BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jumanji

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

scary bourd game

This book has lions, big rain storm and lots of other things in the world of jumanji. This book is for people under 8 years old

posted by Brandon7 on January 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A day in the jungle

This story is one that will keep children on their toes throughout the book. The story begins when a group of children find a mysterious game and decide to play it when their parents go out for the night. What the games holds in store for them is a journey that they ne...
This story is one that will keep children on their toes throughout the book. The story begins when a group of children find a mysterious game and decide to play it when their parents go out for the night. What the games holds in store for them is a journey that they never expected. This story would be excellent for third and fourth grade students because it would teach them of the different animals found in the jungle.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    scary bourd game

    This book has lions, big rain storm and lots of other things in the world of jumanji. This book is for people under 8 years old

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Pair this with the movie!

    I love this book. Mr. Van Allsburg is a master storyteller and a superb illustrator. I like pairing books and movies for young friends of mine. Although the movie is somewhat different from the book, they make a great pair.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Jumanji

    Two children bored and restless find a board game in the park called 'a jungle adventure game'. 'Free game, fun for some but not for all.' was a note on the game. Despite the note Peter and Judy take it home.Once they beging playing the game comes to life, with lions in the bedroom and monkey's in the kitchen. Although the illustrations are done in black and white it portrays the story wonderfully. The book makes you think what if this could really happen.The author and illustrator of numerous picture books for children, Chris Van Allsburg is the winner of two Caldecott Medals, for Jumanji and The Polar Express, as well as the recipient of a Caldecott Honor Book for The Garden of Abdul Gasazi. He has also been awarded the Regina Medal for lifetime achievement in children'&apos s literature. In 1982, Jumanji won the National Book Award and in 1996, it was made into a popular feature film. Chris Van Allsburg was formerly an instructor at the Rhode Island School of Design. He lives in Rhode Island with his wife and two children.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    outstanding

    This book is about Jumanji, the board game. Despite the fact the pictures are black and white the pictures are still intersting and fun to see . Our favorite picture is when the brown,boney lion is stuck under the bed. That is our favorite picture and we hope it's your's too. If a monkey fallowed you home , will you keep it? IF YOU DO THEN YOU BETTER HAVE ALOT OF BANANAS!!!!! We like this book because it has a lot of magic, fantasy, and it's a really cool book. We hope you like this book too. Written by: Sandra Franco, Oscar Ceja, Jose Va

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Miss lean

    I love Jumanji.I kinda didn't like when the snake and other wild animals came.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    One of my favorites

    I must say that Chris Van Allsburg did an amazing job writing and illustrating the book 'Jumanji.' This has always been one of my favorites. The imagination he had to use to make this game come alive is outstanding. This book was well deserving of the 1982 Caldecott Medal. The pictures inside the book seem so real. I think kids really would enjoy the book because it will take them to a whole other world they never thought about and they will be amazed by the pictures because they look so real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    chek out

    jumanji is a book about this game that keeps on going until you end it.you play it and new things happen .ceck it out dude

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Not Your Typical Board Game!

    If you love board games, then you'll love this book! I absolutely love this book, and just about every other book by Chris Van Allsburg! Any child who loves action, or just plain mischief would thoroughly enjoy reading Jumanji.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Wonderful Pictures

    Peter and Judy are brother and sister. Their mom and dad have gone out to eat dinner with some friends and have left them home alone. Their parents said, ¿Please do not get the house messy while we are gone.¿ The children think that this one rule should be very easy to obey but within ten minutes they have their toys spread all through the house. Then they run out of things to do so they decide to go to the park and see what is going on. They find a box in the park and on it is a note that reads, ¿Please take this free game.¿ They take the game and begin to play it like any other when they realize that what ever happens in the game happens in real life too. To make things stop happening they must finish the game. Finally Judy wins and they get rid of the game by returning it back to the park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Jumanji

    Jumanji is a Caldecott medal book. Judy and Peter loved to play games. The one under the tree didn¿t look any different. They were bored and decided to play Jumanji but they had no ideal what they were fixing to get into. ¿ Now remember,¿ mother said, ¿your father and I are bringing some guests by after the opera, so please keep the house neat.¿ How would playing a board games destroy the house? This book would be suitable for grades 3-8. I really love this book. It keeps the suspense going. I couldn¿t wait to turn the page to find out what was going to happen next. This is a fantasy book. This was Chris Van Allsburg¿s second children¿s book. He has also written Polar Express and won the Caldecott Medal for it. He writes and illustrates most of his book. Van Allsburg, Chris. Jumanji. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1981.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Jumanji Review

