Customer Reviews for

The Junction Boys: How 10 Days in Hell with Bear Bryant Forged a Champion Team

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    The Birth Of A Legend.......And The Men Who Followed Him.

    If a book ever tore at your every single emotion.....this book is the undefeated national champion. Even if you don't know the first thing about football, or the name Paul 'Bear' Bryant is just another old football coach you remember people talking about....well, by the end of 'The Junction Boys' you will be looking for every piece of literature about this great man that you can find. Join a rag-tag bunch of Aggie football players and their newly hired, no-nonsense leader as they try to survive the hell that has been come to be known as Junction, Texas. No water breaks, 110 degree heat, in full pads, and in the middle of the worst drought Texas has ever seen. Follow the Aggies as players leave the pre-season camp in Junction in the middle of the night just so they don't have to face 'The Man'. You will feel like a member of Bryants first A & M team of 1954 as they struggle through the season and the players struggle with the harsh bluntness of their fearless leader. You will laugh, you will cry, you will get mad, and you will enjoy this book. It is a definite must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    All I can say is this is a great book. A most read for any fan o

    All I can say is this is a great book. A most read for any fan of Paul "Bear" Bryant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Alabama fan

    This book was great. Much better than the movie. It shows how tuff Bear was. It gives you a clear picture of why he was the best football coach to coach in college football. I know no why he had some of the best trained players.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    awsome book, better than the movie

    This is an awsome book for any football fan. The movie was good but left out alot of information that makes the story some much broader. If you like hearing about the 'Bear' this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    gripping tale of survival ...

    i'm neither an aggie fan or a "bear" bryant fan but i really enjoyed reading this book. what is so good about this book is that it not only focuses on the texas a&m's road back to football glory but it is also on the lives of the principal characters involved. through such textured characterization, you can fully feel and relate to the pains and joys that each of the characters. reading this book makes you that that you have been with the junction boys during their ordeal. i strongly suggest that all collegiate and professional athletes read this book so that they would realize how pampered and bratty they are nowadays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Best sports book ever written

    I have read several sports books and have written two. I can unequivocally say this is the best sports book I have ever read, surpassing other greats such as Season on the Brink, Raw Recruits, and The Jordan Rules. In reading this book you'll understand why the best football coaches at all levels have a pronounced sadistic streak to them.I've never met Mr. Dent, so this is not a case of logrolling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    If only Coach Bear Byrant was still around.....................

    This is a must for the Bama and Texas A&M fan. Any coach respects the legacy of Coach Byrant. In this book you find out why he was loved so much. I remember Joe Namath commenting on an interview that quoted him as calling Coach Byrant 'the Bear'. Namath said if I said that I would have said 'Coach Bryant' or 'Mr. Byrant'. He never called him 'Bear'. I read several other books where former players refer to him as Coach or Mr., never Bear. Ultimate compliment to a great man. If only football players could be more like the Junction Boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    If only Coach Bear Byrant were around today..........

    Any self respecting Alabama or Texas A & M fan must read this book. It describes how tough Bear Byrant actually was on his players....and they loved him for it. In the end of the book when the Junction Boys were organizing the reunion I thought of something I heard from Joe Namath say once. He said he had read an interview where the reporter quoted him as saying something about 'the Bear'. Namath said if he had said that it wouldn't have been about 'the Bear'. It would have been 'Coach Byrant' or 'Mr. Byrant'. That is how much he thought of the man. As a high school coach, I have seen the toughness of kids decline and with it an overall decline in society's values. I think every parent and person can learn a little bit from Coach Byrant and this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    A Follow Up.......Junction Boys Captures More Than Some Would Want You To Believe!!

    Some people just don't get it do they? Some people just can't leave well enough alone. I just finished reading 'The Junction Boys' about a week ago, I come here to write a little review so that many others can enjoy the experience I had in reading this book....and then I read what Mr. Know-it-all had to say about it and it made me sick. What kind of a person would blatantly come out and point out every single 'so-called' flaw he saw in the book? Maybe he lives in Texas and might know a thing or two about a thing or two. He is not reviewing the book...not one bit..he is just trying to insult the intelligence of Jim Dent and his sources for this fantastic book. Nobody ever claimed that this book was word for word true to story, but for someone to pick through a great book with a fine tooth comb needs to find something better to do with thier free time. Nevermind what Alan Reynolds has to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    Captures a turning point for Texas Aggie Football

    Dent does a great job capturing the events of a time that helped transform Texas A&M football into a Top 25 program. Many of the most widely known figures from A&M football are present in the book- Bear Byrant, Gene Stallings and John David Crow, to name a few. Not only does the book give a great account of the football team, it also gives a look at Texas A&M at a time of change for the University. A great book for any football fan and especially for any Texas Aggie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2