BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously

Average Rating 3
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Laugh out loud funny

This book was so much fun, I only wish I had been aware when the project was underway, it would have been fun to blog along and encourage Julie in her endeavor. I actually laughed out loud multiple times while reading. For me that is always a great sign. I truly enjoyed...
This book was so much fun, I only wish I had been aware when the project was underway, it would have been fun to blog along and encourage Julie in her endeavor. I actually laughed out loud multiple times while reading. For me that is always a great sign. I truly enjoyed it and am now stimulated to read an actual biography of Julia Child!!

posted by Marie314 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great Premise turned bad.

I was excited to read this book. What an amazing thing to take on in one year. Cooking some of the hardest receipes out there by the great Julia Child. I was excited to hear about how she figured it out all from a cookbook and no help.

Instead - this was a self-...
I was excited to read this book. What an amazing thing to take on in one year. Cooking some of the hardest receipes out there by the great Julia Child. I was excited to hear about how she figured it out all from a cookbook and no help.

Instead - this was a self-indulgent look into a womans life that as I read further, I realized I didn't like. Don't get me wrong - I don't care about the bad language. I'm not giving this a bad rating over that.

I found the writing to be disjointed, the story did not flow and I didn't laugh. There were three major problems I had with the book.

1. The gross factor - I'm not talking about cooking livers or kidneys or brains. I'm refering to the filth she lived in and cooked in. When your kitchen is so disgusting that your sinks are backing up, your house is full of flies and you have a mass of maggots in your dish tray - the last thing you should be doing is cooking.

2. The political bashing. While I appreciate everyone is entitled to their opinion, I don't think it belongs in a 'non-political' book. If I want to hear the bashing - I'll turn on the news or read a political book. In a book about cooking and life - there is no reason to continually go off on your political ramblings. The criticism and the stereotyping of one group was just not needed in the book. Each time this happened, I considered throwing the book out.

3. Julie as a person. At the end of the day - I thought I might grow to like her. She was self-centered, lazy, dirty and contributed nothing. At the end of the book - she seemed even more self-centered, I didn't get a big message out of all of this so either she can't write or she didn't either and her contribution was a blog and a poorly written book. Even Julia Child didn't like her. If I were Julia Child - I wouldn't want this woman anywhere near anything I had done. Much less attach her name to mine.

Such a shame as this could have been so much better.

This book reminded me a lot of Eat, Pray, Love. Another book about a self-absorbed woman that was almost impossible to finish.

posted by ajt4 on November 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Laugh out loud funny

    This book was so much fun, I only wish I had been aware when the project was underway, it would have been fun to blog along and encourage Julie in her endeavor. I actually laughed out loud multiple times while reading. For me that is always a great sign. I truly enjoyed it and am now stimulated to read an actual biography of Julia Child!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    I found this book to be incredibly funny and was not disappointed at all. It is not what I expected it to be from the blurb on the cover, but it was a highly enjoyable read. Don't expect highbrow cooking adventures, rather it is what you would expect if you tried to go through every recipe in Mastering the Art of French Cooking without being a chef. Julie does not apologize for her language or lack of skill, but it makes the book much more accessible. All in all a fun read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    Who would think Bone Marrow would taste good?

    I loved this book, Julie Powell¿s writing was great and kept me wanting more. She is funny, witty and tells it how it is. I cook a lot and love respect Julie for having the courage to get through all the recipes of Mastering the Art of French Cooking (MtAoFC)!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Aspic, what the heck are people eating that for???

    I myself am certainly no great cook. This book made me want to cook every recipe I could get my hands on. Set right after 9/11, Julie finds herself in a less than satisfying job and turns to her mom's old fav, Julia Child's French Cooking Cookbook. She decides that over the course of a year she will cook each recipe from the book, in her less than stellar New York apartment kitchen. I loved this book from start to finish.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    she's cooked up a good book

    i am pretty into memoirs these days and this was a fun story to read. julie decides she needs a project somewhat more fulfilling than her dead-end job and to distract her from the stress of possible fertility issues and finds it in cooking her way through julia child's cookbook. we are taken along this amusing ride, along with a good cast of side characters like her husband, parents, brother and friends. that said, i don't think her writing skills are that strong, so i would be surprised to see another book by this writer (particularly anything fiction).

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Cooking my way to a new identity

    Okay, so I'll have to admit ... I grew up with Ms. Child on t.v. and never paid attention (I was a little kid so I'll give myself some room). But, as I read this book I found myself laughing hysterically at some of her imagry (and wondering how the hell she knew some of that stuff) and relating intimately with her cubicle-fever and longing to do something more rewarding. Julie Powell's draws you in, much like Julia Child did in her cookbooks, with that kitchen-table conversational style that makes you feel as though you're not thousands of miles away across country, but having coffee with her in her Queens apartment. She inspires us all to not accept boredom and the cubicle as an end to itself but to get out there and c reate goodness in whatever form it takes for us.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Julie & Julia is part culinary adventure, part NYC scavenger hunt and a wonderful read!

