Customer Reviews for

Joy to the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Joy to Faith!

    What a beautiful CD! <BR/>This is Faith Hill at her best! <BR/>Her voice is stunning and every song is done so lovely.<BR/>There is not a bad song on this outstanding CD.<BR/>A great Christmas CD to add to anyone's collection.<BR/>Hope she makes another one next year. <BR/>Thank you Faith for a perfect CD!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A New Classic

    This is the new classic Christmas collection. Think Rosemary Clooney. If you want an album to hum along to while you are decorating the tree, baking cookies, or opening gifts, this is the one. It is a wonderful balance of sacred and secular. Faith has brought a lot more Joy to the World.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Faith, This is Good!

    It really makes me angry when someone like "A fan for Christmas Music is sorely disappointed" is allowed to go unchallenged when such a review is so far from the truth. This reviewer needs to get real about his own abilities and leave the review of music to soneone who knows something about music. It is his opinion that's true but it sounds more like trying to plug someone else's music. No matter, we all know the truth and will not be fooled by this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Reviewer couldn't be more wrong!

    I was lucky enough to first hear this entire album live when Faith filmed a PBS special. I now have the cd itself and it is simply outstanding. I have not heard a better one. Faith is an amazing talent and this cd proves it as it showcases her voice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best CD on the market!

    I have heard the entire Cd and was BLOWN AWAY. It is so beatiful that it made me cry. I have already decided that every person NEEDS a copy of this CD. It really is the MOST beautiful CD of any genre out there right now. Faith really topped everybody else on this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Faith does it again!

    This CD is so incredible! Faith's voice is like a songbird in white fluffy clouds! The music makes you invision a chior singing beautifully for God and his angels in heaven! This is a must have CD to add to your collection!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Faith Hill is Awesome!

    This is a very good Christmas CD. Faith Hill has an amazing voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyed this very much!

    Enjoyed this very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Addition to Anyone's Holiday CD Library!

    Great holiday music!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    My new Christmas favorite

    I bought this CD not sure what to expect. I only knew I loved Faith Hill and I needed some new Christmas music. I was so pleasantly surprised!! Her voice is beautiful and she sings the songs with the reverence and respect they deserve. The melodies don't become all about her, like with all too many artists today (and I use that term loosely). I recommend this CD for EVERYONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fan of Christmas music is sorely disappointed

    I love Christmas music, and make sure to check out the new releases each year to see what new interpretations and tracks are being added to the roster. Since Faith Hill is a very popular voice in Country music, I was interested to see what flavor she would add to this album. But when I listened to the CD, I was disappointed and disgusted. <BR/><BR/>There isn't a redeeming track on this CD. Hill seems to have no idea how to control her voice, and so she just belts every single word, overpowering these classic Christmas songs. There's no originality in the arrangements -- they're the same versions you've heard a million times before, oversung by someone who thinks the pure strength of their voice compensates for lack of emotion or personality while singing. They don't even sound Country -- they just sound generic, and her voice makes you flinch. The one original track, A Baby Changes Everything, is forgettable at best.<BR/><BR/>If you're looking for a country Christmas CD, skip this one and go with George Strait's "Classic Christmas". Mary Chapin Carpenter has a lovely little Christmas album called "Come Darkness, Come Light". If you're looking for a fun and bright Christmas album, you can't go wrong with Kristin Chenoweth's "A Lovely Way to Spend Christmas". But save your money and skip the Faith Hill album.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Faith Hill is just a &amp quot Joy&amp quot

    Faith Hill previewed this cd on her official website and she sounds soooo amazing! .. I've been a fan of Faith's since the '90s and this is her first Christmas cd, and she did not disappoint! ..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    two thumbs up

    The album sounds great, with lots of chrismas classics on it, and a new song a baby changes everything which is a beatiful song about the birth of christ. the CD has 1950's sound to it, that go great with the song included on it. I give it two thumbs up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Faith Hill X-MAS CD

    I have Faith &amp quot Joy To The World&amp quot X-mas album. It is Totally AWESOME! Her angelic, yte powerfull voice is so great! A Baby Changes Everything just blows me away.Great job Faith.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1