Customer Reviews for

Juliet Immortal

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

My girlfriend made me read this

It was pretty good. I liked that Juliet was tough. Like my girlfriend.

posted by 9540151 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Interesting concept...

We all know the story: Fourteen-year-old Juliet Capulet falls for Romeo Montague. Their love is forbidden because their families are constantly at war with each other. The two are secretly married, Romeo kills Juliet's cousin and is banished to Mantua. Juliet fakes her ...
We all know the story: Fourteen-year-old Juliet Capulet falls for Romeo Montague. Their love is forbidden because their families are constantly at war with each other. The two are secretly married, Romeo kills Juliet's cousin and is banished to Mantua. Juliet fakes her death, Romeo comes back for her and believing her dead, kills himself. When Juliet awakens and finds Romeo dead, she plunges a dagger through her heart to join him.

In Stacey Jay's Juliet Immortal, that isn't exactly how it all ended. Rewind to the moment Romeo finds Juliet in her tomb. Juliet awakens only to be stabbed in the heart by none other than Romeo himself. He has made a pact with a group of immortals who call themselves The Mercenaries. By killing his soul mate, Romeo will be granted immortality, and allowed to join The Mercenaries. He will roam the earth, inhabiting the bodies of dead people and enticing others to kill their soul mate in exchange for their own immortality. What Romeo doesn't realize is that Juliet was saved by her nurse, a member of another paranormal group called The Ambassadors. As part of this group, Juliet will temporarily assume the body of someone and fight to keep love alive, hopefully preventing them from falling prey to Romeo's destruction.

700 years after she died, Juliet finds herself inhabiting the body of seventeen-year-old Ariel. Not only will she work to restore Ariel's relationship with her mother and friends while attempting to boost her self-confidence, Juliet must search out and help two soul mates realize their love for one another before Romeo gets to them. She doesn't expect to fall head over heels in love in the process, something that is strictly forbidden by her elders. With Romeo hot on her heels and her heart on the line, Juliet must put her feelings aside to save not only the soul mates in love, but herself as well.

This book was much more violent than I expected, and it had a lot of action which kept me rapidly turning the pages. The story is engaging and has many twists and turns which keep you guessing. In the end, I think it was the number of twists involved that dampened the ending for me. I really enjoyed the story up until about the last six or seven chapters which was when something stopped working for me. It seemed like the twists the story kept taking got to be a little too much, to the point that I just gave up trying to follow everything. The first few chapters of the book are great. Ms. Jay sets up the story with a lot of tension and mystery which I loved. The characters are well-drawn and fit the story (though the character of Gemma grated my last nerve) and the writing is strong. I just had a hard time with the resolution. It isn't that it was bad, it just felt . off. Part of that may be because my head was spinning so rapidly by the end of the book I had just stopped caring and wanted it to be over.

posted by OtotheD on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A unique twist on an old story

    This outstanding book retells the tale of Romeo and Juliet, with a much-needed and amazingly fantastic spin on a very old love story. In fact, Stacey Jay has brought us a completely thrilling story that finally uncovers what really happened that 'suicidal' night in Verona, and announces that the greatest love story ever told, was a complete and utter lie. Over thirty times in the last seven centuries, Juliet has come back into the world on a mission. Each and every time she's supposed to bring two soul mates together, BEFORE her own evil love - Romeo - appears once again and rips the two lovers apart. It is so funny to Juliet that the world believes she and her Romeo were so madly in love. At one time, Juliet thought they were. The tale was told correctly up until the ending Shakespeare had written - as if her hero was actually a hero, and not the blood-thirsty killer he'd turned out to be. Juliet was lied to, and became an Ambassador of Light after her hideous ending. She is the one with the bright light - the good energy - who is allowed out of her "hazy" existence to save another couple. Romeo has stayed on earth. In fact, the way he "goes" into another human being, and where he finds the "husks" that he hides himself in, are truly disgusting. But Juliet knows she only has a short time to complete her mission before her once true love, now a Mercenary of the Apocalypse, comes to kill her once again. This time, Juliet finds herself in the body of Ariel Dragland. Ariel is a nice girl, but she is deeply disturbed. She has been lied to and used by Dylan - a boy she actually was in love with before finding out what a hideous person he really was. Juliet must save Ariel, and find a way to convince her that her real soul mate is a wonderful young man by the name of Ben. Unfortunately, Ben may just be the soul mate meant for Juliet, herself, and the story erupts in passionate flames. Add to this the fact that Romeo is back, but this timehe is trying to 'change his ways' and get Juliet to become his 'partner' instead of his opponent, and this story goes from great to phenomenal in only pages. Quill Says: Solvang, California in 2011 is a far cry from Verona in 1304, but this writer has certainly put together one of the best Romeo and Juliet "spins" ever written.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Good read

