Customer Reviews for

Juliet Immortal

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

My girlfriend made me read this

It was pretty good. I liked that Juliet was tough. Like my girlfriend.

posted by 9540151 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Interesting concept...

We all know the story: Fourteen-year-old Juliet Capulet falls for Romeo Montague. Their love is forbidden because their families are constantly at war with each other. The two are secretly married, Romeo kills Juliet's cousin and is banished to Mantua. Juliet fakes her ...
We all know the story: Fourteen-year-old Juliet Capulet falls for Romeo Montague. Their love is forbidden because their families are constantly at war with each other. The two are secretly married, Romeo kills Juliet's cousin and is banished to Mantua. Juliet fakes her death, Romeo comes back for her and believing her dead, kills himself. When Juliet awakens and finds Romeo dead, she plunges a dagger through her heart to join him.

In Stacey Jay's Juliet Immortal, that isn't exactly how it all ended. Rewind to the moment Romeo finds Juliet in her tomb. Juliet awakens only to be stabbed in the heart by none other than Romeo himself. He has made a pact with a group of immortals who call themselves The Mercenaries. By killing his soul mate, Romeo will be granted immortality, and allowed to join The Mercenaries. He will roam the earth, inhabiting the bodies of dead people and enticing others to kill their soul mate in exchange for their own immortality. What Romeo doesn't realize is that Juliet was saved by her nurse, a member of another paranormal group called The Ambassadors. As part of this group, Juliet will temporarily assume the body of someone and fight to keep love alive, hopefully preventing them from falling prey to Romeo's destruction.

700 years after she died, Juliet finds herself inhabiting the body of seventeen-year-old Ariel. Not only will she work to restore Ariel's relationship with her mother and friends while attempting to boost her self-confidence, Juliet must search out and help two soul mates realize their love for one another before Romeo gets to them. She doesn't expect to fall head over heels in love in the process, something that is strictly forbidden by her elders. With Romeo hot on her heels and her heart on the line, Juliet must put her feelings aside to save not only the soul mates in love, but herself as well.

This book was much more violent than I expected, and it had a lot of action which kept me rapidly turning the pages. The story is engaging and has many twists and turns which keep you guessing. In the end, I think it was the number of twists involved that dampened the ending for me. I really enjoyed the story up until about the last six or seven chapters which was when something stopped working for me. It seemed like the twists the story kept taking got to be a little too much, to the point that I just gave up trying to follow everything. The first few chapters of the book are great. Ms. Jay sets up the story with a lot of tension and mystery which I loved. The characters are well-drawn and fit the story (though the character of Gemma grated my last nerve) and the writing is strong. I just had a hard time with the resolution. It isn't that it was bad, it just felt . off. Part of that may be because my head was spinning so rapidly by the end of the book I had just stopped caring and wanted it to be over.

posted by OtotheD on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting concept...

    We all know the story: Fourteen-year-old Juliet Capulet falls for Romeo Montague. Their love is forbidden because their families are constantly at war with each other. The two are secretly married, Romeo kills Juliet's cousin and is banished to Mantua. Juliet fakes her death, Romeo comes back for her and believing her dead, kills himself. When Juliet awakens and finds Romeo dead, she plunges a dagger through her heart to join him.

    In Stacey Jay's Juliet Immortal, that isn't exactly how it all ended. Rewind to the moment Romeo finds Juliet in her tomb. Juliet awakens only to be stabbed in the heart by none other than Romeo himself. He has made a pact with a group of immortals who call themselves The Mercenaries. By killing his soul mate, Romeo will be granted immortality, and allowed to join The Mercenaries. He will roam the earth, inhabiting the bodies of dead people and enticing others to kill their soul mate in exchange for their own immortality. What Romeo doesn't realize is that Juliet was saved by her nurse, a member of another paranormal group called The Ambassadors. As part of this group, Juliet will temporarily assume the body of someone and fight to keep love alive, hopefully preventing them from falling prey to Romeo's destruction.

    700 years after she died, Juliet finds herself inhabiting the body of seventeen-year-old Ariel. Not only will she work to restore Ariel's relationship with her mother and friends while attempting to boost her self-confidence, Juliet must search out and help two soul mates realize their love for one another before Romeo gets to them. She doesn't expect to fall head over heels in love in the process, something that is strictly forbidden by her elders. With Romeo hot on her heels and her heart on the line, Juliet must put her feelings aside to save not only the soul mates in love, but herself as well.

