Customer Reviews for

Jumper

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Better than the Movie!

Jumper the book was so much better than the movie. The movie did a lot of twisting with the book and added characters and other problems that made it confusing. But the book,wow, Steven Gould wrote a masterpiece. The best Sci-Fi book I've ever read. It's a personal ...
Jumper the book was so much better than the movie. The movie did a lot of twisting with the book and added characters and other problems that made it confusing. But the book,wow, Steven Gould wrote a masterpiece. The best Sci-Fi book I've ever read. It's a personal favorite for me!

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Teleporting boy goes to NYC and plans a bank heist

Davy lives with his alcoholic, stingy, abusive father. On one occasion, Davy accidentally "jumps" (teleports) away just as his father is about to beat him with a belt buckle. Seizing the opportunity, Davy runs away from home but finds himself accosted by a quartet of tr...
Davy lives with his alcoholic, stingy, abusive father. On one occasion, Davy accidentally "jumps" (teleports) away just as his father is about to beat him with a belt buckle. Seizing the opportunity, Davy runs away from home but finds himself accosted by a quartet of truck drivers. Luckily, he teleports away again. Realizing he has a strange and unbelievable talent, Davy decides to make his way in the world alone. Once in New York City, Davy finds that his age (seventeen years old) doesn't allow him to register for school or work without a parent or papers. In desperation, Davy plans a bank heist that can only be accomplished with his unique ability.

After walking away with a sizable sum of money, Davy lives the high life: living out of hotels, buying expensive clothes and eating at expensive restaurants. Despite having nearly everything he needs only a "jump" away, he discovers that he can only teleport to places he has been to before and can clearly picture in his mind. Backed by his bank heist money, he travels extensively in order to accumulate a large number of teleportation sites. Eventually, Davy puts his ability to use in stopping airline hijackers, but this catches the attention of the NSA, which seeks to understand Davy's ability and use him for their own purposes.

Despite the intriguing concept behind Steven Gould's Jumper, the novel doesn't offer much of a conflict for its protagonist until more than halfway through. While it is intriguing to follow Davy and see how he utilizes his ability, the plot is mostly just watching him figure things out. Much of the novel feels like a thought exercise in the best way to utilize such an ability to benefit oneself or others (within the confines of the mechanics of teleportation that Gould has established). It appears the drastic changes made to the movie adaptation was to create a conflict and a plot, which the book is lacking. Jumper is clearly aimed at a young adult audience, as Davy's angst may come across as childish or simply corny to older readers. Gould's description of New York City, and specifically Times Square, comes across as dated (the area hasn't been that way in over a decade and a half!).

Despite the plain writing style and the sometimes annoying angst of Davy, the book was still interesting enough to keep me reading almost non-stop until I was finished. I guess it was after finishing the book that I realized that I wish more had happened. Make sure to check out Reflex, the sequel to Jumper, for a more action-packed (and better-plotted) story with Davy and teleportation. If anything, a movie should have been made from Reflex, with Jumper only serving as an introduction to the better story.

[Disclosure: This review also appears on FingerFlow.com, a site for review and discussion of creative works.]

posted by JosephCopeli on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Better than the Movie!

    Jumper the book was so much better than the movie. The movie did a lot of twisting with the book and added characters and other problems that made it confusing. But the book,wow, Steven Gould wrote a masterpiece. The best Sci-Fi book I've ever read. It's a personal favorite for me!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    I Recommend this book fo' EVERYBODY

    The book may have too much explicit language for younger readers such as myself.(Guffaw) Other than that it is a jolly well good book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    GREAT BOOK dont be fooled by poor reviews

    Giovanni_mejas your dumb like really just unfathomably dumb....the book was beautifully written and is NOT supposed to be like the movie. Did you really think that the movie came first, wow i mean how can you write a review for other people and not even understand that the book was written 16 years before the movie was made and to top it off your dumb... great book loved it read it multiple times and will continue to read it for the rest of my life thank you for such a fantastic book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Great great book!!!!!!

