover several times so it is a bit tattered and needs to be replaced (as is the norm every 10 years or so).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Joy of Cooking clarified

    The Joy was originally written in the 50s for the newly married home maker that didn't know how to boil an egg. It was meant to teach everything - from boiling eggs to preparing the most complicated of dishes. It's an excellent RESOURCE book (excellent for ideas and information), but is terrible for new cooks. I received it as a gift when I was 17 from my 'mother in law'. It scared me right out of the kitchen. Now that I am a good cook (almost 2 decades later) I find it invaluable. Use it like you would an encyclopaedia - to better understand ingredients, and for ideas for creative cooking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Can't beat the 'Best'

    The Joy Of Cooking was my very first cookbook given to me by a dear aunt for Christmas in 1965. It's been my favorite & old faithful throughout the years. I bought my daughter & niece a copy too. It definitely is a 'Must Have' cookbook for the kitchen!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Great for new cooks

    I love this book. I didn't start cooking until 5 years ago when I got married. My husband had it before we were married so he could impress his dates with his knowlede of food and, since he didn't need it anymore, I inherited it when I began doing most of the cooking. It gave me everything I needed to know to make really nice meals. I consider it to be the top of your 'basic' cookbooks and a great springboard for more gourmet dishes. My friends and I do a lot of potlucking, parties and just general sharing of food and I've considered buying them all a copy of this book because they always love everything I make from it. I do have to spend a little time reading through the recipes and chapter headings when I plan my weekly menu, but this takes less time after a while, and I've learned a lot more about food by doing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    The most informatived cookbook I've read

    This is a terrific cookbook and has just about everything you need to know about preparing all kinds of food. My cousin who is a professional chef recommended this cookbook to me and I have loved it. Every person who enjoys cooking (not from a mix or box) will find this book indispensible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    Misleading Title

    I couldn't really experience the joy of cooking because there was entirely too much to read in preparation for and between recipes. This cookbook is full of extremely long descriptions of food and why we eat what we eat and takes too long to get to the good recipes (which are few and far between). This is not at all a cookbook for beginners, people who eat everyday food, or people who have trouble reading microscopic print. The only recipe I found remotely useful was the one for pancakes--but am I really going to pre-sift flour on Saturday morning?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    Amaze your friends and loved ones with your culinary mastery

    This is an absolutely indispensable volume for the home chef. The book contains more recipes than your mom could cook in an entire lifetime, and with the "About. . ." essays at the beginning of each chapter and throughout the text, it becomes more than just a catalog of recipes. It's a how-to manual for do-it-yourself food lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    Best Wedding Gift I Got

    This cookbook is my favorite of my collection. I received it as a wedding gift from my aunt. Its nice because instead of a card she wrote a nice note inside the front cover. I have done the same for wedding gifts since. In fact I am here now to do that very thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    WARNING! OLD EDITION!

    The Joy of Cooking is a GREAT cookbook. But this is not the current version! I made the mistake of buying this 'newly revised and expanded edition of this American household classic'. But when it arrived, I found it was the 1975 version, a quarter of a century out of date. Now I've got to return this obsolete copy and track down a copy of the 1997 version.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    A 'Can't Go Wrong' Cookbook

    This is truly a wonderful cookbook. I immediately go to the Joy of Cooking cookbook whenever I want to prepare something special or just an every day meal. I know what I prepare will always turn out perfect because of the recipes and instructions contained in the book. All of the background information in the book is well worth reading before proceeding with any recipe. I've prepared many of the dishes listed in the book and have never been disappointed in any of them. I've used my bread machine for many of the bread recipes included in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2000

    The Joy of Compliments!

    My friends and family think I'm a wonderful cook .... it's because I take the time to use the Joy of Cooking Cookbook. There are usually a few extra steps and a few extra ingredients required compared to other recipes in other cookbooks, but that's what makes each recipe extra special. Macaroi and cheese is now Baked Macroni and Salad dressings no longer come in a bottle! There's a new favorite recipe almost every day! Enjoy the Joy of Cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2000

    Anchor of your cookbook collection

    This book is great because it is a comprehensive reference on how to cook anything. The recipes are easy to follow and delicious (check out barley risotto, yum!) I always refer to it when I want to look up a particular food or ingredient and then I peruse their colleciton of recipes for that ingredient. It is great for novices because it explains cooking techniques as well as recipes. I feel this is a must have book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2