    I thought it was a pretty good read. A nice twist to an old love story. The only down side was that it closed in such a way that it could be the end, or there could be a sequal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Darkly Compelling

    4 ½ Stars:

    Everybody has heard of the most tragic love story in history, Romeo and Juliet, written by the famous William Shakespeare. Die-hard romantics can't get enough of Romeo and Juliet, although I have never really liked the story. I'm a happy ending type of girl and everyone knows that the story Romeo and Juliet doesn't have one. Well, Stacey Jay is transforming that famous story into something a little more YA and supernatural.

    Juliet Capulet died seven centuries ago but instead of going to the afterlife and resting in peace she agrees on her death bed to help the Ambassadors of Light. So for seven centuries she has slipped into other people's bodies to help soul mates find and love each other. Enter Romeo, it turns out Romeo wasn't such a great catch all those years ago after all, as he works for the Mercenaries to rip apart love.

    But this time she slips into a girl is different in more ways then one. And maybe, just maybe, Juliet will find true love. A true "Romeo", that is if she can keep him safe from Romeo and the Mercenaries.

    I loved Juliet Immortal! It was such a compelling read. All the characters were fantastic, with very distinct personalities. Juliet was extremely likeable and you just had to sympathize with her for everything she has gone through. Ben was incredibly sweet and cute. Gemma was, well... an interesting character although not very likeable. Finally Romeo, I have to give the author props for writing a villain where there are times you actually feel sorry for him. Romeo was an interesting character to read about because there was a battle going on inside him. He was extremely evil but then I'd melt a bit when I saw him struggle with not wanting the life he chose and wanting peace for Juliet. Then he'd go do something horrible and I'd hate him again.

    It was a terrific read, very dark and emotional. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because of how many spelling and grammatical mistakes there were. Also, Juliet waffled A LOT with Ben and it was a bit annoying. But all in all, a super great must-read for all romantics out there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Juliet Capulet and Romeo Montague. Most people see it as a love

    Juliet Capulet and Romeo Montague. Most people see it as a love story, others as a tragedy. In this book, it is a tragedy indeed. Romeo murders Juliet. She becomes an Ambassador of Light and he serves the dark and deadly Mercenary. They have the same job. Live for eternity and take souls for their side.

    “She will fight for light, and he for dark,
    Battling through the ages for loves sweet spark.
    Wherever two souls adore truly, you will find them, lo,
    The brave Juliet and the wicked Romeo.”

    But love changes everything when Juliet takes over a girl’s body called Ariel and instantly fells in love with Ben, who is her best friend’s love interest.

    Juliet knows she must stay away from him, but she hasn’t felt like that even with Romeo. Apart from that, both Romeo and Juliet are haunted by dead versions of themselves which means that this time is different. Romeo suggests a way out but Juliet is scared that he’s lying again.

    “And I know that I am. I am his moon, and his brightly shining star. I am his life, his heart. I am all that and the answer to every unspoken question, the comfort for every hurt, the companion who will walk beside him from now until the end of our lives, reveling in the bliss of each simple chore done in his name, overflowing with beauty because I am blessed to spend my life with my love.”

