Customer Reviews for

The Judas Strain (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Dang! I Read it Out of Order

How is it this is the only title by author James Rollins I've read? And why did I read the one right in the middle of the series? Luckily, it was so good, I can enjoy reading this one again as I go through the entire series.

The Judas Strain is as an odd book. The p...
How is it this is the only title by author James Rollins I've read? And why did I read the one right in the middle of the series? Luckily, it was so good, I can enjoy reading this one again as I go through the entire series.

The Judas Strain is as an odd book. The plot is simple, but complex. The characters are over-the-top, but believable. The text is intelligent, but easy-reading. Full on entertainment in its most pleasant form. I can't wait to read it again. But to you, I recommend reading them in order. That's always best.

posted by TheKarenJones on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Grabs the reader but lets you down

The plot idea is dramatic and interesting but to the reader the story line becomes lost until the very end. Without engaging you with the characters and their subplots it becomes all about the plot. By the end of the book you really don't care either way about any of t...
The plot idea is dramatic and interesting but to the reader the story line becomes lost until the very end. Without engaging you with the characters and their subplots it becomes all about the plot. By the end of the book you really don't care either way about any of the characters because you know very little about them. It was an interesting premise in which to base a story on but the fantasy element lost me in the end.

posted by 3033379 on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    James Rollins makes the cut with The Judas Strain

    The experiences one can have with a James Rollins novel seems to fluctuate between every novel that he writes. While Rollins stroke gold with his thriller Map of Bones, he blemished any solid reputation he earned from that title with the underwhelming Black Order. So, it would be a given then that one should be skeptical about his latest project. However, it is quite a relief to inform you that James Rollins has indeed crafted a thrilling little piece of escapist fiction in the form of the Judas Strain.

    The Judas Strain starts off with a series of seemingly random events throughout the world; a vacationing couple become infected by a nasty little disease, a museum curator gets killed, and a motorcyclist crashes into lead character Commander Gray Pierce's garage (Pierce being, for newcomers to Rollin's stories, a covert operative for SIGMA, a secret branch of the United State's DARPA program).

    But surprise, because all of these events are all connected, as each event was a result of the appearance of an incredibly lethal bacteria in the oceans that drive people insane and makes them glow in the dark. Um... right, maybe Mr. Rollins had a bit too much to drink when he came up with this one.

    However, the action soon picks up as Commander Pierce and a handful of other characters,including femme fatale and Map of Bones star Seichan, start up on a journey to discover the location of Marco Polo's lost fleet of ships, as they conveniently contain the means to acquire the vaccine for this global threat.

    It doesn't take a genius to figure out that the plot to this novel is a bit far fetched. Not as far fetched to the level of Map of Bone's supersonic gold radiation mass murder, but it's still up there with the odd bunch.

    Nevertheless, Rollins does an amazing job of drawing the reader in with his expert storytelling ability. He knows how to keep the reader engaged without resorting to the Dan Brown cliche of a cliffhanger every other chapter. The suspense that is built up throughout the novel will keep you up reading well into the night. The way in which Rollins conveys his story is masterful; even the "boring" bits of the book have this almost uncanny level of tension about them.

    However, The Judas Strain doesn't delve much deeper than delivering a piece of escapist fiction. The standard Rollins theme of "modern technology comes from understanding the past" comes out in full force here, and the novel doesn't really bring anything fundamentally new to the literary table.

    Also, James Rollins needs to work on developing his characters to match the well done characters of Commander Gray Pierce and his enemy/comrade in arms/love interest Seichan. Rollins portrays Pierce as a man torn between duty and emotions constantly throughout the book, and constantly places Pierce in situations that mess with the readers emotions. Rollins goal was to have Commander Pierce be a memorable, likable character, and he succeeded in spades. By the end of the novel, he is a much deeper, sentimental character than he was at the beginning.

    So while The Judas Strain may not reinvent the escapist fiction wheel and may absolutely confuse some with it's over the top plot, Rollin's excellent writing style conveys a sense of tension not often seen in literature and that alone is worth reading the book for. It's not the best book out there, and Map of Bones still trumps it, but the Judas Strain is a solid read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    Good

    I've been reading James Rollins since Excavation came out and he is one of my favorite authors. But ever since The DaVinci code came out he has tried to write to that style of popularity. I would love for him to go back to writing original stories with new characters and leave Sigma behind. They are enjoyable reads but I can only read about church conspiracies and such for so long. I never really got into a groove with this book and it took me a while to read. With that said I gave the book 4 stars partially because of the content and also because I love the author and have been with him since the beginning.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Well researched, but modeled just as all of Rollin's other books.

    The author has done an excellent job researching and weaving together science and history, as he repeatedly does in his thrillers. It got me to get online and do some of my own research. I love how Rollins can intrigue the reader in this way.

    However, the over-arching plot of each of his novels is the same, this book not excluded. Even worse, in a series like this, no matter if every chapter ends with a main character's life threatened, you know they really aren't going to die. That wasn't such a problem with his individual tales.

    And how many times can one man use the word, "scintillating"?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Another Solid Effort

    Rollins just continues to role them out. Another delightful read blending "it could happen" with life's realities.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Page turner

    You will not be able to put this book down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great story

    thoroughly enjoyed this page turner. I was sad to get to the end and am ready to read more by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    WOW

    This was my first James Rollins read and it was just fantastic!! I did not want to put it down and that is a great thing. I'm definately going to read his other books now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Very intriguing, but confused by the ending....

    I listened to the audio book twice and would love to know what others think happened to Susan at the end. Obviously she was transformed but I didnt really get what was actually happening to her or the others around her. I'd love to hear anyone's theories. Feel free to email me.

    Otherwise I loved the idea that Monk may have survived. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Great Suspenseful Read!!!

    Typical Rollins book. Great storyline and continuing great characters! Recommended to all who love action and suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Must get book!

    This is fantastically suspensful..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Excellent Thriller

    The Judas Strain is another excellent bio-thriller from James Rollins. I couldn't put this book down from the first chapter until I finished. The multi-plot goes on parallel paths and converge at its finale without confusion. An interesting and well thought-out novel that keeps you excited and interested to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Apocolyptic Read

    While I didn't like it as MUCH as Black Order or Deep Fathom, it was still a great read. Did keep me up late a night or two. The Guild is at it again, of course trying to take over the world. This one leaves you hanging at the end, though -- when's the next one out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4