Customer Reviews for

Julie of the Wolves

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I fell in Love with this Book!

Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she...
Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she is helped out by a pack of wolves who let her into thier pack. Throughout the story she grows a loving bond with her new family. But when hunters come along in their helicopters she finds her world tumbleing down. It made me cry! Hunting wolves could be illegal today if people would realize that wolves are intelligent and endangered animals.There are so few left in the world. They deserve to live thier lives in peace. This story really opened my eyes to the problems of today.I recomend this to eveyone. It's very important for us to learn about wolves before it's to late. ~ ColleenHellenYost

posted by ColleenHellenYost on September 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Julie of the wolves

My friend who is 10 told me not to read this book. I asked her why and she said it was inapropriate so if youare 12 or under dont waste ur money unless u like reading inapropriate books and ifso that is wrong

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    julie of the wolves

    Julie of the wolves This book is called Julie of the wolves. Jean Craighead George wrote it. The book is an Eskimo named Miyax who ran away from her home because of her vulgar husband. She is thirteen and brought basic supplies to support herself limiting for her journey in Alaska towards San Francisco to the home of her pen pall and live with her to lead a better life. Eventually she has to find food and does not know how to hunt. She is eventually befriended by a wolf book and its leader that decides to make her part of their pack. I disliked this book because it was unethical and it wasn¿t my type of genre. The book wasn¿t exciting to read because u could expect what was going to happen next. You kind of had question the way the book was presented because in most books you were able to feel like you were in the book. The plot really didn¿t interest me because it just seemed like a drag to read it. The only thing that was different about the author was that I haven¿t seen many books about Eskimos and wolves so it¿s a unique plot but that¿s about it. The characters were not realistic because normally a wolf wouldn¿t let an outsider into their pack especially one of a different species. The ending was expected and typical ending which was one of the reasons I didn¿t like it. The author used a third person writing style, I prefer a 1st person because it makes you feel more like your in the book with every detail in the perspective of the main character. The author does use the vocabulary in an interesting way because a lot of it is of the Eskimo. The author was very typical and proper in this book which some people like but you have to read for yourself if you like those kinds of books. The author¿s ability was interesting but flawed because the author didn¿t describe the right things to feel like you¿re in the book. Their wasn¿t really anything to do improve the plot of this story but it is more of a young adult book. I would have to give this book one star because this book was unethical and likely because one it isn¿t likely that a little girl would go hundreds of miles to live with someone and then suddenly finds wolves that having their doubts except someone that wasn¿t of their family or species let her into the pack. I don¿t recommend this book to older readers but to younger ones who like a short book to read. The author I¿m sure that had a couple more descent books than this one. I don¿t remember the books off the top of my head but I believe they are young adult. If you read this book I hope you enjoy it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    O3O

    WOW

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Julie of the Wolves

    After reading all of the ratings for this book, I am shocked at the poor spelling and writing habits of most of the reviewers. You people need to go back to school and take spelling and basic writing before you ever attempt to review another book or apply for a job!

    Kathy Mitchell
    Orlando FL

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Tap here! Ten out of five stars!

    This is the best book I have ever read, and I have read a lot, since I am in the highly gifted center. BUY IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    BORING

    Nothing interesting happened. This book bored me to tears.
    ~Mockingjay

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Awesome book

    My friend Sierra and i read this book in fifth grade. We never got to finish it though. WE FINALLY FOUND IT! THANK YOU BARNES AND NOBLE! KEEP ON YOUR GOOD WORK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    I so wanna read this

    Its even reckaminded by my school!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    WONDERFULL READ!!!!!

    In this book, a 13 year old girl ends up in the alasken wilderness and must learn how to survive. Somehow,she must make it to Sanfransisco,where her penpal lives, but how? On her way, she lives and learns from a wolf pack, who teach her a most valuable lessen she will never forget. There are also two seaquels,which are not on the nook,Julie and Julie's wolf pack.They may be in the library,but own them in paperback. Well... ENJOY THE BOOK!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    SEQUEL

    Where's the sequel to this I need it now this isn't funny any more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    You are!!!!!

    Who ever u r i think u r weirdly gross. This book wasn't very good. See u later. -?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Person that no one except apparently Alex knows

    You're too smart...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    The best book ever

    U must read this amzaing book. It is the best ever! It makes you think.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Why Did We Have To Read This In 9th Grade

    Not only is this book written awfully but the story is ridiculas. If your young and enjoy stories about humans living with wolves, which will probably happen once in a millenium, go ahead. I just hate how we just get done with Les Miserables and then we had too read this junk. Sorry Julie your a horribly written charactor.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Waste of time

    Please don't read this book, waste of time, and money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Omg

    This book was kinda hard to get in to butt then it got really interesting to read so i loved it highly recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Help me save my Clan

    I am Wolfstar. Please help me save my Clan from an introter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I love it!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am in 6th grade and love reading.I am homeschooled too. And i am very picky when it comes to books. Usally i will read the back of a book and if it isn't interesting i don' t read it and i did it with this book but instead of me not liking it i LOVED IT! It was one of the best books i ever read. I hope however reads it likes it as much as i do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    GREATBOOK

    I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Great book

    I would give this book a higher rating if I could, very lovely. Written for those who love books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Jayke ? Jayll Jaylen wrote this

    .$$$$$9$$$%$%$%$%$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    @@@@@@@@@@@@@############%%%%%&&&&%%%%&&&&&&&&&&&&9

    Lol

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8