Customer Reviews for

Julie of the Wolves

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I fell in Love with this Book!

Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she...
Julie, a girl my age in an unwanted marraige. Wow,I couldn't dream of being married! She runs away from that experience, hoping to find her penpal in San Francisco. After the first few days of traveling she finds herself lost, hungry,and cold. Detirmined for survial she is helped out by a pack of wolves who let her into thier pack. Throughout the story she grows a loving bond with her new family. But when hunters come along in their helicopters she finds her world tumbleing down. It made me cry! Hunting wolves could be illegal today if people would realize that wolves are intelligent and endangered animals.There are so few left in the world. They deserve to live thier lives in peace. This story really opened my eyes to the problems of today.I recomend this to eveyone. It's very important for us to learn about wolves before it's to late. ~ ColleenHellenYost

posted by ColleenHellenYost on September 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Julie of the wolves

My friend who is 10 told me not to read this book. I asked her why and she said it was inapropriate so if youare 12 or under dont waste ur money unless u like reading inapropriate books and ifso that is wrong

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    :)

    This book is very well writen. But, i don't think its five star because it has a boring element to it. But you should read it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Well i have the second one '"Julie's Wolf Pack"'

    HdfyrgbhffkkydddfdafgsbyzvgfdsvvhfdffhftfgffddgxdgdgxgdfhdnjjhkGSSSSSFFCFDDVSRDGFHYUGBGDBXTNGGDVGHXvhrfbmFhhfrdthhhsDdddrdgcfdzcgddvxsfaawasAsasasasadaasadsswewewedgjefeggsfdtvgggvfhjv rfgggggggggggggggg











    ?..nbhcgfxgv......!!!!!!!!!?@@@@@@@@,)+)(()()(?@?@?@?')gggghghgggh






    Its O?K?


    ?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    This book

    This book is ok, but i am only 11 and i don t find that much intrest in it at school. Sorry i can not spell that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Eh

    Its good but there are some um well inappropriate parts. Not gonna tell you. If you are under 11 i dont suggest reading tjis book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Great book

    I had to read this book for my english class but I ended up liking the book so much that I finished it in one day! I really enjoyed the book, even though it is pretty short. You will still enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My daughter really liked this book

    She wanted to read it again because she said it was so good!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Julie of the Wolves an awesome book.

    I have read a book called Julie of the Wolves. This book is a hard book to put down because of the comedy and suspense. It tells you a completely different side to modern and not so modern life. Julie of the Wolves can teach you very needed information about how to stay alive in the cold wilderness while having comedy, romance and some sad parts. It tells about a young Eskimo on her way to get away from her horrible husband and see her pen-pal from San Francisco. This book shows how this girl finds friends and a new family with an exciting pack of wolves. This book is exhilerating heartfelt and a book that could entertain any person. I would recommend this book because it is one of the best books of my time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Julie of the Wolves: a great book

    Realistic Fiction Julie of the Wolves Jean Craighead George Theme: Sometimes the old ways are the best This book totally sucked me in! It had lots of exciting parts, which was awesome! Summery: A 13-year-old girl runs away from home because she was abused. She goes to the artic tundra, where she meets wolf pack. She has to tell them that she needs food. She is depending on them. But she is very scarred that they will leave her and that she will die. Julie of the Wolves has a little bit of everything. Adventure, facts, some romance, and a good lesson. That¿s why I think that it is an excellent book. But it is probably not so good for younger kids. They just wouldn¿t understand and appreciate it. But for an older kid looking for a great book to read, look no further! While I read this book, it made me appreciate how some of the old ways are the best. I never would have thought like that without Julie of the Wolves. I also thought how much humans can destroy things. In this book, some humans kill a wolf and don¿t even get it to eat or anything! Why kill just for sport? It¿s just wrong. The Eskimos kill, but they eat the meat, use the fur for coats, and bladders for bags. They don¿t waste anything! Not all humans are bad of course, but we can do better to help the earth. Julie of the wolves helped me to see that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    A Book With A Bite

