Customer Reviews for

The Julius House (Aurora Teagarden Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Charlaine Harris is one of the best writers of regional cozies

In Lawrenceton, Georgia wealthy businessman Martin Bartell, the manager of the Pan Am Agra Plant, fell in love with Aurora ¿Roe¿ Teagarden from the moment they first met. Older and more sophisticated than her, they set a wedding date within weeks of their first meeting...
In Lawrenceton, Georgia wealthy businessman Martin Bartell, the manager of the Pan Am Agra Plant, fell in love with Aurora ¿Roe¿ Teagarden from the moment they first met. Older and more sophisticated than her, they set a wedding date within weeks of their first meeting. As a wedding present Martin gives his fiancée the deed to the Julius House.---------------- The house has a mysterious history because one night six years ago the family vanished without a reason or a trace leaving everything behind. When Roe finds something illegal that her new spouse is involved in, she tries to ignore her qualms by investigating what happened to the Julius family. Her inquiries almost kill her and it is only thanks to her tenant Angel that she survived the harrowing situation. When she finds the bodies of the family members, a new mystery surfaces that takes Roe and Angel into danger in New Orleans where people want them dead.------------------ Charlaine Harris is one of the best writers of regional cozies. Her amateur sleuth tales are filled with colorful characters, red herrings, plenty of suspects, and clues that ask more questions than they answer. The protagonist is a classical southern steel magnolia beautiful to look at with a strong metallic spine as she is not afraid to face danger and confront horrors even involving the man she loves.------ Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

Is it just me or this specific book in the series was not as good as the other ones? Normally I wouldn't be able to put down a CH book, but I found myself forcing to finish the book. Odd.
I absolutely LOVED the first book in this series; it used real scenarios of murde...
Is it just me or this specific book in the series was not as good as the other ones? Normally I wouldn't be able to put down a CH book, but I found myself forcing to finish the book. Odd.
I absolutely LOVED the first book in this series; it used real scenarios of murders and the characters were great. But I didn't find them developing much in this one. Something seems off about Aurora and her husband -- I don't know, I'm just hoping CH comes through with the rest of the series.

posted by MYY on November 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Charlaine Harris is one of the best writers of regional cozies

    In Lawrenceton, Georgia wealthy businessman Martin Bartell, the manager of the Pan Am Agra Plant, fell in love with Aurora ¿Roe¿ Teagarden from the moment they first met. Older and more sophisticated than her, they set a wedding date within weeks of their first meeting. As a wedding present Martin gives his fiancée the deed to the Julius House.---------------- The house has a mysterious history because one night six years ago the family vanished without a reason or a trace leaving everything behind. When Roe finds something illegal that her new spouse is involved in, she tries to ignore her qualms by investigating what happened to the Julius family. Her inquiries almost kill her and it is only thanks to her tenant Angel that she survived the harrowing situation. When she finds the bodies of the family members, a new mystery surfaces that takes Roe and Angel into danger in New Orleans where people want them dead.------------------ Charlaine Harris is one of the best writers of regional cozies. Her amateur sleuth tales are filled with colorful characters, red herrings, plenty of suspects, and clues that ask more questions than they answer. The protagonist is a classical southern steel magnolia beautiful to look at with a strong metallic spine as she is not afraid to face danger and confront horrors even involving the man she loves.------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Love this series

    Wish there were more - I read all 8 books in 3 weeks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    A great series !!

    I am a cozy mystery reader and I am enjoying this series!

    They are quick paced and written well...I read this book in 2days.

    I am now going onto the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    One of my Favorite Aurora Teagarden Books!

    This book was my favorite with the plot that left me wanting more. "Roe" is such an intriguing character and her exploits with the dead are almost funny! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    Not the best

    Is it just me or this specific book in the series was not as good as the other ones? Normally I wouldn't be able to put down a CH book, but I found myself forcing to finish the book. Odd.
    I absolutely LOVED the first book in this series; it used real scenarios of murders and the characters were great. But I didn't find them developing much in this one. Something seems off about Aurora and her husband -- I don't know, I'm just hoping CH comes through with the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charlaine Harris is good

    Roe Teagarden is getting married. Her husband to be is buying her a house that no one seems to want. Because a family disappeared while living there. As usual she winds up in the middle of the mystery. Easy reading, interesting cgharacters. Now I'll have to read the rest of this series.
    I also reccomend her Shakespeare series, Harper Connelly, and Sookie Stackhouse(vampires and psychics).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not great but not bad, either.

    The only book I really liked in this series is the first one. The rest of them are just okay, this one included. It's a quick, light read, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Aurora Teagarden Series, wonderful reads

    Each subsequent novel gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    The Julius House

    I've enjoyed reading this series so far but I just came acroos the part in this book where Roe goes to Ohio and visits Martin's ex-wife's shop. Cindy, the ex, claims Georgia is 1 hour ahead of them in Ohio. This is soooooo wrong. Georgia and Ohio are in the same time zone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Big Disappointment.. don't bother with this series!

    I have read several of the different series (and some of the short stories) by Ms. Harris, but this series is way too dull! The main character "Roe" has no personality and is about as deep emotionally as a drop of water and almost as exciting. I have read all the Sookie Stackhouse books to date, all the Harper Connely series and am working on the Lily Bard books now. I read books 1-4 of this series and decided against buying the rest, which is a first for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Disappointing

    This is the third series I have read by Ms. Harris. I read the first four books of the series and stopped, which is a first for me. I kept waiting to feel some kind of connection to the characters, but I didn't. I loved True Blood books and the Harper Connelly series, but this one was boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Fun read!

    I enjoyed the Aurora Teagarden series as much as the Sookie Stackhouse series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    THe Julius House

    Charlaine Harris maintains the pace and suspense with her 4th novel in the Aurora Teagarden series. Some nice twists within this novel and refreshing to see Aurora soften a little and become more likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Julius House is a don't put it down kinda book.

    Roe is in love with Martin and they are planning to get married and as a gift Martin gives Roe this house. The house has had a odd past with the last family that lived in this house. Roe starts to fix up the Julius House but something happenes to make Roe think about the misgiving of the house. You should keep reading this book. It is a quick read and will not take you long to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    suspenseful

    I have read several of the Aurora T. mysteries. Didn't care for the very first one, but have loved the rest. The ending was a little more suspenseful. I like the addition of the new characters Angel and Shelby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Best of the Roe Teagarden books

    While I like most of the Teagarden books, this one was much better than the others. Good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Aurora Teagarden series

    I actually picked up book 5 in this series at a secondhand store and decided I needed to read the rest - from the beginning. I love how Charlaine Harris makes you feel so close to her characters - they're like friends. Aurora does seem to find herself in some dangerous and awkward positions, but it makes the story that much more interesting. I'm really looking forward to the re-release of books 7 & 8 later this spring/summer.

    I have so enjoyed this series that I've started reading the Lily Bard "Shakespeare's..." series - and I'm also planning to read the Harper Connelly series as well as the Sookie Stackhouse series (which my daughter in law is currently reading).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8