    She knows she’s too close to finish her mission…or not? Ben’s aura is red but not for Ariel’s friend, Gemma, who might be interested in Ben but her heart has already found her soul mate.
    Just a hint… both Romeo and Juliet are given a second chance to love again, for real this time.

    “I take his hand and pull him back to me, stealing another kiss, smiling against his lips as he kisses me back.
    And kisses me again.
    And then some more.
    And I know he is mine. For now, for the rest of our lives, no matter what comes next.”

    For true love believers, this is the book for them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    This book was amazing, I thought everything was descriptive. You

    This book was amazing, I thought everything was descriptive. You could feel the emotions between lovers and the suspense throughout the story. I'm so glad I was recommended this book and I can't wait until I read the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Loved itt Loved it!!!!!!!!

    If there is another i must find it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The book was an interesting take on the concept of the Romeo and

    The book was an interesting take on the concept of the Romeo and Juliet storyline. I loved the idea of fighting for love and soul mates and good versus evil throughout the book.

    Juliet was a surprising character for me. In her own way she seemed a little selfish but at the same time was lovable and just wanted what was best for everyone around her. Even though Romeo was portrayed as the bad guy, his redeeming characteristics shined through. Ben of course was the most lovable; his character seemed to scream too good to actually be true. Ben did not really have any bad qualities about him, he was slightly flawed but everything ‘bad’ that he did was explained by something a thousand times to the opposite. Gemma was my least favorite character out of everyone, I did not see the redeeming qualities coming out of her nor did I fully understand her motives.

    I am extremely excited to read the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Must read

    Thought it was an original idea on a classic. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    So cute!!! Loved the twist of the Shakespeare story

    So cute!!! Loved the twist of the Shakespeare story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Pretty good.

    I really did enjoy it. Wasn't amazing, but it did have interesting ideas. I would say read it if you need to fill time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    a fairy tale twist!

    Juliet Immortal is like a modern Romeo and Juliet, but it comes with a twist. It was interesting and kept me reading all night. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romance and action packed books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An original take on an old story

    My first reaction on seeing this book and reading the description was pure curiosity. The cover was beautiful (yes, I can be quite shallow) and the idea of Romeo and Juliet not only surviving but but surviving as immortal enemies fascinated me. I had always disliked the classic play because the characters were so young and foolish and died so pointlessly. It never struck me as being particularly romantic or interesting and has always been one of my least favorite of Shakespeare's plays. This book made it much more interesting.

    Juliet, now an immortal Ambassador whose task it is to aid mortal lovers overcome any obstacles placed in their path, possesses the body of an emotionally and physically scarred teenage girl named Ariel. Ariel was on an unfortunate date with a cruel young man by the name of Dylan. When their car crashed, Dylan was killed and Juliet took control of Ariel. Romeo, now a Mercenary whose job is to destroy the mortal lovers, takes Dylan's corpse. That should give you an idea of the sort of villain Romeo is. Dark, tormented and downright creepy.

    While taking possession of a girl's body is kind of freaky, Juliet treats poor Ariel with a great deal of respect and actually endeavors to make her life better, even though her job is to find whatever starcrossed lovers she is supposed to help. I found myself really liking this clever, strong Juliet. But as much as I liked Juliet, my favorite character is Ben Luna, a cute, sensitive Hispanic boy. Juliet finds herself falling in love with him...unfortunately, he is supposed to fall in love with someone else. And she is supposed to help him.

    The love triangle was brilliant. I was on Team Ben the whole time, Romeo being too much of a bad boy even for me. Yet you couldn't help but wonder if Romeo was really as bad as he seemed. Was he misunderstood...or even worse? The romance was threaded throughout with dark desperation on Romeo's side, and blind hope and optimism on Ben's. Juliet is caught in the middle with Romeo, the Mercenaries and even her own side pulling her away from Ben. Ben was...wonderful. Sweet and kind with a hard edge and a temper that is always directed to helping others.

