Customer Reviews for

Julie Andrews' Collection of Poems, Songs, and Lullabies

Average Rating 3
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I received this book as a touching Mother's Day gift from my thr

I received this book as a touching Mother's Day gift from my three children, of varying ages from 6 to 18. They know I LOVE Julie Andrews, and their sentiment in buying this book for me was overwhelming. The book contains an excellent and varied selection of poems - s...
I received this book as a touching Mother's Day gift from my three children, of varying ages from 6 to 18. They know I LOVE Julie Andrews, and their sentiment in buying this book for me was overwhelming. The book contains an excellent and varied selection of poems - some I remember from my own childhood. Looking forward to enjoying the book for years to come....

posted by 800625 on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mother and daughter test writing skills

There are several poems that are very good. Most not. I was disappointed.

posted by abgSD on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I received this book as a touching Mother's Day gift from my thr

    I received this book as a touching Mother's Day gift from my three children, of varying ages from 6 to 18. They know I LOVE Julie Andrews, and their sentiment in buying this book for me was overwhelming. The book contains an excellent and varied selection of poems - some I remember from my own childhood. Looking forward to enjoying the book for years to come....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Was expecting more

    I bought this for my husband who is from England. He adores Ms. Andrews and I thought that the content would remind him of his younger years...he wasn't impressed and was, in fact, disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Mother and daughter test writing skills

    There are several poems that are very good. Most not. I was disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I bought this book for my grandson who was thrilled with it. He not only loved the poems but could follow along on many of the songs included on the CD. I would recommend it ti anyone who loves the poetry and songs that Julie Andrews sings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    REALLY ENJOYED IT :)

    Julie Andrews' collection of poems, songs, and lullabies is great! I really enjoyed reading the book especially "My Favorite Things" on page 46. I kept on singing it over and over, and my mom even joined me! I would recommend it to all girls. - Victoria, 9

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    An interesting collection of poems

    You will find many old favorites as well as modern poems in this book. I have one daughter in particular who loves poetry, so I purchased it for her. I also purchased some old anthologies that the public library was discarding. She seems to like them better than this one. At first glance, the art work looks lovely, but as you live with it, it irritates you. I think the colors are beautiful, and if you're only going to read it once they're fine(0r if you are not particularly artisticly bent), but actually there are many sloppy things about the art work which is disappointing. I do think they chose interesting poems, and poems that are easily understood. I could see where this would be a good first book of poems that would give a child poems they could love and understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful Collection

    The poems in this collection are wonderful and the original watercolor illustrations are lovely. There are over two hundred poems. Most of the poems are written by famous poets (including Wordsworth, Frost, Dickinson, Emerson, and Shakespeare), and there are also some very good poems written by the two authors, and written by Julie Andrews's father and grandfather. I was a little disappointed in the accompanying audio CD. I thought the authors could have selected better poems from the collection to read, and the narration was a little self-aggrandizing at times; however, they read the poems they selected exceptionally well and it was especially fun to hear them read some of their own poems. Overall, I really fell in love with this collection. It's something I'll share with my daughter and, hopefully, future children for years to come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Julie Andrew's Collection of Poems, Songs and Lullabies

    I love these poems, songs and lullabies. Some take you back to childhood and others are all new and freshing. This covers a wide age range from infants to teenagers and is a book worth passing down for generation. This gives a person a sense of what Julie Andrews is really like, a loving, caring person. It really covers all aspects of life from joyous times to difficult and emotional. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Poetry

    A nice gift for children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice book

    I like to read this book to my son before bed. It also makes a nice gift at a baby shower.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    nice book

    Nice to have in your library...You need to love poetry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Wonderful!

    Gave this to my daughters for Christmas. They love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My most favorite book by Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton!

    I believe that this is Julie Andrews' and Emma Walton Hamilton's best collaboration together. Everything about this book is bright and beautiful. The poems were great selections written by Julie, Emma, and other famous poets. A have a copy of this book at home and I will be reading it for the rest of my life!

    (I also recommend for people who can't read as well as others to purchase the Compact Disc that reads the book to you).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    Great Children's Anthology

    I've been reading this book to my son at his NICU bedside since he was born. It has timeless classic poems as well as newer poems. The rhyme and meter of the poems capture his attention, and he is more alert when I am reading to him. Early parental involvement in reading correlates to greater literacy success in school, and this book lends itself well to that endevor. As a high school English teacher, I find that students who had poetry read to them as children have less aversion to learning about poetry than students who did not have poetry read to them. This book is a great place to start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    A great collection with alot of classic poetry.

    I wil give it to my 7 yr old granddaughter who is a good reader. My only disappointment was the ones they chose to narrate for the CD.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4