    This book was much more violent than I expected, and it had a lot of action which kept me rapidly turning the pages. The story is engaging and has many twists and turns which keep you guessing. In the end, I think it was the number of twists involved that dampened the ending for me. I really enjoyed the story up until about the last six or seven chapters which was when something stopped working for me. It seemed like the twists the story kept taking got to be a little too much, to the point that I just gave up trying to follow everything. The first few chapters of the book are great. Ms. Jay sets up the story with a lot of tension and mystery which I loved. The characters are well-drawn and fit the story (though the character of Gemma grated my last nerve) and the writing is strong. I just had a hard time with the resolution. It isn't that it was bad, it just felt . off. Part of that may be because my head was spinning so rapidly by the end of the book I had just stopped caring and wanted it to be over.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I Recommend...but

    I read this book because it looked really interesting. I liked that the author made a unique twist on the Shakespeare classic. Having the two star-crossed-lovers mortal enemies and fighting through the ages over whether true love can exist. The only thing I didn't like was that Romeo was made out as such a bad, terrible guy. And that Juliet ended up with someone else. I'm sorry, but the original story was "Romeo and Juliet" not "Juliet and some random guy". I liked that story, I just wish that with the realization that Romeo wasn't so bad at the end, that Juliet could forgive her one and only true love.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    To Verona and Beyond

    Really 3.5 stars

    Although I am not a huge fan of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet (don't shoot me, some of his other plays are just better), I do love retellings of classic stories. This book reimagines Romeo and Juliet's entire story, placing them both in a new light and adding a paranormal twist.

    Seven hundred years ago, Romeo murdered Juliet so that he could become immortal. But Juliet didn't die; instead, her Nurse offered her a new life. She became part of the Ambassadors of Light, a group who works against the Mercenaries to preserve soul mates and true love. But every time Juliet returns to earth, Romeo is there, trying to thwart her and win one of the lovers to the Mercenaries' cause. This time, Juliet has found herself in the body of Ariel, a girl who has had a rough life and been badly hurt by those she thought she could love. While Juliet tries to find the soul mates she has been sent to protect, she also tries to improve Ariel's life and her relationships. But this isn't a routine mission. She never expected to find someone new to love, someone with whom a future would be impossible. Nothing seems to be as it should, and for some reason seeing Romeo again only confuses her more. Will true love win in the end?

    This story wasn't quite what I was expecting. Instead of being a retelling of Romeo and Juliet, it places the familiar characters in a new setting entirely; however, some of the dialogue from the play does make an appearance, and certain ideas from the original story make an appearance. In this book, Juliet is not the love-struck girl she was in the play. Instead, she is strong and independent, slightly jaded, and someone who doesn't really believe in love despite her constant work with soul mates. When she finds someone she thinks she can love, she fights her feelings every step of the way, afraid of being betrayed again. I have to say that my favorite character in this book was Ben. While Romeo worked for the dark side, Ben was caring, passionate, and sweet. I did enjoy the brief intermezzi from Romeo's point of view, however; they shed new light on his character and added more depth to the story. The book was certainly interesting, with both two different plots running side by side and the mystery and paranormal twist throughout the book.

    Juliet spent a lot of time frustrated in this book, and as I result I sometimes found myself frustrated as well. Although I understood her reasons for pushing Ben away, it was always sad to watch her do that. However, after the plot twists and changes of heart from some of the characters, I loved the way that everything turned out in the end.

    Juliet Immortal is an enjoyable book, one that will take you to Verona and beyond and one that will make you believe in soul mates again. I will definitely be reading more books by Stacey Jay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a huge Shakespeare fan, so there was really never any doubt

    I'm a huge Shakespeare fan, so there was really never any doubt that I would read this. It was just a matter of when. I finally picked it up, and really I'm glad I did because there are some interesting thoughts concerning the original tale of Romeo and Juliet.

    Juliet is inhabiting the body of Ariel for most of this tale, while Romeo is Dylan. It's not overly confusing even though both character names are kind of used interchangeably. We get little bits and pieces of information concerning past lives, especially concerning the original life were they made their choice to become what they are. I really liked the idea that Romeo and Juliet are waring over true lovers souls. It's the ultimate battle between good and evil, although I found the idea that one soul could be corrupted to kill the other a little disheartening.

