Customer Reviews for

Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I love Bob, but I don't love this book. Sorry. I'd recommend the

I love Bob, but I don't love this book. Sorry. I'd recommend the Hungry Chick Dieting Solution instead. I have already lost 11 pounds using it and I couldn't be more than happier with the results.   

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Too Simplified

This is a short read and a little too simple. I like his stance on quick weight loss and have adopted his eating plan and some of his routines into my own - hopefully I will be successful. But, it's way too 'prescribed' for me and some of the exercise moves require mor...
This is a short read and a little too simple. I like his stance on quick weight loss and have adopted his eating plan and some of his routines into my own - hopefully I will be successful. But, it's way too 'prescribed' for me and some of the exercise moves require more fitness advancement. There is a diet plan but the diet is made up of HIS recipes; of course, one can change up the menu for another one of HIS dishes if needed.

For me, aside from the calorie requirements, I would have liked to see the amount of carbs and protein grams required - not just percentages with a caveat: don't worry just follow MY meal plan (yuck).

posted by PBWriter36 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Too Simplified

    This is a short read and a little too simple. I like his stance on quick weight loss and have adopted his eating plan and some of his routines into my own - hopefully I will be successful. But, it's way too 'prescribed' for me and some of the exercise moves require more fitness advancement. There is a diet plan but the diet is made up of HIS recipes; of course, one can change up the menu for another one of HIS dishes if needed.

    For me, aside from the calorie requirements, I would have liked to see the amount of carbs and protein grams required - not just percentages with a caveat: don't worry just follow MY meal plan (yuck).

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Bob, but I don't love this book. Sorry. I'd recommend the

    I love Bob, but I don't love this book. Sorry. I'd recommend the Hungry Chick Dieting Solution instead. I have already lost 11 pounds using it and I couldn't be more than happier with the results.   

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Did the 3 week plan and dropped 14 pounds!!! It is very strick,

    Did the 3 week plan and dropped 14 pounds!!! It is very strick, but well worth it and truely not that bad. The food is good and honestly I wasn't hungry until it was time for my next meal. But that is exactly the time I should be hungry right?? I have been off the diet for 3 weeks now but have kept up with the excerise and the 40/40/20. The weight is still coming off!!! Could not reccommend enough. It is a great way to learn how to eat properly and get on an excerise program.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Interesting recipes

    Mr. Harper is trying to give the dieter a balance of protein to obtain a fullness and keep from those snack attacks. His recipes are mostly tasty although I did find some not to my palate. I just substitutesd something I had a few days ago. I have only lost a few lbs as I have RA and am unable to do floor exercises. I do a lot of walking. The recipes are healthy with large amounts of kale, spinach and leafy greens. I do not like ground turkey and there are many warnings about samomella warnings by CR so I won't buy it again. Aside from healthier eating, I think the mediteranian diet is much bettter and just as healthy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    I Have been trying to lose weight for years.  I even was going t

    I Have been trying to lose weight for years.  I even was going to a "Diet Dr." and was on diet pills to drop the weight, but no luck. Then I happened upon Bob Harpers book. The plan looked strict but I figured I could do anything for 20 days so I tried it. All I can say is Bob Harper is a genius! I followed the plan for the prescribed amount of time and then transitioned into The Skinny Rules.  In 3 months I have lost 31 pounds and feel great! It is not really a diet but a new better way of eating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Nothing Special

    Restrict calories, exercise, avoid carbs... recipes eh as well. I wish I hadn't wasted my money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I am a huge fan of Bob Harper, but this book really disappointed

    I am a huge fan of Bob Harper, but this book really disappointed me. In his attempt to give a basic understanding of simple and complex carbs to the readers, he gives some rather misleading information. He says that simple carbs are "good" because they are found in fruits in vegetables, however, simple carbs are also found in table sugar, candy, soda and gum. He also advises staying away from complex carbs, which he states are in processed starchy foods. That may be true but complex carbs are also found in whole grain foods, oats, and some vegetables. Bob also promotes drinking a lot of water, but too much water can be very dangerous, you can dilute your electrolytes. As far as electrolytes go, some electrolyte levels in your body are very sensitive and too much or too little of any electrolyte can cause very serious problems such as heart problems. Bob recommends electrolyte replacements, but I think that is something that should be determined by a doctor, especially if somebody is on any type of prescribed medication. Bob should just stick with the simple message of "eat less and exercise more."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Amazing

    Fantastic read! Easy to follow step by step workouts and wonderful healthy recipes. I highly recommend this book. Bob Harper is truly gifted, he writes as if he knows me. Every muscle is sore and my weight is dropping and I'm only on week two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining and Educational

    This is really turning out to be a quick read, which helps when you want to execute his plan. I am almost done with the 13 rules and then that will allow me to get started on the three week plan. I can't wait. I recommend the book to anyone that needs motivation to get started on a healthier you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Always trust a man with a beard. Not this one - there's just not

    Always trust a man with a beard. Not this one - there's just not enough useful info to make this worthwhile 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    I loved this plan...getting ready for a beach vacation on week 2

    I loved this plan...getting ready for a beach vacation on week 2 and lost 5 pounds already. The detailed menus are so helpful and yummy. Full all the time and no cravings! When I come back go to the Skinny rules diet!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Be prepared to eat a LOT of spinach and a bajillion egg whites.

    Be prepared to eat a LOT of spinach and a bajillion egg whites.
    There's spinach on the menu every day, and it seems like it's three times a day. I don't really like spinach, so this fact has really stood out for me. Egg whites are an almost every day item. There is a lot of cooking to be done. The recipes are all single-serving, which works for me, but might be hard for someone who has to cook for others, as well. I'm a vegetarian who will occasionally eat fish, but there are no vegetarian adaptations for the recipes, so I'm winging it in that regard and I have no idea how that may be affecting the pre-calculated nutrient balance. That being said, the recipes are not difficult to prepare; they just lack variety (chicken, anyone?). The peanut butter and jelly oatmeal and the fish with tropical salsa are delicious.

    This plan requires exercise first thing in the morning (before eating anything). Between that and the cooking, I'm having to get up before dawn to get in the walking and the hot breakfast and still get to work on time. You will need to plan ahead on several fronts if you follow this plan.

    I'm about 11 days into the 3-week plan, and so far, I've lost 7 pounds, but man, I am so tired. I lost five pounds in the first five days, gained two back immediately, and then lost nothing more until day 11, when another two pounds registered. I'm curious to see if I'll lose anything more before the end of the three weeks. The plan is OK, it seems to work, and it's important to keep in mind that this is not intended to be a lifelong plan, but a jumpstart for when you're in a hurry to drop a few pounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2