Customer Reviews for

Judgment in Death (In Death Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

great read

Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has a winning series here. Eve Dallas is the Homicide detective of the future and Roarke is her exciting sexy spouse. The mysteries keep you guessing to the end and romance is steamy while still sweet. The characters keep things interesti...
Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has a winning series here. Eve Dallas is the Homicide detective of the future and Roarke is her exciting sexy spouse. The mysteries keep you guessing to the end and romance is steamy while still sweet. The characters keep things interesting. I enjoy the images Ms Roberts gives us of her idea of the future. The imagery is clear, makes me, as the reader believe its really there while I'm reading the story. Even with all the extras, the murder mystery remains the main focus. She always throws in exciting twists that really keeps you on your toes. Sometimes Eve "just knows" who the killer is, but doesn't know how to prove it, and sometimes she struggles with the outcome until the very end. Either way, If you like mysteries, this series is going to keep your attention. The books can be read in order but don't need to be to be understood. Each book, while it may refer to things that happen in previous books, will stand alone.

posted by Belinda_reads on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dawne

Just finished reading it for the 2nd time. To tell the truth, I felt Roarke was a pushy self absorbed character in this book. He insinuated himself into the case and when Eve put the brakes on it, her went to her superior to push his way into it. I felt his character wa...
Just finished reading it for the 2nd time. To tell the truth, I felt Roarke was a pushy self absorbed character in this book. He insinuated himself into the case and when Eve put the brakes on it, her went to her superior to push his way into it. I felt his character was portrayed as a selfish me me me. My bar, I protect. My wife I protect even if she don't need it. It seems as the books progress, he wants Eves job more than his own. Its ok if she asks for the help and needs it, but he is just there. Whether she wants his help or not. Definitely has control freak issues. The book had a very good story to it, I just got annoyed with Roarke. He needs to do his own job more and less of butting into Eves.

posted by 3797909 on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has a winning series here. Eve Dallas is the Homicide detective of the future and Roarke is her exciting sexy spouse. The mysteries keep you guessing to the end and romance is steamy while still sweet. The characters keep things interesting. I enjoy the images Ms Roberts gives us of her idea of the future. The imagery is clear, makes me, as the reader believe its really there while I'm reading the story. Even with all the extras, the murder mystery remains the main focus. She always throws in exciting twists that really keeps you on your toes. Sometimes Eve "just knows" who the killer is, but doesn't know how to prove it, and sometimes she struggles with the outcome until the very end. Either way, If you like mysteries, this series is going to keep your attention. The books can be read in order but don't need to be to be understood. Each book, while it may refer to things that happen in previous books, will stand alone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Trying to collect the entire series. I just wish it would become

    Trying to collect the entire series. I just wish it would become a tv series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What would you do, if you had the power of being the Judge, Jury

    What would you do, if you had the power of being the Judge, Jury AND the Executioner?
    Would you take the law in your own hands? And who would you try and trial first? Friends?
    Family? Past hurts? 

    How about the Law? Police Officers...thus Irony.

    Eve Dallas must try and outthink a cop killer while dealing with feelings at home that
    where never dealt with before. An inside look at the house of a cop: how the family copes
    with a family member as a cop.

    And which side will you be on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog I h

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I have to say that J.D. Robb never fails to hold my attention. She sets a pathway for readers to follow and sometimes, she likes to take you on a little detour. The intensity picks and up emotions run rampant, making for a read that got my heart pumping and my palms sweaty. ~ Under the Covers

    In JUDGMENT IN DEATH, Eve Dallas finds herself in the midst of upscale strip club called Purgatory where a cop has been bludgeoned to death with a baseball bat. Naturally, that club is owned by Roarke, Eve's husband. However, when another murdered cop turns up, Eve knows that something far more dangerous is going on. It seems that the murders of these "dirty cops" are connected to Max Ricker, a former associate of Roarke and a criminal mastermind. As things become hairy, readers get a glimpse of the more possessive side of Roarke!

    I have to say that J.D. Robb never fails to hold my attention. She sets a pathway for readers to follow and sometimes, she likes to take you on a little detour. The intensity picks and up emotions run rampant, making for a read that got my heart pumping and my palms sweaty. It seems that Robb herself is a mastermind at playing with human emotions.

    Roarke displays a fiercer side of himself and boy, was I along for the ride! I just adore it when Roarke steps up!

    And, I have to puff up my chest a bit when I say this because for the first time I can remember, I figured out the killer before it was revealed. Yes, yes I shall pat myself on the back for it and give myself an A. But in all seriousness, I take it as a personal challenge whenever I read an In Death book. Robb's books always make me think and I love how engaging each book feels whenever I immerse myself in this world. It never fails to entertain me.

    No In Death review of mine is complete without Roarke...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Highly recommended this book if you like JD Robb.

    This is one of JD Robb's best books. It's compelling and keeps you on the edge all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    read

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    J.D. so rules!!!!!

    I read Judgement first, after looking for something in the bookstore to read. I could not put this book down. After this discovery, which was in December, I have since read five others in the series. I adore Roarke and envy Eve. My favorite was Naked, can't wait for Betrayal and I'm out....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining futuristic tale

    In 2059 Earth, technology has made life better and easier for most people, but crime remains a problem as felons adapt the latest gizmos for their use. New York Police Department Lieutenant Eve Dallas overcame an abusive childhood to become a successful law enforcement official respected by her peers and feared by criminals. Her spouse, the ultra-powerful Roarke, loves her dearly and seems to always help her on her most dangerous cases. <P>All seems quiet until an unknown assailant bludgeons an undercover police officer in one of Roarke's entertainment clubs. Subsequently, someone they must have known guns down several other police officers. Eve and Roarke realize they must stop the cop killer before he murders again. However, neither one of the lovers yet know that an enemy as powerful as Roarke is orchestrating a more dangerous scenario for the two of them. <P>J.D. Robb writes a fast-paced, enthralling mystery with some romance between the two lead characters. The story line is spiced up by two cases that intersect with clues that lead to the final climax. JUDGEMENT IN DEATH is the finest work in a wonderful futuristic series that will appeal to many different genre fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2