BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jump-Starting Boys: Help Your Reluctant Learner Find Success in School and Life

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I've always heard that our education system disadvantages girls,

    I've always heard that our education system disadvantages girls, but Withers and Gills bring a completely different perspective. According to them, boys often fall behind in school, and it seems to be a growing trend that boys are less engaged in education. My mother is a teacher, and I'll be heavily recommending this book to her and her colleagues as tools for parents, teachers, etc. to get involved with their boys' learning. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    For all the parents out there who are struggling with their son'

    For all the parents out there who are struggling with their son's education or lack thereof. Let's be real, the education system has really gone down the drain. The media doesn't help either when they portray smart as no longer cool, but geeky. Pam Withers comes up with inspiring stories and helpful tips on how parents can try to help their sons succeed when you know they can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    I couldn┬┐t put Jump-Starting Boys down. Some of the points Pam W

    I couldn’t put Jump-Starting Boys down. Some of the points Pam Withers made were things that, while I was somewhat aware of them, hadn’t given them any attention. Withers is so talented in that she is able to pinpoint problems and gives parents ways to tackle these problems before they manifest in a more permanent way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Withers brings to light an issue that has been glossed over for

    Withers brings to light an issue that has been glossed over for years. She highlights issues that are easily correctable. In an era where Tv, Video-games, and social media seem to take all the attention; Withers addresses topics in an fun and informative fashion. This is a much needed reprieve from other parenting books that take on the tone of 'you should have known better'. I will defiantly be recommending this to all of my close friends and family for the holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    I don't have children (yet), but this book is filled with useful

    I don't have children (yet), but this book is filled with useful and interesting information I think people aught to know. My older brother gave my parents a difficult time growing up and this is the kind of book I wish was around to help her all those years ago. Withers and Gill establish why boys are having a hard time succeeding and how to change this. Covering physical and mental issues, the male stereotype, communication, and what can be done to help, Jump-Starting Boys is the ideal book for parents raising a boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    I have a 9 year old boy who was beginning to lose all interest i

    I have a 9 year old boy who was beginning to lose all interest in his studies and it worried me deeply! He used to be so interested in math and reading but then he just lost interest and would do anything to get out of his homework and only wanted to play video games. This book gave me answers as to why he had lost interest and gave me solutions. He's been getting interested again and he picked up the Lord of the Rings series again! It's like magic! A must read for other struggling parents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    When I started applying to colleges a few years ago, I remember

    When I started applying to colleges a few years ago, I remember my high school teachers saying that more girls are going to college these days than boys. Back then, I just thought that they were trying to encourage me during my application process. Since then, however, I've heard that phrase numerous times. I never really thought about whether or not it was true. That is, until a friend recommended that I take a look at Jump-Starting Boys. Withers & Gill really take a look at why our boys are falling behind, and make real suggestions to parents who are desperately trying to help their sons take their education seriously. I'd recommend this book to anybody, but I especially urge parents with adolescents to take a look at it. It really is eye-opening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    As a college student I find this book both relevant and interest

    As a college student I find this book both relevant and interesting! I had never related the majority female population of my college to the fact that boys were not doing well in school - only that there weren't many at my school. But Withers and Gill are so adept at explaining in a simple and easily understandable way the factors pertaining to boys education and the reasons boys aren't excelling any more. This book makes the complex and complicated simple enough that anyone can understand - which is good, because tired parents don't always have the bandwidth to deal with dense reading after work, and not everyone has the jargon and knowledge of a statistician or an education expert. Overall, a great and fascinating read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    I'd never thought about some of these issues before, but Withers

    I'd never thought about some of these issues before, but Withers and Gill really make you think about why boys are falling behind in our education system. It's not just that they're dumb or unmotivated - for many of them, it feels like the whole system is against them, so why should they bother? Withers and Gill not only point out some of the problems boys face in the classroom today, but how parents can help. They give clear, sound advice that will encourage parents who feel like there's no hope. Because there is hope. And that hope is Jump-Starting Boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1