Customer Reviews for

Juiced: Wild Times, Rampant 'Roids, Smash Hits, and How Baseball Got Big

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    From the very first day of training camp Jose knew he needed to

    From the very first day of training camp Jose knew he needed to become bigger, faster and stronger. He turned to his friend for steroids and he could tell that they were going to be great for him. In this epic novel about the rampant use of steroids Jose Canseco tells us all about how he used them, how often, and who else in the league did too. Jose holds nothing back in this book he tells the media everything. From losing his mother and how emotional it was or when he thought about killing himself. He tells us about how his daughter saved his life and why he drove himself to be the best he could be. The part of this book that got to me the most was when he told us his mother is the only reason he became the athlete he did. He said when his mother was dying "I will be the greatest baseball player I can be". After she died Jose worked harder and harder and didn’t settle for anything but perfection. Although even after Jose made it big in the MLB he still doubted his talents he thought "wow I am not good enough to play with players such as Mark McGwire”. Jose Canseco talks about how steroids made him not only a better athlete but a less socially awkward man. He says steroids gave him the confidence to talk to women and go out in public and not be embarrassed about anything.
    Jose Canseco went from being a tiny and wimpy kid, to becoming a ripped and tough man. He started out being ok at baseball to becoming a 6 time MVP, winning the rookie of the year award and coming close to being inducted into the hall of fame (which I hope he does). Canseco is this book refers to himself as a “steroids expert” he tells us how he has studied steroids and tested different kinds.
    I highly recommend picking this book up and give it a try. I love baseball and this book was a bit of a wakeup call to what is really going on in the MLB. Jose Canseco is a man I admire not because he uses steroids but the way he carries himself with pride and integrity. He has gone through a lot in his life and I highly respect him for that. So give this book a try, you won’t regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Good information hidden behind a curtain of ego

    Juiced, by Jose Canseco is an interesting account of Canseco's life in Major League Baseball during the steroid era. In between his accounts of injecting people with steroids or educating them about steroids are endless displays of how much Canseco thinks of himself. It is an endless stream of stats and stories of why he was treated unfairly in the Majors and why he should be in the Hall Of Fame. Unfortunately for young baseball players like myself, the main message Canseco is sending is that he does not regret using steroids and he would do it again if given the chance. As a true baseball fan, with comments like these, I find it impossible to respect Canseco. His defense for using the steroids was simple; it made him better. This is obviously true. However, it is against the rules, so no matter how much better they make you or however many people around you are using them, the rules of baseball say it is cheating. If he had any respect for the game like he says, he would not be saying that he made the right decision. I really did like how brave he was to come out and tell everyone the truth; I like how he does this. If this was all he did, I'm sure I would have enjoyed the book much more, but with the additions of personal accolades I found it hard to get through.
    I do think it’s good to read this book, because it is important to hear all sides of a story; just be prepared to fight through the bogs of boasting. I have also read Canseco’s Vindicated, and it is very similar in the way it is written. It is also a good book to read, because it discusses the legal trials the players went through once the steroid scandal broke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    What a Great Book!

    To be 100% honest, I felt a tad bit saddened when I finally read the very last page of Juiced by Jose Canseco. The former Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player, and 6 time all star discusses in his book all about steroids, whether it was what kind, how much, or even who did them. Jose Canseco was really one of the first MLB player to admit to the media that he was using performance enhanceing drugs. The one big aspect that people didn't understand was that it was extremely popular at one time to use steriods only becasue it wasn't illegal. "During that era..." Canseco explains "...if you took steroids, it was almost as if you were to ice your arm after a game now a days.". Steriods actually changed Jose's life, once being a skinny mediocre ball player who fell in the shadows of his twin brother Ozzie to an Cuban version of the Hulk. As a top minor league prospect for the Oakland A's, he was convinced that- exspecially with arthritis, scoliosis, and other diseases - he never would have been a major-league caliber player without the drugs. Jose did do his fair amount of research before investing into steriods, and he also helped his fellow friends in the club house to get involved, like Mark McGwire. Jose not only tells us all about the MLB and its steriod use, but also the story behind his life and why he felt it was a necesity to use steriods. I absolutely loved reading this book. Being a huge baseball fan, I know a lot about the "dark ages" of baseball. To learn the truth from somebody who was there and witnessed everything going around him really intrigued me and made me realize the huge effect of steriods, both the good and bad. I would recommend this book to all sports fans out there. Yes, it does base most of the story in the Major League Baseball atmosphere, but it also makes you realize that a lot more people use it in a varietty of sports, from football to soccer to wresting. Juiced will get you so involved into this story that you will be reading for hours on end and not even realize it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Juice is bad for you.

