Customer Reviews for

Julie

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Julie of the Wolves. Jean Craighead George. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1994. 226 pages.

The book Julie of the Wolves, written by Jean Craighead George, is about a girl who is returning home to her father in Alaska ...
The book Julie of the Wolves, written by Jean Craighead George, is about a girl who is returning home to her father in Alaska but gets hopelessly lost in the tundra wilderness; her life is saved by a remarkable animal. When she does return home, many things have changed; she tries to adapt to these changes. Julie of the Wolves is a really great story, in my opinion; young children and some young adults would really enjoy it.

The story begins around late fall or early winter in an Eskimo village on the bank of the frozen Avalik River in Alaska. It is reported that this story idea resulted from a research trip that George took to Barrow, Alaska. Her love of nature is obvious through her description.

In the story Julie of the Wolves, Julie is the main character. In the beginning of the story she returns home to a lot of change. Traditional ways are slowly disappearing; Eskimo values are being challenged. The book quotes: "She did not want to be known for her beauty, but for her wisdom and fortitude, Eskimo virtues."

Jean Craighead George is a wonderful writer; the words in her book are so vivid. The entire time I was reading Julie of the Wolves, I could envision everything; it was like watching or creating a movie, only so much better. George is very descriptive- the way she details everything like the weather, land, seasons, and characters is so incredible that you could picture everything she wrote. Though I had some trouble pronouncing the names of characters, the book is still great. I would highly recommend this book to adolescents.

posted by 1414802 on June 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Julie of The Wolves

This book is about a young girl, named Julie, around the age of fourteen that had left home to go to school and get married. After getting out of a dreadful relationship with her husband she goes and lives with the wolves. Then she finally decides to go home to her fa...
This book is about a young girl, named Julie, around the age of fourteen that had left home to go to school and get married. After getting out of a dreadful relationship with her husband she goes and lives with the wolves. Then she finally decides to go home to her father. But soon she finds that her wolf friends are in danger.
I thought this book was a very adventurous and compelling; because of the relationship between this young woman and her father and his new American wife, and how Julie has to protect her wolf friends from her father. She has to try and figure a way to keep both relationships going.

posted by zeella_w_wv on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Julie of the Wolves. Jean Craighead George. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1994. 226 pages.

    The book Julie of the Wolves, written by Jean Craighead George, is about a girl who is returning home to her father in Alaska but gets hopelessly lost in the tundra wilderness; her life is saved by a remarkable animal. When she does return home, many things have changed; she tries to adapt to these changes. Julie of the Wolves is a really great story, in my opinion; young children and some young adults would really enjoy it.

    The story begins around late fall or early winter in an Eskimo village on the bank of the frozen Avalik River in Alaska. It is reported that this story idea resulted from a research trip that George took to Barrow, Alaska. Her love of nature is obvious through her description.

    In the story Julie of the Wolves, Julie is the main character. In the beginning of the story she returns home to a lot of change. Traditional ways are slowly disappearing; Eskimo values are being challenged. The book quotes: "She did not want to be known for her beauty, but for her wisdom and fortitude, Eskimo virtues."

    Jean Craighead George is a wonderful writer; the words in her book are so vivid. The entire time I was reading Julie of the Wolves, I could envision everything; it was like watching or creating a movie, only so much better. George is very descriptive- the way she details everything like the weather, land, seasons, and characters is so incredible that you could picture everything she wrote. Though I had some trouble pronouncing the names of characters, the book is still great. I would highly recommend this book to adolescents.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Julie, a good book