    Synopsis:
    Married and living in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, working as a secretary in an unnamed government agency after a series of dead end jobs, pushing thirty, and having learned that she may have fertility problems, Julie Powell is ready for a change. Inspired by her parents' copy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child (MtAoFC), Julie creates a blog and declares her challenge to the universe:

    "Government drone by day, renegade foodie by night. Too old for theater, too young for children, and too bitter for anything else, Julie Powell was looking for a challenge. And in the Julie/Julia Project she found it. Risking her marriage, her job, and her cats well-being, she has signed on for a deranged assignment. 365 days. 524 recipes. One girl and a cr@ppy outer borough kitchen. How far will it go, no one can say ...."

    Sure enough, the book takes us through the challenges and victories of that year. The culinary ones have an undercurrent of NYC scavenger hunt and discovery, like Julie's first experience with bone marrow: Bifteck Saute Bercy garnished with bone marrow of a cow. The personal challenges and the torments of her low rent apartment meld with the Julie/Julia Project making frozen pipes, water outages, blackouts, and the move to Long Island City, Queens part of a large, mildly hysterical adventure.

    Review:
    With all the advertisements for the movie coming out and the buzz about this book, you probably know about the Julie/Julia Project and have some impression of the book. Before I began reading, I wondered whether Julie Powell would pull it off. It sounded like a good idea, but would it end up slow or contrived? Annoying? I'm glad to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    I wish I'd known more about Julia Child as I read the about the birth of the Julie/Julia Project. My vague recollections of Julia Child meant that this book shaped much of my image of Julia. But this is really isn't a bad thing. Julie's Julia is a funny, practical, generous and adventuresome muse. I've just unearthed and watched a video of the Omelette Show on The French Chef and will surely watch more Julia Child over time.

    Julie & Julia captures the flavor of New York so well. It's a light, enjoyable read full of good writing, interesting characters, and unusual dishes. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love to cook

    I enjoyed this book. I enjoy reading blogs and liked the intimate background info. I never got the impression that Julie Powell was anything but respectful and in awe of Julia Child. I loved the concept and enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Julie&Julia

    I like the honesty of the author. She went through hell from knowing it may take a lot for her to have a baby and turning thirty which she was not excited about. I like how she turned to something positive and in the process she learned a lot about herself, family and friends. Yes, she does have a foul mouth but I was not offended due to I have had similar melt downs in the kitchen when something is not turning out right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Laughing in my chair!

    I was laughing in my chair as I read this. I could picture myself reacting the same way as Julie. She seemed very honest in how she accomplished this. Having read My Life in France prior to reading this book, I was familiar with what she alluded to and think that was helpful. An fast, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    yummy

    This is a great story of a woman looking for a distraction from turning 30, her biological clock and her crapy job. In a moment of inspiration or dispair she decides as she is flipping through her mothers copy of Julia Childs famous cook book MTAOFC as she refers to it in the book...Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Through this process she finds out a lot about herself and life and people. Love this story...can't wait to see the movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    GREAT SUMMER READ

    Perfect for beach reading and relaxing reading . . . made me want to read Julia Child's own books and buy the Mastering the Art of French Cooking!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun from start to finish

    This was just so much fun to read - we took it on a long car trip and read it aloud - everyone enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Delightful

    The book was simply engaging... Yes there is the use of language some would not find suitable, but then don't read it. If you are evolved enough to get past her inherited vocabulary, then you will find a touching, enlightening, and intriguing tale of life, work, love, marriage, and culinary exploration!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    loved it

    My daughter took me to see the preview of the movie and we loved it! You overlook the swears I think because it was not lingered over and the story was fun

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Fun!

    This is a fun book about cooking and life. Julie is uncensored and certainly doesn't take any pains to present herself as a perfect person. Swearing is rampant, but it is all just part of her character. It made me want to get Julia Child's cookbook and try some of the recipes, but not the aspics!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    At first I didn't like it....

    Just finished reading, and I am glad I stuck it out. At first I thought it just the whining of another self absorbed almost 30. But as I read on, I came to admire Julie and her quest for meaning in her life, because that was what it was all about, right? Here voice came through, and I found myself looking forward to each new chapter, beginning and END. While I love to cook, not sure I would have the guts to attempt such a project. My favorite word in the book? Joy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    The memoir "Julie and Julia" by Julie Powell was a hil

    The memoir "Julie and Julia" by Julie Powell was a hilarious book on a woman suffering through a typical mid-life crisis. In hopes of restoring her self worth as she reaches her 30th birthday, Julie takes on the difficult challenge of completing all 524 recipes from Julia Child's "Mastering the Art of French Cooking." However, there is a crazy catch, she must also finish this project in only 365 days. As she works on her project, she blogs her failures and achievements. Writing about her lapses in sanity, which she appropriately self titles “meltdowns.” She risks the well being of her husband, boring job, and cat all for what she calls a “deranged assignment,” but somehow manages to gain knowledge on who she truly is inside. “Julie and Julia” is a hilarious book that will have you laughing out loud and excited to learn more about what it really takes to “master the art of french cooking.” 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Kitkat101

    I heard this movie was funny and my mom read the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Looks good

    I havent read it but it looks good!
    I found it cause my names julia to!! (:
    Cant wait to read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6