Customer Reviews for

Jubilee

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Probably my all-time favorite

Like the headline says, probably one of my favorite all-time books. I felt like I had a relationship with the characters, and literally cried when it ended. Felt like a horrible break-up. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

posted by webbfam_moejoe on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jubilee - Worth a read.

Jubilee starts off wonderfully, but the last two parts lose momentum. The character of Vyry is amazingly powerful, but she is almost too perfect to be real. Her optimism and willingness to move forward are commendable, but the reader is left wondering about residual a...
Jubilee starts off wonderfully, but the last two parts lose momentum. The character of Vyry is amazingly powerful, but she is almost too perfect to be real. Her optimism and willingness to move forward are commendable, but the reader is left wondering about residual anger and resentment that could understandably arise from being enslaved since childhood. The chapters are often interrupted by historical information. While this adds validity to the story, it often interrupts the action, and some of the facts are incorrect. Overall, Jubilee is worth reading. It presents a very strong female character, and strong women are typically underrepresented in novels.

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Probably my all-time favorite

    Like the headline says, probably one of my favorite all-time books. I felt like I had a relationship with the characters, and literally cried when it ended. Felt like a horrible break-up. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    A Must Read!

    Although I respected Alex Haley for his introduction of Roots, regardless of the shortcuts he might have taken, I came to understand very well why Walker had to sue him for similarities between her book, Jubilee, and his book, Roots and movie, Queen, for I have never read a more interesting, insightful and informative book about the American Civil War than Jubilee. Some complain about the historical information contained therein but this was all so very necessary to the understanding of that period and to the understanding of each character. Jubilee is the slaves' perspective of the Civil War it is Gone With the Wind told from the slaves' point of view. Yet, Jubilee explains the Confederacy [who can forget Big Missy trying to negotiate worthless Confederate money or the pillage and destruction of Southern households by Union soldiers?] while this book still explains every other aspect of the Civil War. I recommend this book without reservation to everyone -- those interested in the Civil War and especially to those who do not care.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    I Loved This Book!

    This book is very intriguing and historically submissive.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    Jubilee - Worth a read.

    Jubilee starts off wonderfully, but the last two parts lose momentum. The character of Vyry is amazingly powerful, but she is almost too perfect to be real. Her optimism and willingness to move forward are commendable, but the reader is left wondering about residual anger and resentment that could understandably arise from being enslaved since childhood. The chapters are often interrupted by historical information. While this adds validity to the story, it often interrupts the action, and some of the facts are incorrect. Overall, Jubilee is worth reading. It presents a very strong female character, and strong women are typically underrepresented in novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    10th grader

    this is a great book! it was easy to follow along with and understand. i would recommend this book to anyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    very boring

    this is one of the most boring books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jubilee!

    Imagine waking up each morning, knowing that your life was not yours to live, that you were under someone else's control. Imagine waking up and knowing that you had a hard day's labor, and you weren't getting paid. Imagine if you tried to "quit" this job, you would be whipped mercilessly.

    For Elvira "Vyry" Brown, this wasn't anything to imagine, it was her life. Born a slave to her white master and his black slave mistress, fate was not on her side from the get go. Oh her early life, up until age six was charmed so to speak. Her only job was to play with her half sister and keep her company. That was until she reached working age... seven! After that Vyry's place on the plantation became clear, first as a house servant, later as the head cook. The story, written by Vyry's great-granddaughter Margaret Walker, takes us from her birth, through her life as a slave, to her eventual freedom. Her path to freedom was not easy but Vyry demonstrated an unquestionable faith throughout. She also demonstrated a kind and giving heart by taking care of the very people who persecuted her throughout life.

    Margaret Walker heard the story of Vyry from her grandmother, Vyry's daughter Minna. How precious the words must have seemed!! You can feel the love and admiration through each paragraph of this book. It's not just an autobiography, it a family history and it's wonderfully written. I was drawn into this book from the beginning. The way that the author described the emotions and the plantation activities was so vivid. Having read other autobiographies about this time, I found that Margaret Walker is a top storyteller in this genre. By the time I finished this book, I had no doubt about the character of Vyry Brown.