    The novel Juiced is a book written by Jose Canseco about his life. He was a great baseball player who devoted his life to becoming a professional baseball player. He did every thing he could do to make it to the Bigs. He had many issues in his life. People were always on him about his love life, also trouble with police and steroid use. As a young kid in the minors he realized that he needed a boost something to give him a edge. One day well at the gym he went and talked to his trainer. His trainer gave him some pills and it all started. He made it to the majors after gaining a lot of power in his swing. He was the first player to have both speed and power. He was the first player to hit 40+ home runs and steel 40+ bases in one season. He won rookie of the year and also a most valuable player award. His team won a world series to with his help. He talked a lot about the struggles of being in the minors and the bigs.
    I really liked this book because of how it was written it didn't hide things. He just said it strait what he did. He told you about how hard it was, which was very motivational to do better and work hard. He did say not to take steroids because that was going to far. That you could do it with out. Helped me feel better about being a small guy who plays tough ball. His writing style was fine because he went through the steps of his life. My dislikes were that he did talk much about what he did as a kid to get where he came to. It could have had more information about steroids and the dangers of taking them. I do not recommend this book for some one who does not know baseball or any sport ,only because they would not know the stress of needing to be bigger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Juiced

    Juiced, written by Jose Canseco, talks about things that happen in Major League Baseball. This book was specifically written about steroid use in baseball, and Jose talks about steroid use in baseball, and about players that he claimed used them, including Mark McGwire, Rafael Palmeiro, and Ivan Rodriguez. This book also talks about daily life on the road as an MLB player, and many of Jose¿s personal experiences in baseball, and life. Jose talks about what it felt like to sit on Madonna¿s lap, to have a ball bounce off his head for a homerun, and use steroids for the first time. He says that despite his hot-head reputation, he is a nice guy, and is fine despite having some bad experiences, like being in jail. The main character of Juiced is the author, Jose Canseco. He is a man who has been through a lot, good and bad, whose experiences make up the bulk of the book. Another important character in this book is Jose¿s father, Jose Canseco Sr. Jose Sr. was very hard on his sons because he wanted them to be their very best, and was very critical of Jose even during his MLB career. Jose¿s mother, Barbara, was the opposite of his father in that she was very nice and not very hard on her sons. Jose loved her very much, and as she was dying, he made a promise to her to become the best athlete in the world. An important passage in this book is when Jose shares his personal view on steroids. He claims,¿ Steroids are here to stay. That¿s a fact. I guarantee it. Steroids are the future. By the time my eight-year-old daughter, Josie, has graduated from high school, a majority of professional athletes- in all sports- will be taking steroids. And believe it or not, that¿s good news.¿ I believe this passage is important to understanding this book because it gives the author¿s opinion on the main topic of the book. Jose believes that steroids,¿ will make sports more exciting and entertaining¿, improve human life, and will make us,¿ live longer and better.¿ This explains the reasons why athletes use steroids: to entertain their fans, and to gain improved health. This idea is important because if you do not understand this, and do not look at Jose¿s opinion with an open mind, then you will not be able to read this book. Juiced is a book that shed a whole new light to the steroid era of baseball. I agree with Jose that in the future, steroids will be accepted, and can help you live a better life. I believe that this is good news, as increasing the quality and adding to the longevity of human life is great, and very important to our society. I also believe that Jose is a good person, who despite his reputation, is very kind and honest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    Steroids Has Ruined Baseball