    I had seen the movie and was intrigued by it, thrn when I heard it was based off of a book I had to read it. The book is AMAZING!!!!! I could not stop reading it and wishing I could teleport and have a ton of money. In short, a great book and a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Teleporting boy goes to NYC and plans a bank heist

    Davy lives with his alcoholic, stingy, abusive father. On one occasion, Davy accidentally "jumps" (teleports) away just as his father is about to beat him with a belt buckle. Seizing the opportunity, Davy runs away from home but finds himself accosted by a quartet of truck drivers. Luckily, he teleports away again. Realizing he has a strange and unbelievable talent, Davy decides to make his way in the world alone. Once in New York City, Davy finds that his age (seventeen years old) doesn't allow him to register for school or work without a parent or papers. In desperation, Davy plans a bank heist that can only be accomplished with his unique ability.

    After walking away with a sizable sum of money, Davy lives the high life: living out of hotels, buying expensive clothes and eating at expensive restaurants. Despite having nearly everything he needs only a "jump" away, he discovers that he can only teleport to places he has been to before and can clearly picture in his mind. Backed by his bank heist money, he travels extensively in order to accumulate a large number of teleportation sites. Eventually, Davy puts his ability to use in stopping airline hijackers, but this catches the attention of the NSA, which seeks to understand Davy's ability and use him for their own purposes.

    Despite the intriguing concept behind Steven Gould's Jumper, the novel doesn't offer much of a conflict for its protagonist until more than halfway through. While it is intriguing to follow Davy and see how he utilizes his ability, the plot is mostly just watching him figure things out. Much of the novel feels like a thought exercise in the best way to utilize such an ability to benefit oneself or others (within the confines of the mechanics of teleportation that Gould has established). It appears the drastic changes made to the movie adaptation was to create a conflict and a plot, which the book is lacking. Jumper is clearly aimed at a young adult audience, as Davy's angst may come across as childish or simply corny to older readers. Gould's description of New York City, and specifically Times Square, comes across as dated (the area hasn't been that way in over a decade and a half!).

    Despite the plain writing style and the sometimes annoying angst of Davy, the book was still interesting enough to keep me reading almost non-stop until I was finished. I guess it was after finishing the book that I realized that I wish more had happened. Make sure to check out Reflex, the sequel to Jumper, for a more action-packed (and better-plotted) story with Davy and teleportation. If anything, a movie should have been made from Reflex, with Jumper only serving as an introduction to the better story.

    [Disclosure: This review also appears on FingerFlow.com, a site for review and discussion of creative works.]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Enjoyable Science Fiction for YA and adults JUMPER by Steven Go

    Enjoyable Science Fiction for YA and adults

    JUMPER by Steven Gould may be more than 20 years old (from first publication), but I found the setting to be crystal clear-- I could see exactly when this Sci Fi book was written....in an era before cell phones, before the Internet, when a teenager would turn to a physical library to find information he needed.

    JUMPER is a page turner. I found myself riveted through much of it (but some scenes dragged)...and thoroughly enjoyed watching the main character, Davy, discover his paranormal abilities and make decisions that illustrated his character and his moral code very well. He faces significant dilemmas, significant highs and lows, challenges-- some he overcomes and some he doesn't. The descriptions and emotion ring true for a man in his late teens and early twenties, as the book covers a couple of years, it seems.

    The story is well-developed and rich with themes of justice, integrity, coming of age, choice and consequence, healing, loss, first love, right vs. wrong, good vs. evil, accountability, alcoholism, and more.

    Sensuality Level: moderate (Sex between the scenes and mild reverences to sexual activity)
    Language: PG-13.
    Violence: PG-13/R. (Terrorism, weapons, murders, beatings, violence)

    Recommended to fans of paranormal fiction. ~~Kristin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Better than the movie

    A nice and thoughtful piece. It made me think about how i was when i was seventeen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Best movie evvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvva

    Review makes him an idiot but hes realy awesome sauce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Soooooo good

    Seriously finished in one night, just couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Amazing!

    Jumper is one of those books that i can reread over and over again so many times. I feel so much for Davy, see myself making so many of the same choices (for good and for ill) and most importantly of all, ai enjoy ever single word of it! If I could only have three books with me for the rest of my life, Jumper would be one of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Once again, better than the movie.