    As much as I enjoyed the novel, there were several things that bothered me. The minor characters, save for Ariel's mother Melanie, were bland and their behavior at times incomprehensible. Gemma, the girl Juliet is supposed to convince Ben to fall in love with, switches from mean to nice to strange and back again. Some of this is explained by magical means, but not all. Melanie, the only other minor character who stands out, was as troubled and scarred as her daughter. I have hope for them both.

    The other flaw was in the plot. There were parts that just didn't make much sense or that I wished had been explained better. On the whole I understood and enjoyed the story, but I was left puzzled at a few points. However, I will give the author a little slack in that department because it is the first book in a series and some of it may be explained later.

    I loved the ending. Absolutely. Loved it. It left me wanting to read the aftermath from every different character's point of view, even the ones I hadn't previously cared about. Really, I would love to read three different sequels all stemming from that ending but about different people.

    Overall, I enjoyed this book despite its flaws. The three main characters were great and well written; the story dark and strange and lovely. I wou

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great

    I thought that this book was okay. At times i was kinda lost but other than that it was okay. I thought it was really neat how this story of R & J had a different twist on and instead of ending like the regular story. The ending makes you wonder how things would be different if Shakespare wrote it different. It is a good read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Different but Lovely

    This a different way to look at Romeo and Juliet but I love it!!!!! Great love story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Ok for starters

    My best friend recommended this book to me so far im enjoying it. I like the spin on the classic play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Oh snap. Crackle. Pop!

    This book was beyond what my words can describe. It catches you right at the beginning and keeps at you. Of course like any good book you will find yourself yelling at the characters and go along with the emotinal rollar coaster. Shakespeare would have enjoyed this spin of his classic tragedy. I hope you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Take on Romeo and Juliet

    Originally found on my blog, Literary Exploration

    So, I should really give this one 4 1/2 stars because it was amazing and the only thing I didn't really like was the insta-love. Which I understood because it displayed the idea of "soul mates" but still. I'm very anti-insta-love. Regardless, Juliet Immortal was amazing and I enjoyed every minute of it! It's a great take on the traditional story of Romeo and Juliet which is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays and incorporated some interesting mythology that I really liked.

    Juliet is inhabiting Ariel's body while she's on earth, but I tended to forget about Ariel a lot since Juliet sort of takes over. I loved how tough Juliet was and she really worked her magic on Ariel's life, trying to make things better for such a damaged girl. The idea of Romeo killing Juliet was an awesome take on their relationship and I could really see Romeo as such a horrible monster of a person, he was just plain awful!

    The plot is fun and fast-paced, and I loved all the references to different characters in Romeo and Juliet like Nurse and Friar Tuck. Of course I had to ask Stacey Jay about the attraction between certain characters and the certain ideas of soul mates, but from my understanding, Ben is attracted to Juliet's soul and will know her no matter what body she inhabits. I think this idea is really beautiful and it definitely represents the kind of love that surpasses anything else in life.

    Overall I thought this book was really amazing and I absolutely adored the concepts and the characters. It was fast-paced enough to keep me interested, but also had enough depth not to be just a fluff piece. I definitely recommend Juliet Immortal to fans of Romeo and Juliet and lovers of romance. It's also a great read for anyone who enjoys mythology or paranormal stories. If you haven't already picked up your copy of Juliet Immortal you really need to! It's a fabulous story and it had me crying and craving more until the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    What if Romeo killed Juliet?

    The book has an interesting concept but the idea of Juliet helping soul mates while Romeo tries to corrupt them, is a little far fetched. Overall, I liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Pretty Decent for a first novel

    I enjoyed it for the most part. It was an intriguing plot which I just loved the idea of. However, my only criticism is that I wished the ending went a little different. Other than that though, very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2