    I knew something was wrong with baseball and Jose confirms it with 'Juiced.' Usually, I'm a slow reader, but I couldn't put this book down and finished it in just two days. This is arguably the most important baseball book ever. I hope this book helps to rid steroids from baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Jimmy Mazz on JUICED

    When first starting this autobiography by the great Jose Canseco, I was assuming, from the stories and reports I¿ve heard, that it was a low profile telling of the dark hidden secrets in Major League Baseball with him pointing out a few names of steroid users I was wrong. Many a times I had to put the book down to laugh out loud at the claims Jose Canseco was making. Though some may be true, often I ran over to a friend and said, ¿Hey, hey, look at what Jose Canseco said about steroids, isn¿t he hilarious.¿ Overall I found the stories to be highly entertaining, but also mostly believable. Certain parts of the book were a riot with Canseco making claims such as, ¿one day steroid use will be so accepted that everybody will be doing it¿¿(Canseco 2) and, ¿Every baseball player and pro athlete will be using at least some sort of low level steroids.¿(Canseco 2) Then on the other hand, certain parts of the book containing first-hand knowledge of what goes on behind the scenes in the locker room were very intriguing and opened my eyes to what lengths athletes will go to to enhance their abilities, albeit illegally. I could not fathom injecting a needle into a teammate¿s posterior, or having him return the favor just so my homeruns could go an extra forty or fifty feet, but the lure of the big money and big contracts is too tempting for many athletes to resist. Singles hitters don¿t get the big bucks, and even though it¿s wrong to think this way, some of them figured if the others guys are doing it and not getting caught, why shouldn¿t I do it and level the playing field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    He got a bad rap!!!

    I am a true fan of the game of baseball. I also was a big fan of Jose in his hayday. After reading his book, I do believe that he did get a bad deal from MLB. I don't agree with the fact that he used performance enhancing products to achieve the stats he compiled in his career. He already had tons of talent. You don't make it to the bigs without it. I respect Jose for coming clean about his career, but I think he should have not mentioned names the way he did. It's truly a good read if you want to know Jose's side of steriods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Awesome

    I like this book because it was about how steriods started off in professional baseball. I would recomend this book to anybody that has an interest in baseball, because it names off many baseball heros that have used steriods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    The other side exposed

    This book was very well written.I must admit,at the beginning of this steroid investigation,I wasnt fond of Canseco,however,he exposes a side of baseball that so many feared would eventually leak.Highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Interesting Look Into Another Side of Baseball

    Eventhough Conseco is getting so much flak for this book, it truly is a great read. It opens your eyes to a side of baseball that most of us don't see but only hear rumors about. The book will make you sad, angry and happy all in one and you will be entralled from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    This is a great book and it has some truth to it!

    A very good read. I could not put it down. I wish everyone read the book before they comment on it. No one likes a snitch, but somebody has to do it and it could do baseball some good to clean up the sport. People should also bear in minf that its about his life and experiences, not just who he named, as that would only take a page or two. You cant write a book just on naming names, so he tells a lot and I liked reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    Must Read

    If you ever dream of having to do anything with the major leagues, you must read this book. It uncovers the dark side of America's pastime in more ways than one. I personaly was moved and forsed to think why players would do this. Baseball makes more sense after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    America has been in need of this book for a while now!

    Its a great book. It gives you the inside onto the baseball and proffesional sports world. It is very fast paced and sheds light into the taboo subject of performance enhancers. It is a great book! I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    JUICED: Controversial, Exciting, Interesting, and Sad

