Customer Reviews for

Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously

Average Rating 3
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Laugh out loud funny

This book was so much fun, I only wish I had been aware when the project was underway, it would have been fun to blog along and encourage Julie in her endeavor. I actually laughed out loud multiple times while reading. For me that is always a great sign. I truly enjoyed...
This book was so much fun, I only wish I had been aware when the project was underway, it would have been fun to blog along and encourage Julie in her endeavor. I actually laughed out loud multiple times while reading. For me that is always a great sign. I truly enjoyed it and am now stimulated to read an actual biography of Julia Child!!

posted by Marie314 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great Premise turned bad.

I was excited to read this book. What an amazing thing to take on in one year. Cooking some of the hardest receipes out there by the great Julia Child. I was excited to hear about how she figured it out all from a cookbook and no help.

Instead - this was a self-...
I was excited to read this book. What an amazing thing to take on in one year. Cooking some of the hardest receipes out there by the great Julia Child. I was excited to hear about how she figured it out all from a cookbook and no help.

Instead - this was a self-indulgent look into a womans life that as I read further, I realized I didn't like. Don't get me wrong - I don't care about the bad language. I'm not giving this a bad rating over that.

I found the writing to be disjointed, the story did not flow and I didn't laugh. There were three major problems I had with the book.

1. The gross factor - I'm not talking about cooking livers or kidneys or brains. I'm refering to the filth she lived in and cooked in. When your kitchen is so disgusting that your sinks are backing up, your house is full of flies and you have a mass of maggots in your dish tray - the last thing you should be doing is cooking.

2. The political bashing. While I appreciate everyone is entitled to their opinion, I don't think it belongs in a 'non-political' book. If I want to hear the bashing - I'll turn on the news or read a political book. In a book about cooking and life - there is no reason to continually go off on your political ramblings. The criticism and the stereotyping of one group was just not needed in the book. Each time this happened, I considered throwing the book out.

3. Julie as a person. At the end of the day - I thought I might grow to like her. She was self-centered, lazy, dirty and contributed nothing. At the end of the book - she seemed even more self-centered, I didn't get a big message out of all of this so either she can't write or she didn't either and her contribution was a blog and a poorly written book. Even Julia Child didn't like her. If I were Julia Child - I wouldn't want this woman anywhere near anything I had done. Much less attach her name to mine.

Such a shame as this could have been so much better.

This book reminded me a lot of Eat, Pray, Love. Another book about a self-absorbed woman that was almost impossible to finish.

posted by ajt4 on November 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 20
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    fun in the kitchen

    I could not put this book down. I am not a cook, but do love to eat and love to read. I enjoy a good self deprecating memoir and this fit the bill. I wish Julie more success and more book contracts. I only wish that I had discovered her blog as she was doing her project.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    great potential

    Julie and Julia is the true story of the author's goal to find herself. She sets out on a quest to learn how to cook like the master, Julia Child. With a cookbook propped up on her counter, she slowly begins the learning process. The meals are not always successful but that is not important because they create laughter. Following her journey is family, friends and the world. Each day she shares the previous day's results and shares the title of the next adventure.
    I listened to this audio book more than once. I did not like Julie. She whined throughout the book. I am not sure how her husband put up with her. Her vulgar language was unnecessary and added nothing to the book. She lived and cooked in filth. I did find some things I liked about this book. 1. The author has a wonderful voice. 2. The author was brutally honest about herself including her flaws and imperfections. 3. Powell had me laughing on more than one occasion. The plot had great potential.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Slow reading

    I found this book a little slow. Didn't connect with the author. Found her coarse language annoying. There were times, though, when I laughed out loud. Ruth Reichel's books are similar but much more fascinating.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Enjoyable Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I found that I related to Julie's personality. She is a very good writer and I really liked her sense of humor. I don't understand what the rest of you are talking about as far as her condoning her friend's affair with a married man. She just didn't voice her opinion on the subject knowing that it would probaly ruin their friendship. Get over it!!! For those of you who can get past that, Julie made French cooking a little more relatable for the common person. It's a very entertaining book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love to cook

    I enjoyed this book. I enjoy reading blogs and liked the intimate background info. I never got the impression that Julie Powell was anything but respectful and in awe of Julia Child. I loved the concept and enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    One of the few times the Movie more than does justice to the book.

    While I found the basis of the story very interesting (especially as it was a true story), I found that Julie wasn't a very likable person. Her whining, complaining and the generally poor attitude she exhibited really took away from what should have been a charming story. The movie was really much more charming. I am not interested in reading anything else from Powell, but she did create an interest in reading the full Julia Childs story :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    The movie is better

    Rarely do I say this, but in this case, the movie is really better. What is lacking in the book is the insight to Julia Childs' life, which comes over really well in the movie. Julie Powell has a nice way of writing, honest memoir, and very funny at times. But it is too self-centered, too much redundancy (yes we get it, being a secretary, friend who changes boyfriends all the time, government job, coming home to cook from the recipe book). But the depth is missing here, and I find myself getting bored. It would have been nice for Julie to step out of her life and explore the Julia Childs behind the recipes, as the movie does so well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    It's not the movie...

