Customer Reviews for

Joy's LIFE Diet: Four Steps to Thin Forever

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    Great Book

    I've never written a review, but felt I should for this diet book. No matter what I ate, I never had problems with my weight, until I hit 31 years old. Work and life made less time to be active- and I started to gain some weight. I swallowed my pride and bought a diet book. In almost a week I not only lost weight but I feel like I have more energy. I also cooked 3 of her dinners and they taste great.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    This book has helped me to make true lifestyle changes!

    I love this book. I started my New Year's resolution to get fit at the end of 2008 by working out 5 days a week and eating better. In 5 weeks, I only lost 3 pounds. I decided to get Joy's book because of her clients highlighted on the Today Show. I thought if she can help so many people lose 100 plus pounds, this book can help me lose 20. I lost 4 pounds the first week and found the meal plans very easy to follow. I knew what I always needed to do, but this book helped to organize my grocery shopping and snacking so I can make much healthier choices. I'm grateful that Joy decided to publish this book because if it helped me, I know it can help others. The best part is that there are no gimmicks. I also have so much more energy after losing 9 pounds of my hopeful goal of 20.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    It works!

    Although the information is not new, it is presented in an organized fashion with everything you need in one place including food lists, menu ideas and recipes. I am on my second week on the plan and have found it pretty easy to follow. I have used many of the recipes and, for the most part, have cooked the same meals for me as for my family. I have also used the going out tips for dining out. So far, I've lost 6 pounds so I am pretty happy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Good book for weight loss

    I bought this book based on reviews from others. I found that the book contained good information on nutrition and a common sense approach to weight loss. Basically, you must change the way you eat in order to lose weight and keep it off. I found the diet plan a bit difficult to stick to mostly because I have three children who would not eat some of the meals the plan proposed. The first week was quite difficult because you give up sugar including artifical sweetners. I am glad however that I did because I have not had the desire to start drinking diet soda again. I lost a fair amount of weight during the first week. The second and thrid week of the diet plan allows for a bigger variety of foods although it is still limited. I think in order to be truly successful on this diet, you would need to be a good meal planner and have everything laid out at the beginning of the week. The book however as a whole was very good and I continue to follow the suggestions of healthy foods to eat. It does help you get into the "healthier eater" mentality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    It works!

    Joy's plan is simple and uses ordinary food...anyone can do this! It's basically eating the right kind and amount of everyday food. I lost 6 lbs. the first week! I finally realized what I thought was the "right amount" of food was way too much! It's all about the calories in and calories out!

    I felt so empowered by losing this weight that I stared finishing other projects around the house! I know, you might think what does this have to to with the diet?...Well, it has EVERYTHING to do with it! Once you complete just 1 week on this diet and are successful, it pours over into other areas of your life! I found energy and confidence I never knew I had!

    I also realized that you do have to EXERCISE! NO DIET is going to work without some kind of exercise. It burns the calories and actually gives you energy. I started walking 30 mins. everyday. I now have added lifting weights. Regular dumbbells...nothing fancy and I can tell the difference!

    READ this book! It makes sense and it works! Thanks Joy!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Healthy Lifestyle Guide

    Joy Bauer lays it all out in simple language to tell readers how to eat healthy meals that are delicious without adding unnecessary fats and sugars, ingredients all too prevalent in American diets. Although each chapter outlines in detail how to follow a plan for weight loss and good health, I could have done without the testimonials scattered throughout the book. Those never help me - I just want the information. This book is extremely well-organized, and the high-light for me was the wonderful recipes, many of which I would serve company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    LIFE-CHANGING YES!!!

    I had never succeed with a diet but Joy really makes this nearly idiot proof! The combination of real meals and recipes, with exercises and inspirational stories is a winning equation. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A BOOK TO HELP YOU PUT YOUR EATING HABITS BACK ON TRACK - FOR LIFE

    Although I have not lost the weight as fast as I hoped ... the pounds are dropping off. I need to remember - I did not gain the weight in a month ... so losing it will take time and patience.

    What I like best about the book is the structure ... having menus and recipes to follow on a daily basis - breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner. Well-balanced meals and suggestions for vegetarians ... which I have not found in other plans.

    Thank you to Joy Bauer for a way of eating and not a DIET.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Should be named "Dummies Diet Guide"

    This book and diet is so easy to understand.. Joy basically spells it out for you and takes the guess work and stress out of dieting and makes it easy to eat right! Menus, recipes, food lists all right there in the open. She is clear and concise. This really is a dummies guide to dieting. All you have to provide is the will power to follow the diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Great Book

    Great book, I've been a long time member of Weight Watches and found this program great. It got me back to eating healthy foods and off of snacks. I've quit drinking diet drinks and mainly drink water or unsweetned iced tea.

    I've lost weight and feel better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Joy's Life Diet: Good Advice

    I bought this book as a gift for my daughter-in-law, who is mentioned in the book because of her success with the author's methods. Unbeknownst to me, the author sent along a free copy to my daughter-in-law, so now she has two copies -- no doubt intending to pass a copy along to one of her friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very good information

    This book has alot of information in it that will help you to get started and lose weight. It is also geared towards helping you maintain the weight once you have lost it. It's very motivational and the recipes are helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3