Customer Reviews for

Julie of the Wolves

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I fell in Love with this Book!

Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she...
Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she is helped out by a pack of wolves who let her into thier pack. Throughout the story she grows a loving bond with her new family. But when hunters come along in their helicopters she finds her world tumbleing down. It made me cry! Hunting wolves could be illegal today if people would realize that wolves are intelligent and endangered animals.There are so few left in the world. They deserve to live thier lives in peace. This story really opened my eyes to the problems of today.I recomend this to eveyone. It's very important for us to learn about wolves before it's to late. ~ ColleenHellenYost

posted by ColleenHellenYost on September 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Julie of the wolves

My friend who is 10 told me not to read this book. I asked her why and she said it was inapropriate so if youare 12 or under dont waste ur money unless u like reading inapropriate books and ifso that is wrong

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for everyone

    I read this book in fifth grade and honestly this is what encouraged me to be an author; it's realistic yet so breath-takingly mystical. It's instantly a classic and all ages should read this over and over again. Anyone who loves adventure and 'coming of age' books will absolutely adore this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    I fell in Love with this Book!

    Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she is helped out by a pack of wolves who let her into thier pack. Throughout the story she grows a loving bond with her new family. But when hunters come along in their helicopters she finds her world tumbleing down. It made me cry! Hunting wolves could be illegal today if people would realize that wolves are intelligent and endangered animals.There are so few left in the world. They deserve to live thier lives in peace. This story really opened my eyes to the problems of today.I recomend this to eveyone. It's very important for us to learn about wolves before it's to late. ~ ColleenHellenYost

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Julie of the wolves

    My friend who is 10 told me not to read this book. I asked her why and she said it was inapropriate so if youare 12 or under dont waste ur money unless u like reading inapropriate books and ifso that is wrong

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Julie of the Wolfs

    This book is the best Newbery Medal winning book I have read

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Beutiful

    The book makes you think. Changes your mind about how wolfs are and how we kill for fun, wolfs kill for survival. Also it gives you different perspective on a simple life, being at one with nature. I recomend this book to anyone with a open mind.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Inaproprate!!!!!!

    Personally, I do like wolves. They are friendly animals. But don't buy!!! The story is sooo messy and stupid with this then that! It's not funny with inaproprate things in it! Don't buy!!!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Childhood Classic

    I love this book from my childhood. The writing is beautifully descriptive and the elements of danger and survival make for a gripping read. Through this book the reader is able to be transported to faraway lands deep in the Arctic where the wind can be cruel and the wilderness can be unforgiving. I love reading this during the hot summer weeks and I can almost feel the snow and ice as I read. I would recommend this book to any fans of adventure, survival, animal-bonding stories and stories of personal growth or coming-of-age. <3

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Dont waste your time

    Stupid

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Unknown

    This is a wonderful book. It gives people a different perspective on wolves they don't kill for fun but for there survival. Also they don't kill alot only what they need but not healthy animals sick or old ones. Awsome book have to reed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Not the best

    Me amd my friends read this book and all of us thought that it was kind of pointless... i probably would say not to read it.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    A Great Read for Young Minds

    I read this when I was in elementary school, and I could not put it down. This was one of my favorite series growing up. The story centers around a strong, female protagonist who is still barely a child. The emotional and physical hardships that she endures would have even some adults on their knees in despair. She not only has to survive in a harsh physical world, she has to survive and maneuver through the dualities of both her native culture and norms, and that of her American culture. I highly recommend this to young readers as it will give them an insight not only about nature, but about people and what it means to "grow up."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    not for children at all!!!!!!!!

    i dont like this book fo it contains rape and it is not for children i highly disliked it i had to explain to my child what it ment very unexpected to be given to children of this age! waste of time, waste of money

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Julie of the wolves

    To be honest with you... this book is highly un-recommended. I had to read this book in 5th grade and i highly disliked it. i would not recommend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Strongly DISLIKE this book!

    I am in 5th grade and have to read this book for my literature circle in school. It puts me to sleep every time I read it. Daniel's character is really weird because he is only thirteen and he is married. I don't like the setting in the Alaskan tundra. The character of Miyax is also weird, for the same reason that Daniel's character is weird. Who cares about the wolves? I would DEFINITELY not recommend this ever in a billion years because I think it is dull, boring, and stupid. It is a total waste of time and energy!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    JuLiE oF ThE WoLvEs...

    i think this book was boring... i barely started reading it and i really wish i didnt have to!! but i have to for school... i think this book is really boring and irelivent! i hope to never read a book like this again!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Inappropriate Content for Children

    In a section of the book is a description of the main character's rape by her husband. This is definately not a book that children need to read. My 5th grader was given the book and the class was told not to read page such and such and of course they all did. I had to explain to her what rape was. There are too many other good books for children to read. Take a stand and help your school ban this book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Unappropriate content for children.

    My fourth grade daughter read this book and the children in her class had certain pages marked to share with other students. There are too many good books to allow our youth to read content of this nature.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    The rape scene is completely inappropriate in children's book. F

    The rape scene is completely inappropriate in children's book. For the life of me, I cannot understand how anyone can possibly feel it is OK for a child to read a description of such a terrifying and graphic sexual assault. I would give this zero stars if I could. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Uhhhhhhh

    This bok was to put it lightly...odd. Personally I love wolves and the artic but this book was something I couldnt get into. I wouldnt waste your time. If you insist on the read, check it out at the library. Dont waste money.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    6th Grade

    When I was in 6th grade, the day right before Christmas break, my teacher told us we had to read this book over our break. So of course, I had no choice but to read it. I was so bored with it, I waited until the last day to read half of the book. I'm a total animal lover (you can tell by my personal information) and I still disliked this book. It was very boring and unintresting. The whole story seemed to repeat part after part after part. Like a couple of people mentioned, it's very inappropriate because, it really does talk about how her husband raped her, which I thought was very uncalled for. This book is so boring, when we came back to school, our language arts teacher asked us to raise our hands to see how many people read the book, including me, I think five people at the most raised their hands. She gave them a couple more days to read it, so I eventually, I asked some people what they thought, and every comment said it was boring. To prove how bad the book to me was, I personally love wolves because dogs are descendants of the wolf, and I still didn't like the book. I thought this book was also very hard to understand too. I REALLY couldn't stand this book. I hope you like it better than I did if you have to read it. DON'T waste your money on it if you don't have too, it's NOT a good book, and I love wolves.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8