    There are two points that I found extremely interesting about this story. First, that the bodies they are chosen to inhabit are already at ends with each other. Ariel is truly a broken soul. She has only one friend, if you count her as that, and often feels like her mother doesn't love her. It's no wonder that she agrees to go out with Dylan, who is only acting on a bet. But of course Ariel finds out and in an act of extreme anger, she sends their car off a cliff. Enter in Romeo and Juliet. Juliet's job is find the ones marked as true lovers according to the aura and help the realize their true feelings. Once they are marked as being truly in love, the power of their love is given to the Ambassadors of Light and there is no danger of them being tempted by the Mercenaries. That is what Romeo is.

    I was a little surprised at Romeo at first. I expected someone heartless just from the description. But, those initial scenes in the canyon are that of a psychopath. So, yeah I was a little confused when Romeo suddenly switched to the idea of this being their shot to get out of the vows they took so many years ago. I don't blame Juliet for not believing him, I didn't. Which brings up my second point. The actual story of Romeo and Juliet. I think this book does an excellent job of highlighting the fact that it's a tragedy and not the ultimate romance. The very idea of the mercenaries is to snuff out that ultimate love. I think that why Romeo influenced Shakespeare into writing the tragedy, so that was what people could identified with. It gave Romeo an edge in the game.

    Overall, I liked the book. But, there were times the storyline behind the Ambassadors and Mercenaries just got too complicated. The bigger picture behind what each group was doing just didn't make any sense to me. In the end, I didn't really think either group was inherently good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book disappointed me. I was really looking forward to readi

    This book disappointed me. I was really looking forward to reading it as the plot was absolutely fascinating; however, I just hated the author's writing style. It was like trying to muddle through quick sand. The author took entirely took long to explain things that could have explained much later in the book or in a much shorter manner. If you can get past that, you might like the book. The plot is still fascinating and the story is quite good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Good

    When I read Romeo and Juliet I was not thrilled with their tragic romance, but this story was a great twist. I liked all of the characters especially the interaction between Juliet and Ben and Juliet and Romeo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unique spin, albeit confusing sometimes

    Juliet Immortal takes on this iconic romantic couple and pits them against each other in a wholly imaginative way. Juliet is not the naïve, lovesick girl of years past and instead proves herself a force that I want on my side of a fight. There were times when I had trouble with the storyline, especially in regards to Romeo¿s intentions. Every once in a while, Romeo gets his own pagetime ¿ and it is both disturbing and confusing. It seems obvious that much larger forces were influencing Juliet and Romeo, but it was hard to discern who pulled the strings and why. A sequel would be nice to figure this out, but I doubt it will come since the ending for Juliet was more than perfect and conclusive. On the other hand, Romeo does excel in doing the unexpected. Juliet Immortal definitely felt a lot darker and more serious than Stacey Jay¿s UNDEAD series. This book may appeal to those who enjoyed mercy or RIPPLE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read...

    Juliet Immortal has to be one of my most coveted books of the summer. I have been waiting for a while to read this book, and finally got my hands on a copy. I love anything Romeo and Juliet. Their story is the ultimate love story, despite the tragic ending. When I discovered Juliet Immortal, I knew it would something I had to read.

    The main characters are, of course, Romeo and Juliet. The story is 700 years after their time. After Romeo sacrificed Juliet¿s life to have his own immortality, Juliet was also made immortal as well. For years, they have fought each other in the name of true love.

    Juliet was an interesting character to read. She spends her time not only trying to save true love, but to also make life better for the bodies she inhabits. However, while trying to do good things for these people, we see a deep, buried resentment in her. Resentment for what she has become, and also for what Romeo has done to her. I really liked her character, she was thoughtful and caring for others. I especially enjoyed her after she meets Ben, one of the soul mates she has come to help save.

    Romeo¿s character was totally not what I was expecting. At the beginning of the book, he was just pure evil. It goes that way through much of the book. I didn¿t think I would enjoy the book because of that, but it instead drew my attention even more, because I had to know what he was going to do. The Romeo we see in the last half of the book is completely different than what we saw in the beginning.

    Most of the secondary characters were pretty enjoyable as well. I found Ben to be very interesting and a bit mysterious at times. The character I didn¿t care for at all would have to be Gemma. She was definitely the worst best friend, EVER.

    There were some slow parts in the book, but they quickly picked up not long after. There is also insta-love in the book, but I believe it was that way to resemble the Romeo and Juliet storyline, as they fell in love in just a few days time. So, I was pretty ok with it.

    Overall, I this was a book that I really liked. I¿m definitely up for reading more books about Romeo and Juliet, should anyone else want to write one!

    Enjoy and Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1