    The main theme of Julie is trying to fit in with people you haven't been around much. The intended audience is any one who wants to read this book. Jean Craighead's purpose of this story is to teach a lesson about braveness and to accept people that are different. I really liked this book because the author makes everything very clear! The only thing is that the book is boring until about page twenty-five, so don't quit because it does get better!
    This is the sequel to Julie and the Wolves, but it still makes since even if you haven't read it.
    I am judging my book on my own personal opinion. I gave it four stars instead of five because the beginning is boring and it uses a few big vocabulary words. I had to look two of the words up in the dictionary.
    This book has many characters, but the main one's are Julie, Kapugan, her dad, Ellen, her stepmother, Amaroq, her little brother, Peter, and the many wolves. This book does achieve its purpose because Julie is brave many different times and she accomplishes her goals.
    I recommend this book to anyone above 5th grade because of the big vocabulary words. If you are a good reader though, you might be able to get through it, but I am in eighth grade and had to look two words up in the dictionary! This book is easy to read though because it is interesting, so if you get into it, just keep reading it because it is better if you do not stop!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Julie of The Wolves

    This book is about a young girl, named Julie, around the age of fourteen that had left home to go to school and get married. After getting out of a dreadful relationship with her husband she goes and lives with the wolves. Then she finally decides to go home to her father. But soon she finds that her wolf friends are in danger.
    I thought this book was a very adventurous and compelling; because of the relationship between this young woman and her father and his new American wife, and how Julie has to protect her wolf friends from her father. She has to try and figure a way to keep both relationships going.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    You have to check this out!

    This book was a good book. It had many details and it was very good about telling the story. It kept you in touch with what's going on in the story like where you are in the point in the story. This story was in the winter and it being cold outside. This story was very interesting and funny. This book was about a girl named Julie and how she lived out in the woods. She liked living out in the woods where know body knew where she lived at so they could not bother her. Julie kept to her self she didn't like people being around her or anybody living near her. Her family was the only people that knew where she lived at. Julie had wolfs for pet and her family was afraid of them. This book tells you how she went on in life and how she lived out in the cold. There is some of my reasons I thought this was a good book.

    What do you think of this book so far? I thought it was a very good book. I hope my book review told you enough about this book so where you might want to read it one day. If some day you might not have any thing to do you should sit down and read this book. This book had many details about what went on in this book and story. I hope my book review was good enough so where you would like to read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book and Writer

    Love the book. It story makes us understand that we can do hard things if we only push ourselves to do so.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Great

    I thought the book was fabulous!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    Julie Review

    I liked the adventure but some of it was boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    It was great to be able to continue where "Julie of the Wolves" ended.

    "Julie" is a tender and uplifting story about Julie's reunion with her father and subsequent fear that his ways have veered from Eskimo to Minnesota code which puts her wolf pack it danger. This prompts Julie to take another trip on the tundra to attempt relocating her wolf pack to more favorable hunting grounds where Kapu, the new leader, may not feed on the Muskoxen penned near her father's village. Julie has trouble accepting Kapugan's new wife until the two seek shelter from a storm and assist with the troubled birth of a muskox calf. Loved the lessons in Eskimo culture and loved the story line. Will be reading "Julie's Wolf Pack" next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    not my kind of book

    Julie the book wasn't as exciting as I thought. I just didn't like the book because the words they used like ptarmigan they don't give a quick explanation for it. A ptarmigan is a type of bird. But that is where people just get confused and that is what made part of me want to stop reading the book.

    Anyways it starts out with Julie (the main character) in the wilderness with the wolves who she has a great communications with. So she spends a lot of time with the wolves. And her father hunts the wolves. So there will be great conflict. Julie's father Kupugan is married to an American woman named Ellen and later she gets pregnant. Julie does not like that at all .But they later get to know each other and become more closer and become friends and gets used to the new baby brother.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    OK

    This book had a great concept but some parts were boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Awesome, Couldn't put it down!!!!

    This Book Rocks, I've read the entire series, each time I read it I get emersed all over again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    This Was A Great Book!

    I liked this book a lot. It was nice to read a sequel to the first one, Julie of the Wolves, which I loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2000

    Recommended

    A very good book. Good for imagination

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    A very worhty sequel

    Julie was a compelling sequel to Jean's first book. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1