    Definitely a great read for a lover of African American history, Civil War buffs, and anyone who is interested in learning more about that time frame.

    Love and Blessings!
    Margaret

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Favorite book of all time.

    I first read this book when I was a teenager. Read it again in my 30's and about to read it again, in my 50's.

    The realism is palpable. Having grown up in the South, the descriptions of the weather, the outdoors, and even the food - all made sense.

    I am disappointed at some of the reviewers here. Somehow, they use this book to stoke the typical anti-white hatred of so many angry blacks. History is what it is. Yes, slavery was despicable and disgusting but for the love of God, it ended 150 years ago. Fanning the flames of hatred against whites has no good future. And you can tell Al Sharpton I said so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    The Road to Freedom

    I highly recommend this book. This book paints a good picture of what black folks endured before and after the civil war. This book also shows the true strength of a black women and how they are leaders. I wish not to go in details, but if you are looking for a book to read thats both educational and exciting this is the one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    This Outstanding Book!!! This Master Piece

    This book is a wonderful book to people who love to read about someones life in slavery. It also tells you about how blacks have somewhat over came a lot in the past 150 years. I think this book would make a wonderful book report. I think this book will make anyone who reads it take a second look at life as we know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    What? You haven't heard!!!

    The book is about a girl named Vyry. This book is unlike most historical books about slavery. I learned so much and I am sure you will enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    Absolutely Terrific!

    This book is wonderful. I am reading it now and I am in the 9th grade. It has opened my eyes to what slavery must have been like back then. But they made it through and that was awesome! I recommend this book to anyone who wants to know about African-American History and what they went through to get where they are today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    the best book of African American history

    This book has changed my look on slavery. It has made me stronger. This was my fisrt time reading this book and now that I am in the 11th grade. I love this book and wish that there were more like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    This book is for everyone

    I read this book for the first time back in the 10th grade; i have been out of high school for almost 14 years. Every year during African American History month, this book comes to mind. I remember being so angry, frustrated, and overjoyed all at the same time. This book is for everyone. It let you know that strength and determination with the help of the One above, you can do anyhting. We can all have our own "jubilee".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    wonderful...... everyday life of a slave

    jubilee is the best book on slaver i have read. it tells about the everyday life as a slave the struggles and the joys. i have read this book twice and loved every chapter. i cant put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2002

    Powerful account of slavery, freedom, survival, and fear

    This is a great book if you truly want to know a small historical backround of the civil war and how this time period impacted both white and black people. It is emotional in many ways as you step through Vyry's life of hardship, fear, hope, happiness, and sadness. From reading it I have not only gained historical insight, but also learned the importance of a person's inner strength.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2001

    A Must Read For All Races Of People

    This book is truly a work of pure literay art from cover to cover. So much important history is in this book for whites and blacks a like to learn from. It should be required reading for all high school and college history classes. Not just african american studies. Hopefully after reading this book of Vyry and her families struggles and inhumane treatment. African americans and all peoples a like can draw strength to persevere under any situation. And hopefully everyone can learn that ignorance breeds hatered, greed, and pure evil for another human being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    A BOOK I'LL READ OVER AND OVER AGAIN

    JUBILEE IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ I COULDNT PUT IT DOWN AT FRIST I THOUGTH IT WASNT GOING TO BE THAT GOOD BECAUSE MY TEACHER MAKES US READ NOT SO GOOD STUFF BUT I'LL SUDJUST THIS BOOK TO EVERYONE MY WHOLE CLASS LOVED IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    Jubilee

    It was an interesting book. Very historical. It was great until the third part, it started to get boring to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    A Classic---An Antidote To Gone With The Wind

    This should be required reading in a Humanities Class. for the first time we see the Civil War and slavery through the eyes of the slave and though it is a novel,it is a true story. It show the love of the slaves--black men for black women. It show the love and support of a black father for his son. It will never be made into a movie or shown as a mini-series on TV, for Its power and truth contradicts all of the stereotypes about African-Americans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2