Customer Reviews for

The Judas Strain (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Dang! I Read it Out of Order

How is it this is the only title by author James Rollins I've read? And why did I read the one right in the middle of the series? Luckily, it was so good, I can enjoy reading this one again as I go through the entire series.

The Judas Strain is as an odd book. The p...
How is it this is the only title by author James Rollins I've read? And why did I read the one right in the middle of the series? Luckily, it was so good, I can enjoy reading this one again as I go through the entire series.

The Judas Strain is as an odd book. The plot is simple, but complex. The characters are over-the-top, but believable. The text is intelligent, but easy-reading. Full on entertainment in its most pleasant form. I can't wait to read it again. But to you, I recommend reading them in order. That's always best.

posted by TheKarenJones on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Grabs the reader but lets you down

The plot idea is dramatic and interesting but to the reader the story line becomes lost until the very end. Without engaging you with the characters and their subplots it becomes all about the plot. By the end of the book you really don't care either way about any of t...
The plot idea is dramatic and interesting but to the reader the story line becomes lost until the very end. Without engaging you with the characters and their subplots it becomes all about the plot. By the end of the book you really don't care either way about any of the characters because you know very little about them. It was an interesting premise in which to base a story on but the fantasy element lost me in the end.

posted by 3033379 on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dang! I Read it Out of Order

    How is it this is the only title by author James Rollins I've read? And why did I read the one right in the middle of the series? Luckily, it was so good, I can enjoy reading this one again as I go through the entire series.

    The Judas Strain is as an odd book. The plot is simple, but complex. The characters are over-the-top, but believable. The text is intelligent, but easy-reading. Full on entertainment in its most pleasant form. I can't wait to read it again. But to you, I recommend reading them in order. That's always best.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    WOW!!!

    I have read all of the Sigma Force series and they are all fast paced and can't put down books. Once you start to read you just can't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Judas Strain not a strain to read

    I am a little more than halfway through but I find this book hard to put down once I pick it up. It is fast-paced and full of action, but it also makes you think about weighty issues. I love this kind of mix in the stories I read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Fantastic

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted February 24, 2010

    The Sigma team is at it again...

    Rollins characters are bigger than life - both bad and good ones. This story about a worldwide threat of mutant, nearly inextinguishable germs puts life on earth in a new perspective. I can't wait to read the sequel...but I won't spoil it by revealing why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Action packed

    I love pretty much all of the Sigma series books and this one is no exception. I enjoy how the author puts it all together and how the details unfold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Great Read

    Rollins' mix of science and fiction make the page turning plot and dynamic characters even more fun to follow. Once you start reading, you'll be on he edge of your seat and hard pressed to set this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    Must read.

    I have been reading this Sigma Force series and enjoy it immensely. I can hardly wait to read the next book in the series. The book is action packed and fast pace. Most of it is based on actual facts and history. Descriptions of the action is vivid and in detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I can say "action packed!"

    Action packed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Can you say action packed !!!

    Keeps you guessing. Be sure to read the epilogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Great

    Read the entire series , you won't be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    This was my first and favorite James Rollins book.  I have since

    This was my first and favorite James Rollins book.  I have since read every book he has written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Another nailbiter from Rollins

    This was the 1st book from James Rollins' Sigma series that I picked up, and I went back and got the rest as soon as I finished reading The Judas Strain. Being a science nerd, I especially love how technical and realistic Rollins gets with his stories, and the reasonable doubt that he gives in how, just maybe, something like this could actually happen. He also does a fantastic job in creating and depicting the various characters of Sigma and the Guild, and interweaving the relationships between them. *Highly recommended for ANYONE who is a fan of mystery thrillers* Some of the language in the book can be a little jargon-y for people who are generally not familiar with the fields of microbiology, genetics, epidemiology and the like, but he does a great job overall of explaining them. 5+/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Intriguing!

    Touching on human potential made this book intriguing for me. It was a great read - what with pirates, cannibals, a potential pandemic - so many things to grip your interest! A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommend- must read.

    you just start and cannot stop then you want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Great book

    Love the puzzle and bits of history behind the entire book amd series. Definitely reccomend this book and series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Could not put it down!!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sigma is at it again!

    Enjoyed this book...Always look forward to the Sigma series. I have become a Huge fan of these books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    What a thrill reading this book

    Its one of the best books I have come across. Its no less than any thriller movie. The plot is intruiging. Three cheers to Rollins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    What a thrill ride

    There are quite a few authors that I really enjoy reading, but I've been searching for someone with the capacity for 'adventure' like Dan Brown delivered in Angels and Demons and the DaVinci Code. I found that author in James Rollins. The Judas Strain never got boring..it was a thrill ride on every page. Reveal after reveal abounded in this book. Another thing that made this book so enjoyable was the believability factor. Can you say 'Wow!' This was my first Rollins book and it won't be my last...as I'm currently awaiting the delivery of 4 more of his books that I ordered from Barnes and Noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7