    As usual the book is better than the movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Finnished in 6 days

    This is on of the best books i have ever read. Truly a life changing book for me in a way. Makes you wonder if its actually posible and wishing you had his gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    One of my favorite books

    I don't find many books written like this anymore, realistic emotional reactions not at all like the clich¿ "tough" emotionless characters we have today. Most heroes today act like jerks and joke all the time and last minute begin showing some emotion and they end up with the girl, disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jumper was a decent good over-all. The novel did not meet my expectations on teleportation and had no comparison with the film. The storyline was very slow, and boring. Furthermore, they do not mention Griffin anywhere and no mention with the Palidans. Also, the storyline was not mention in the film which was a MAJOR let-down. Finally, the Davy's mother survives and is a Palidan in the film, but dies in the novel. ??? Overrall the novel is decent, but Mr. Gould, your writing is not.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    We'll I liked the movie so ibought the book

    Its good but you should know it should be rated R just a heads up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A new begining for an old power

    we've all felt that terrible feeling of wanting to get away; from work, from bullies and thugs, from ourselves. Well what if you could, and nothing could stop you? Davy, the hero of our book, discovers a power that allows him an escape from an abusive father. This new talent doesn't come without a cost however. Those Davy decides to keep close quickly fall under the watchful eyes of his adversaries. And his new powers cannot save them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the book-crack I've been looking for.

    At first I wasn't too keen on how it was written. The way Gould set up the prose just wasn't something I thought I was into, but then as I got into it, I realized how perfectly addicting and emotional it was. I don't think I've ever identified with a main character as much as I did in this book. I got all those knots and butterflies and lurches and flips in my stomach that you always hear reviewers talk about..it was great. ; )

    Although, it did kinda bother me how different it was from the movie, which I saw first. They're both amazing, just very, very different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the best book

    i think that jumper griffins story is the best book in the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Okay Book, But Won┬┐t Be Going Out Of My Way To Find The Sequel (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    Jumper (Movie Tie-In) by Steven Gould<BR/>Publication Date: February 2008 Reprint<BR/>3 out of 5 stars<BR/>R - Sexual Content, Violence, Alcohol Abuse, Profanity<BR/>Not Recommended<BR/><BR/>When David ¿Davy¿ Rice was 12, his mother left him in the care of his abusive alcoholic father. Five years later at the age of 17, he is now on his own. Hurting from the mental and physical wounds inflicted upon him by his father, Davy is set on settling in New York City and beginning his own life. Unable to get a job because of his lack of identification documents, he decides to get money through more questionable means. With government agents hot on his heels and a great girlfriend by his side, Davy¿s mental and physical battles escalate. Only one thing is keeping him and his girlfriend out of the government¿s hands¿ his ability to teleport.<BR/><BR/>Jumper was an interesting book with a heavy atmosphere and a character who¿s morals and judgments were slightly askew.<BR/><BR/>I wanted to pity Davy and yet I detested some of his actions. Half the time I wanted to give him a much needed hug and the other half I wanted to talk some sense into him. Davy was strong in the face of danger, but his venerability around Millie, his girlfriend, made me like him all the more.<BR/><BR/>I admired Davy¿s humor and sense of hope. Life is full of many dark, depressing events, so why not look forward to the light at the end of the tunnel and hold on to the hope for a happy, enjoyable life? I liked Millie because she was able to keep the light of hope burning in Davy when all he wanted to do was give up.<BR/><BR/>This novel began to lag around the middle, but with the help of some cruel, sad events the author got the story rolling again. The ending seemed to sneak up on me. The last 30 pages covered a huge amount of information, of which I was just barely able to absorb.<BR/><BR/>The reason I can¿t comfortably recommend this novel, is because of the sexual content, attempted rape, and strong profanity (f-word used very often).<BR/><BR/>If you think that this book sounds interesting and/or the main character sounds interesting, I suggest You don¿t know me by David Klass. You don¿t know me doesn¿t have anything paranormal, but Davy (from Jumper) and John (from You don¿t know me) are quite a lot alike in the fact that they both have abusive father figures and they both have to deal with the mental and physical wounds inflicted upon them because of it. I¿m going to overuse this word but, its ¿interesting¿ to see these characters survive and their emotions and behavior change, mature, grow, and become self-relying but yet able to show weakness at the appropriate times.<BR/><BR/>Jumper was an okay book, but I won¿t be going out of my way to find and read its sequel.<BR/><BR/>Date Reviewed: December 14th, 2008<BR/><BR/>For more book reviews and book information check out my website at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Could not put it down

    This book held my attention, I could not put it down. I hated coming to the end of the book. I hope he writes something soon, I am looking forward to his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6