    Always reading the book before watching the movie, I actually liked the movie better. A lot of the book was how the cooking went...it started out funny, and then ended up being a part you'd want to skip over. More recipes than how it grew the character. I finished teh book, but it took awhile; I never got to the point that I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't bother.

    I found myself waiting for some positive reaction to Julie and Julia, to no avail. Regardless of the price, I found the time listening to the CDs a waste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Julie&Julia

    I like the honesty of the author. She went through hell from knowing it may take a lot for her to have a baby and turning thirty which she was not excited about. I like how she turned to something positive and in the process she learned a lot about herself, family and friends. Yes, she does have a foul mouth but I was not offended due to I have had similar melt downs in the kitchen when something is not turning out right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    Preferred the movie....

    One of the few book-to-movie instances where I preferred the movie. I agree with many of Ms. Powell's "bleaders" - too much profanity. However, attempting such a difficult task and completing is very motivational, and I give her credit for going on to another non-traditional project, as previewed by the exerpt in my copy. As with "My Life in France", I would have like some photographs from both Julies; to give reference to the points of interest and to better illustrate the arena.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Julie & Julia

    A fun book to read, but the movie was better ;) A little disappointing after seeing the movie first.
    Julie, admittedly, has a potty mouth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Let's hope the movie is better than the book.

    I bought the book after seeing trailers of the movie. I mean, who wouldn't love Meryl Streep playing Julia Child! The book is no Meryl Streep. I can't even finish the book because it just doesn't hold my attention. It's very hard to read. Maybe it's all the foul language....and I'm far from prude....it's just so bourgois and unoriginal. It's probably a really good story but I just can't get past the writing. If you appreciate good writing than you should pass on this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Laughing in my chair!

    I was laughing in my chair as I read this. I could picture myself reacting the same way as Julie. She seemed very honest in how she accomplished this. Having read My Life in France prior to reading this book, I was familiar with what she alluded to and think that was helpful. An fast, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    Interesting, but annoying

    Clever premise. The Julia Child parts are great, but (I'm sorry) Julie Powell whines far too much. Read it if you must, but be forewarned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    A good theme, but unecessarily abrasive

    I had looked forward to reading this book & then seeing the movie, as I thought the premise was very interesting and unique--and it was. However, the book, while entertaining, was ruined for me by the unecessary abrasiveness of the author, on two fronts. First, as she acknowledges in her book, many of her blog devotees at times complained about her gutter mouth (and what a gutter mouth she indeed has), suggesting that the frequent use of the worst of profane descripitives added nothing to the blog narrative of her noble cause. This is true. It was quite off-putting and seemed really unecessary; I felt it took the shine away from the often amusing anecdotes. If the author is trying to underscore her many differences from the persona of "THE Julia" it seems there might have been more reader-friendly ways to do so. I hope for her sake that she does not truly represent herself this way in person, though taking her blog-readers at their word, I assume she does. The second abrasion came in the frequent and gratuitous, nasty swipes taken at "Republicans," lumping all of that particular label into one slimy swamp of humanity, repeatedly. While I recognize that this may have been the author's way of getting her first book accepted in the liberal NY literary circles, these were entirely extraneous to the story, made the author appear shallow and immature (again), and were particularly nasty given the fact that one of those Republicans was kind enough to help her when she needed it.
    Overall, I liked the unique story, the challenge she took on, and the author's narrative of her Project. She is a talented and energetic person, whose work would have benefited from more research on her subject and juxtapositions with that great lady's life; fron less abuse of us readers intellectually; and from a greater sense of personal self-esteem.
    Unfortunately, while I finished the book, it was distasteful enought that I have decided to forgo the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    yummy

    This is a great story of a woman looking for a distraction from turning 30, her biological clock and her crapy job. In a moment of inspiration or dispair she decides as she is flipping through her mothers copy of Julia Childs famous cook book MTAOFC as she refers to it in the book...Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Through this process she finds out a lot about herself and life and people. Love this story...can't wait to see the movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Technocooking

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I laughed while I was reading it and had the urge to run out and try the same recipes. I felt like I had been privileged to take a long look at a whole year of someone elses life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Disappointed

    I was really excited to read this book when I saw the movie was coming out. I haven't seen the movie, but after trying to read the book, I don't have much interest.

    The book was written in a blog format and I found this boring, difficult to read and a little too self absorbing. It seamed all the writer did was talk about herself, and while that may be the case in other books, it was so blatant that I didn't develop any interest in her.

    Didn't even get halfway through.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    Too Much Julie, and Not Enough Julia!

    If one is to judge from this very poorly written book, Julie is a foul mouthed twit. The F word is way over done and loses its impact. If, as she writes, that is the way people talk in Texas, let me never go there. I just wanted to throw it across the room. The movie was way better, something I rarely say.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 394 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 20