Customer Reviews for

Joyland

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Wow..one of the best writers of our time, and you two are whinin

Wow..one of the best writers of our time, and you two are whining about NOT wanting the paperback to read? If you read the synopses, he explains WHY he isn't releasing in e-form, So...you lose out on what is surely to be a great read, one you can then donate to a shelte...
Wow..one of the best writers of our time, and you two are whining about NOT wanting the paperback to read? If you read the synopses, he explains WHY he isn't releasing in e-form, So...you lose out on what is surely to be a great read, one you can then donate to a shelter, a homeless person, a hospital...well, just about anywhere? I for one, will buy it, read it, enjoy it...as I still enjoy the feel of a real book in my hands, and also enjoy  my Nook...it's called being flexible...Have a nice day =)

posted by DJMcVeigh on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Well, I have no space for bound books in my collection of over 2

Well, I have no space for bound books in my collection of over 2000 books. So until it comes out as a ebook I am not interested. Bad move, Stephen King. Just because I prefer ebooks doesn't mean I don't go to bookstores. I spend at least six hours in my local Barnes &am...
Well, I have no space for bound books in my collection of over 2000 books. So until it comes out as a ebook I am not interested. Bad move, Stephen King. Just because I prefer ebooks doesn't mean I don't go to bookstores. I spend at least six hours in my local Barnes & Noble each week.

posted by MikeKaup on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Not really a crime drama, more of a toned down ghost story and a

    Not really a crime drama, more of a toned down ghost story and again MORE political crap that ruins a story.
    Another item of interest, King does not know the south. Kicking cigs out of the park in the early 70's?? Maybe he didn't know one of the
    major crops in North Carolina at the time was tobacco! Why wouldn't the grocery chain be Food Lion, which was founded in Salisbury NC
    and not Kroger which didn't get into NC until the 90's. 
    Lots of things you don't know about the south. Getting drunk on the beach in NC is not really doing research Mr. King! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Great characters

    Joyland is,for the most part, classic King. Great characters, and his narrative genious really grabs you quick in this tale. The ending is a little abrupt but the tale was done. Maybe not his greatest but read this one for the characters and you won't be let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Joyland - Interested & Intriguing For a more in depth revie

    Joyland - Interested & Intriguing

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals! 




    I have to be honest and tell you that despite him being a classic author, that this is the first Stephen King book that I have ever read. I was actually quite surprised at the temperament of the book, especially knowing what King is famous for!




    The introduction to the book was a little slow for me and really almost lost my attention. Enough so that I actually put it away for almost a year, before deciding again to pick it back up and give it another try. I must say that I am glad that I made myself pick it back up the second time around because the story really did pick up from that point and it got pretty interesting!




    The narrator, Michael Kelly, seemed like a great fit for Devin! He was a smooth reader, and made my listening experience of Joyland quite enjoyable. He was clear and concise, and overall, entertaining!




    I thought that the story had a very interested concept, and I certainly didn't figure it out until it was actually happening! I did feel like there was some either misconception or false advertisement, because in no way would I have considered this book to be a horror book or hard crime. 




    Overall, this was a quick, easy read that I enjoyed! Even though it wasn't in the same fashion of some of Stephen King's great novels, it won't stop me from picking up another King book to see another side of his writing abilities! I enjoyed the layout of the story in the sense that it gave us snippets of Devin's life when he was younger, during his time at Joyland, and his life after Joyland! I'm happy that I gave it a second chance and finished it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    From the pulp crime novel cover to the creepy tagline, one can

    From the pulp crime novel cover to the creepy tagline, one can tell you are about to step into the mind of Stephen King. King’s narrator is Devin Jones and he takes the reader back in time to when he worked at the amusement park, Joyland. Devin meets a great group of friends that help him past his break up (because in your twenties any break up seems like it is the end of the world). He also discovers the secret of the Horror House ride…it’s haunted.

    The story goes that Linda Gray came to the fair with her boyfriend. The boyfriend takes her on the Horror House ride and halfway through, slits her throat and tosses her out. All he leaves behind is a bloodied shirt and a pair of gloves. Now it is believed that Linda Gray haunts the ride waiting for her killer to be found.

    This story intrigues Devin and he decides to dig deeper to see if he can discover the identity of the killer. This fascination leads Devin on an interesting adventure that ends up putting him and his new found friends in danger.

    King has a way of making two complete different story lines come together flawlessly in the end. At times while you are reading you start to wonder what the importance of a scene is, but as long as you put your trust in King, he won’t let you down. This is definitely not a hard core horror novel as most are used to from King but it isn’t intended to be. This is just a story of love, loss, death and a bit of supernatural. I consider it a nice light mystery to read on a cold rainy day and hopefully will resonate with the younger readers and introduce them to the mastery of Stephen King.

    The audio version featured a great narrator, Michael Kelly. His youthful sounding voice was fitting for the age that Devin was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I haven't read a Stephen King book since Misery. I found this b

    I haven't read a Stephen King book since Misery. I found this book to be good, but was wanting more of a dark/thriller. This book seemed like a cozy mystery to me. I wanted to ready about a dark spooky fair. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    In my opinion the plot was very well written, the content was we

    In my opinion the plot was very well written, the content was well thought out, and the dialogue enhanced the reading experience. My only problem with the book was how long it took to finally reach the crime part (which was more than half the book). The story mainly focused on the personal background of the main character and his experiences working at joyland

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    King's JOYLAND is a coming of age, summer carnival, ghost story,

    King's JOYLAND is a coming of age, summer carnival, ghost story, mystery.  Devon Jones, with his 21 year old thoughts and feelings, fills the pages of this book with his broken heart, and his decision to befriend a very sick 10 year old boy and his beautiful Mom.  This story is populated with all those people and things you'd expect to see at any local carnival, plus a ghost of a murdered girl who sometimes shows herself to special people in the Funhouse.  The descriptions of feelings evoked at the carnie, the special carnie characters, the spunky little kid, and the love lorn heart of a college kid makes this book as much of a nostalgic trip down memory lane, as a thrilling mystery.   Then add in a couple of saved lives, a mysterious fortune teller, the haunting ghost who just wants to 'move on',  while throwing in a serial killer, and once again King has provided everyone with a great read! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    This was a good read. A soon to be college student goes to work

    This was a good read. A soon to be college student goes to work at an amusement park for his summer job
    to find that an unsolved murder had been committed at the park years ago. Through his love and loss of love
    he finds himself in predicaments that make him a hero as well as finally solving the murder.
     Not the horror story I was expecting from reading the cover of the book. I was expecting much more horror
    from a book written by Stephen King.
    Also enjoyed learning about "Carny" language at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    This was a good read, but I wouldn't call it great. Perfect for

    This was a good read, but I wouldn't call it great. Perfect for the beach, light and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    This review will be about the actual story and may contain SPOIL

    This review will be about the actual story and may contain SPOILERS!!!! Please don't read further if you don't want to risk a spoiler. 
    I'm a lifelong avid Stephen King lover and I feel like this one fell far short of the mark. About 2/3rds of the book was filler. I love his descriptive
    style but I feel like most of this was more taking up space than lending to the story. He should stick to his genre I think.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1