    I liked this book I would recommend it to anyone. Miyax runs away from home to escape from her new husband. She gets lost on her way with no food or compass. Her only hope is a pack of wild wolves that take her in and treat her like one of their own. Julie of the Wolves is a great book for anyone who enjoys stories about friends and family. It does a good job at showing you what families are all about. It is filled with so much adventure and survival. It is a great book for any kids around the middle school age. I don¿t think that a younger kid would be able to understand how this poor girl is feeling. Some parts make me want to throw it away and some parts make me want to keep on reading and reading. Reading this book really made me think about how hard it is to survive in those conditions. It made me feel really lucky about everything that I have. It changed the way I feel about Eskimo life. They don¿t just live in the cold and wear big fur coats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed reading Julie of the Wolves for a college course because it gave me a better understanding of what its like to be a present day Eskimo. In Julie of the Wolves, Julie realizes her small Eskimo village is no longer safe for her and she runs away. She ends up lost on the Alaskan tundra without food or guidance. During her long journey on the tundra, Julie comes to appreciate the value of her Eskimo heritage about herself, and wins the friendship of a pack of wolves. With the wolves help, and her father's heritage teachings, she struggles day to day to survive. When the times comes for her to leave the wilderness, she must choose between the traditional ways of her poeple or the modern ways of the whites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    :)

    I'm 12.I read this book for school & I loved it.The way the author described the wolf language was amazing,and I liked Julie because she was a strong character.Now I wanna read the sequels,but I kind of wished she'd go to San Francisco.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    A great book!

    I read this book in 5th grade and absolutly loved it, along with the rest of series. I was shocked by the part about the rape, but I knew what rape was and I knew this was a wrong thing. If your child doesnt know what sex and rape is by the time they are approaching puberty you need to take them out of their plastic bubbles and teach them about the world around us. There are dangers in this world that we cannot protect our children from. Ignorence will not help them. It's parents like these that take wonderful and touching books out of the hands of children.. This book was wonderful and nobody can tell me otherwise. I am in highschool now and am very much enjoying an assignment on Catcher in the Rye, which mind you was banned for over 10 years in schools across America, along with To Kill a Mockingbird, and Bless Me Ultima. These books without a doubt are classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    A Good Book

    I really like this book. I read it in 6th grade and it was a great book. It is a heartwarming and sad story. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    A great exciting book

    I loved this book because you really got to be inside Julies head and you could see hear and feel what she was. I also thought it was a great story. the author did a great job!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Pretty Good

    This was a Reading assignment when I was in 7th grade. I had already read it in 6th grade and wasn't thrilled to read it again. Overall it's a pretty good book but I did get confused because the sections did not go in chronological order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    Julie of the wolves.

    Julie of the wolves is a ok book but after reading a little while I reliesed there is no plot or setting and even so many characters. The story goes on and on without any main event and one story event that is Lost in the Tundra. The book couldve been longer but wasnt bad. I have read worse books like The year my parents ruined my life but Julie had something attractive and it just couldve contiued. Julie/Miyax finds his dad and Amarog gets shot maybe from his dads plane who was the pilot what was more than likely and Jello who got killed by Amarog the book is brilliant. There arent so many books of Alaska and getting lost there so hard work making the book what makes it a Recommended classic and a great Novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2001

    Great Wolf Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was not the best book about Julie. The begining is slow, then it gets really good. I also read the other books. I hope you read all three books. This one is about a girl who sees a wolf pack, and to surive she must become part of the pack. It was sad, and funny. This is the first book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    A Tale of Survival in the Arctic

    In this story, a young girl, Julie, is told to live with her aunt because her father has to go to battle. Her family decided to have her marry Daniel. She doesn't want to be married, let alone to Daniel. Because of this she runs away and gets lost. She ends up lost and having to live with a wolf pack to survive. After some careful planning, she decides to find her way to San Francisco with the wolves as her sled team. She believes that her father was killed, but she wants to get home anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2