    In this interesting and thought-provoking book, former slugger Jose Canseco takes the reader on a trip through his baseball life. From humble beginnings as a youngster in Cuba to the bright lights of major league baseball stadiums, Canseco lays everything on the line, including his use of anabolic steroids. Called ¿The Chemist¿, Canseco was known as the godfather of steroids. He freely passed his knowledge of steroids onto trainers and his fellow teammates such as Mark McGwire, Jason Giambi, Ivan Rodriguez, Rafael Palmeiro, and Juan Gonzalez, even claiming to have personally injected the players himself. Canseco claims that many active players of today are using steroids. And with all of the added muscle and greatly improved stats these players are putting up, I would have to agree. Just compare Barry Bonds or Mark McGwire early in their careers and compare that to what they look like now and it is easy to see that Canseco has a reasonable argument. There were many things I exciting things in this book. I enjoyed reading about Canseco¿s rise to stardom from a difficult childhood and the support he offered towards his mother. Although, I think he became over exaggerated with the fact the media treated him differently due to him being Latino. There are many examples in the book where Canseco believes that racism was involved against him and even went as far as saying Mark McGwire was an ¿America¿s Boy¿. I believe that some sportswriters race may have been a factor to them but to believe that all of them were against him because he was Latino is just insane. Canseco also leads one to believe that if taken correctly, steroids can be beneficial. This may be true to some aspects, but Ken Caminiti a former player for the San Diego Padres, just recently died from the effects of steroids. Keeping this in mind, I¿m not sure if I would want to take that kind of a risk. As I scanned over others reviews to this book, I found there opinions tend to be mixed as mine, liking different parts of the book over other parts. Others found this book to be a total waste of time while many other people enjoyed reading this book and would give it a five stars rating if asked of their opinion. Publishers Weekly for example, write that ¿In this poorly written, controversial memoir, Canseco, a one-time American League MVP, reveals himself to be an unapologetic user of performance-enhancing drugs.¿ Proving that not everyone may enjoy this book. Reading over the reviews, the media seemed to criticize this book more so than the average fan did. It seems the fans are behind Canseco whereas the media is not. Overall, I concluded that this was a very interesting book that sheds light on a controversial issue. Baseball needs to clean up this steroid mess and put some hard and fast rules in place to stop the use of performance enhancing drugs. Major League Baseball has already moved in that direction by forcing a stronger penalty on the players who are caught taking steroids. Canseco does a great job of explaining how steroids work and gives the names of several suspected steroid users. You can choose to believe him yourself about injecting other players. The bottom line is there is a problem that needs to be addressed, and this book has finally shed some light on a topic that has been around for a long time and needs to be looked at by baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Unbelievable!!

    An amazing look at baseball. I guess we should have known, but it's cool to hear it from someone on the inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    where there's smoke there's fire...

    All these players got so big so quickly and they're not on steriods? Where there's smoke there's fire... I believe most of what Canseco had to say. The book was very entertaining and a quick read. Canseco occasionally drowns in self pity and overfocuses on racial issues. Still, he provides a lot of great insights into the players, the owners and the state of the game. I was a fan of Canseco during his years in the majors and am still a fan after reading his book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Baseball has a chance to get clean again

    Halfway through reading Jose Canseco's new book 'Juiced', it occurred to me that my opinion of this man was changing with every page I turned. I went into this book thinking that this was a man simply out to make a buck at the expense of others. What I've learned is that this book isn't about Jose Canseco or any of the many run-in's with the law that tarnished the amazing persona he gave of in his hey-day. This book is about a story that no one in Major League Baseball wants told......This book is about the TRUTH. We've all heard the rumors from reporters about how steroids have been killing baseball for years......now hear the story from a man who knows what he's talking about from being there in the trenches. This is no different than what Jim Bouton went through in the 1970's with his book 'Ball Four'. It took until 1988 to invite Bouton back to Yankee Stadium. Canseco is being treated like a social leper, just like Bouton was. I hope it won't take 18 years for the world's eyes to be opened and focused on what Canseco is saying here. He may very well be the key to returning baseball as America's Pastime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Not bad

    But i don't think it lived up to the hype. This book is more about his pro-steroid views and his feeling that the whole world is out to get him then about major league baseball. I wouldn't let a young child read this book for the fear that he/she would get the impression that steroids and cheating are positive things. I also did not like the whole 'world is against me' attitude he takes in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Facts?

    I read the book, and all there seems to be is allegations, and his so called 'first hand exsperience.' Just because he said it happened, does not mean it did. I am sorry folks, but this book is equal to Jose's Career. Average, and a few homeruns short of the Hall of Fame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2