Customer Reviews for

Julie of the Wolves

Average Rating 4
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I fell in Love with this Book!

Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she...
Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she is helped out by a pack of wolves who let her into thier pack. Throughout the story she grows a loving bond with her new family. But when hunters come along in their helicopters she finds her world tumbleing down. It made me cry! Hunting wolves could be illegal today if people would realize that wolves are intelligent and endangered animals.There are so few left in the world. They deserve to live thier lives in peace. This story really opened my eyes to the problems of today.I recomend this to eveyone. It's very important for us to learn about wolves before it's to late. ~ ColleenHellenYost

posted by ColleenHellenYost on September 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Julie of the wolves

My friend who is 10 told me not to read this book. I asked her why and she said it was inapropriate so if youare 12 or under dont waste ur money unless u like reading inapropriate books and ifso that is wrong

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Not the best

    Me amd my friends read this book and all of us thought that it was kind of pointless... i probably would say not to read it.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    good

    check it out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    I like this book but its not for kids.

    I say its not for kids because of page 33 where it says: as miyax scurried to meet jello, he hesitated, growled softly, and urinated. Its just grossing but luckily george didn't detail it, so i think this is not for children.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Future German Sumo Wrestler Writes Review

    It wasn¿t that bad, but I have read better, MUCH better, books than this. Disappointed me. Miyax runs away from her husband and home. She is lost, hungry, and alone, except for a pack of wolves. Miyax is learning that life on her own is harder than she thought. Miyax is only thirteen. This book did not impress me. I do not regret reading this book, but I have definitely read better books. Mostly it was kind of interesting but it never really caught my eye. The story goes at a good pace, but it is sometimes repetitive. Miyax is very indecisive and sometimes it¿s annoying. The book really didn¿t affect me or change the way I think about something. I would not recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Interesting Portrayal of Eskimo Life

    I had to read this for a multicultural children's lit class and I enjoyed it, but if I were younger, I would've been bored, as several other reviews state. There's good description of the Alaskan settings and of Eskimo traditions and culture. A central theme is Modern American life vs. traditional Eskimo life and how Miyax/Julie is struggling to find her place. I usually don't favor books about animals, but the animal characters in this book were interesting and likable. The book has vivid detail of Miyax's surroundings and is a book I recommend, but can't say I love. The parts that are often brought up as being inappropriate aren't too bad, as they aren't very detailed, but parents may want to read it first to decide for themselves. One of the pages in question is page 102.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    A reviewer

    Hi, I am a 6th grader I had to read this for the summer and do a book report. This book was ok it did not inspirer me because it was about wolves(i do not like wolves at all).The book was great but not the best book i've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    It's sort of boring........

    I had to read a book,so I could write a book review for my seventh grade teacher.After reading Julie of the Wolves for a week,I got bored with it.All Miyax talks about is the wolf pack which sort of gets boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    I don't know, it wasn't the best book in the world

    Hi! I'm Alanna Battaglia and I am a 6th grader in Middle School. Our school was required to read this book, and well I really wasn't that intrested. Sure, it had many great moments. But that was it. I just might be the kind of person who doesn't really enjoy these books. Maybe I'm just more of a mysterious book reader, because I do know someone who enjoyed this book and would proabably give it at least four stars. What I'm trying to say is if it looks intresting to you or your children, then buy it or borrow it from your local library. There's no point in not trying out different books. I hope I haven't put your hopes down with my review. Go out and try new books, maybe you will like it more than I did. Well, happy reading! And don't forget to to fall into reading at your local library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2000

    6th,7th, and 8th grade mother/daughter bookclub members

    Some of us found the book boring. (Like books with more excitement.) Too much detail about Alaskan environment. However, some of us (mostly the mothers!) really loved the book! (liked the detail and descriptions.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1