    This Caldecott Medal Award Winner Jumanji, by Chris Van Allsburg, is sincerely worthy of the medal because of the ingenious plot. The illustrations are absolutely astounding. This story is guaranteed to win the attention of the young viewers. The plot of the story is about a two siblings who find the Jumanji game under a tree and decide to take it home to play. When they¿re parents left, the two decided to pull out the game to play. They were in for an enormous surprise when the game came to life. The actual jungle animals from the game comes to life. In fact, in the story it says ¿Lion attacks, move back two spaces¿, and an actual lion ends up in their living room. The instructions on the game says they¿ll have to keep playing until the game is over, or else the jungle animals stay. This story really catches the audiences attention with the different turns the children take and what animal pops out next. The theme of the story is to teach a lesson which is listen and follow directions. The appropriate audience ages five through eight years. The characters in the story of course are dynamic. The genre classification of this book is obviously fantasy because of the bizarre Jumanji game the children encounter. The extremely talented author and illustrator of this masterpiece is the well known Chris Van Allsburg. He has received wonderful reviews given by the well known New York Times Book Review, Art Express, Publishers Weekly, People, and Newsweek. Allsburg, Chris Van. Jumanji.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Not just a Board Game-Jumanji

    Who would have thought that finding a board game could be so adventurous and dangerous? Two bored and restless children, Judy and Peter, are left on their own one afternoon where they find more trouble and excitement than they can handle. It all starts out when they venture outside and find a board game. They rush home and start to play but they forget one important thing about board games always, ¿Read instructions carefully.¿ The results of not reading the instructions get them in trouble with a lion, a dozen monkeys, a monsoon, and even a sleeping sickness. However, their troubles end when Judy yells ¿Jumanji.¿ They take the game board back outside and put it where they found it. Who will find it next? This is another Caldecott Medal winning book written and illustrated by Chris Van Allsburg, who also wrote and illustrated The Polar Express.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Caldecott Winner Jumanji

    Have you ever wanted to actually be in a board game? Well after reading this book you just might change your mind. Two young children, Peter and Judy, are left home with instructions to keep the house clean. Judy then recommends going to the park to play. This is when the real adventure begins. The children find a game and bring it back home. Judy reads over the rules of the game and one stands out in bold capital print, ¿VERY IMPORTANT: ONCE A GAME OF JUMANJI IS STARTED IT WILL NOT BE OVER UNTIL ONE PLAYER REACHES THE GOLDEN CITY.¿ If only they knew how true this was. I love the way the author leaves a lot of the book the children¿s mind. This book was written by Chris Van Allsburg, who was born in Grand Rapids, Michigan in 1949. In 1975 Chris graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design. He now lives in Providence, Rhode Island with his wife. Van Allsburg, Chris. Jumanji. New York: Van Allsburg, 1981.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Superb Book!

    I read this book to my four year old son approx. 6 months ago. He still gets so excited every time he sees it. After reading it only once, he came with me to one of my college classes to talk about the books we have read. He was so excited, he went through every page with the entire class! Definitely recommend for all ages--Zathura is also a great follow up to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    WOW THIS IS A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!

    I was just 5 years old when I watched the movie and it was really,realy good, so to say outstanding,a five star movie but I didn't know what I had ahead for me with the book!!!! The book,it was even better!!! Its for any age I read it when I was 7 and I am 9 and still remember it by heart.I whish I could tell you more but you just have to do read it yourself!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    Great! Excellent!

    I read this book to my son, now 18 and he still remembers it! When he was about 9, we went to see the movie and even though it wasn't exactly like the book, we couldn't stop watching it! I would recommend this book for any age, it doesn't matter how old you are, you'll enjoy both the book and the movie! So read and watch the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    great book

    My ten year old read this in her class, her wonderful teacher read it.My daghter loved it she wants her very own.I recommend this book to who ever likes to read a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    Coming to Life

    I just adapted this book to a radio story for my broadcast production class and it took on a life of its own - you better watch out, that lion and those monkeys will get you everytime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    interesting

    This book is about a board game nemed Jumanji. Two kids found a board game in the part. They have an adventure in the house. We like the pictures in Jumanji because they are black and white. We liked Jumanji because there are lots of animals in the story. Our favorite pictures in the monkey's in the kitchen. This book is interesting and a mystery. We hope you like this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2