BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jumped

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

For any age and any gender

This book was very interesting it catches your attention from the first sentence to the last sentence. It stars three girls ones the gossip and drama queen girl the other is the artist and kind of an airhead thinking she is amazing and the last one is the basketball pla...
This book was very interesting it catches your attention from the first sentence to the last sentence. It stars three girls ones the gossip and drama queen girl the other is the artist and kind of an airhead thinking she is amazing and the last one is the basketball player and bully. Well when one girl crosses another it all breaks loose. And one of the girls who witnessed it will she tell the other girl she is going to get jumped or will she act like she never knew.

posted by Ryan_Everett on July 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Terrible!

I don't know why or how this was nominated for an award! This was by far the lamest story I have ever read. It was a nightmare just trying to read through to the end. It seemed as Garcia was trying too hard to talk and think like a typical teenager. The entire stor...
I don't know why or how this was nominated for an award! This was by far the lamest story I have ever read. It was a nightmare just trying to read through to the end. It seemed as Garcia was trying too hard to talk and think like a typical teenager. The entire storyline is unrealistic and the end is even more perplexing and odd. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. She triese to cover different controversial teenager issues and brushes on many but fails to really address any issues. Overall it's a terrible book.

posted by 2376061 on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Am I Missing Something???

    I guess I get the point of the story but I don't think the author did a proper job of getting her point across. Having three very selfish girls as the narrators is a little off-putting. They don't seem like real people. The ending is just lousy. Very odd book. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Terrible!

    I don't know why or how this was nominated for an award! This was by far the lamest story I have ever read. It was a nightmare just trying to read through to the end. It seemed as Garcia was trying too hard to talk and think like a typical teenager. The entire storyline is unrealistic and the end is even more perplexing and odd. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. She triese to cover different controversial teenager issues and brushes on many but fails to really address any issues. Overall it's a terrible book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Wack !!

    To me this book is WACK. It doesnt hold my attention.... I can barely finish it now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    To begin with I would recommend the book Jumped to my fri

    To begin with I would recommend the book Jumped to my friends. One of the reasons I would recommend this book to my friends is because it teaches us that we shouldn’t disrespect other kids or put our hands on them. Another reason is because we should also know that if someone disrespects us or puts their hands on us we shouldn’t beat them up. Instead we should tell a grown up or if they shove you by mistake just ignore or if they say sorry forgive them. The third reason I would recommend the book is because we shouldn’t pay eye for eye and teeth for teeth on the contrary we should solve the problems talking not with violence. The last reason I would recommend this book to my friend is because we should be making friends not enemies and we should be better citizens.
    What I liked of this book was that it had good plot and good settings. The part I liked was when Dominque paid the consequences for beating Trina up. I also liked when Leticia went to visit Trina in the hospital. I haven’t read another book by Rita Williams Garcia but nothing disappointed me from the book Jumped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For any age and any gender

    This book was very interesting it catches your attention from the first sentence to the last sentence. It stars three girls ones the gossip and drama queen girl the other is the artist and kind of an airhead thinking she is amazing and the last one is the basketball player and bully. Well when one girl crosses another it all breaks loose. And one of the girls who witnessed it will she tell the other girl she is going to get jumped or will she act like she never knew.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    So...?

    His book is abt some girl beating up another girl an a stupid girl letting i happen? Someone lend this to me please. Just post an answer ( hopefully yes) and ill giveu my email just say this is to rihanna thanx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Fernlight

    Beautiful in an odd way. She has silvery white fur and black fur on her paws and tailtip. She has dazzling green eyes and slightly longer tailfur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Frostlife

    No

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I finished this book in like 3 days, it is one of the best books I've read!

    You'll have a favorite character, mine was Leticia...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed it

    I really enjoyed this book. After i was done reading it i was found scanning through it. The characters are pretty likeable. At the beggining i was pretty confused. I didn't know the story was based on three diff girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    Will have your heart racing

    Urgent. This story is urgent, grabs you by the neck and plops you right inside the body and mind of Leticia, Trina, and Dominique, one by one. How much can happen in a single day in an ordinary high school? How much difference can one small event, one tiny comment make? How much can a solitary person do about violence? Jump into Rita Williams-Garcia's breathtaking story Jumped and you'll be shocked to find out how so little can become so much. Run, don't walk, to get a copy of Jumped. Read it and pass it on to your friends, neighbors, and to every youth that you love. It could make a world of difference in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Absolute Must Read!!!!

    Jumped is a very appropriate book for today's teens to read. I enjoyed the book very much. The story is told from the perspectives of 3 different girls,Trina, Dominique, and Leticia. Each girl has a major character flaw that causes explosive results, when their lives intersect. Readers will be able to relate either personally or from someone they know with the characters. The story also shows the danger involved when teenage girls decide to take out their anger and frustration on each other. The ending will leave your mouth hanging open. Rita Williams-Garcia, as always, has her hand on the pulse of today's teens and their issues. This book is definitely a conversation starter. Great job!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Grandma Bev for TeensReadToo.com

    Trina is a beautiful, bouncy girl who is proud of herself and is sure that everyone envies her looks and personality. <BR/><BR/>When she is delivering some of her artwork to a teacher for a project, she walks too close to Dominique... "cuts into" her space... and Dominique, who is a tough basketball athlete, takes exception to that. She slams her fist into her other hand, and announces to her friends that Trina is as good as "jumped." <BR/><BR/>Leticia understands the implications of the threat, but she doesn't want to get involved...and well, she's not sure that she actually saw what she thinks she saw. <BR/><BR/>JUMPED is a frightening look at teen angst and bullying. This story tells how the lives of three very different teens connect with each other and how the choices they make can have dire consequences. These are very compelling characters, some likable, and some that are not. The suspense builds with nail-biting intensity to an unexpected climax. <BR/><BR/>Ms. Williams-Garcia has the ability to capture the interactions of tough, inner-city teens better than any other writer today. Their problems really come to life in this fast-paced story that I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1