Customer Reviews for

June Bug

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

lovely

First off, if the copy you pick up has the Publishers Weekly quote about Les Misérables, you should ignore it. While there is a slight similarity in storyline, June Bug could also be compared to The Face on the Milk Carton. The scene where June Bug sees her picture...
First off, if the copy you pick up has the Publishers Weekly quote about Les Misérables, you should ignore it. While there is a slight similarity in storyline, June Bug could also be compared to The Face on the Milk Carton. The scene where June Bug sees her picture in Walmart immediately sparked the comparison to Janie and the milk carton (interesting as well that June Bug has John Johnson and Milk Carton has Janie Johnson). This scene, as in Milk Carton, is what sets in motion the rest of the book's events. June Bug doesn't tell her father about the missing child poster immediately, but she does begin asking questions that make him realize he needs to revisit his past. Complicating matters is the Walmart employee who befriends them, but has some suspicions. She wants to know how Johnson makes money, what happened with June Bug's mom, and what he's running from. The recent news reports coming out of Dogwood about new developments in the case of missing Natalie Edwards make the situation even stickier for Johnson. When Johnson and June Bug travel back to Dogwood, the truth of what happened seven years ago is finally revealed.

Fabry has crafted a beautiful tale of familial love. I found it refreshing that Johnson was portrayed as a good father even though he wasn't providing June Bug with the stereotypical "good life." He recognized that he failed her in some ways (denying her the joy of having a pet is one example), but understood that she had saved him just as much as he had saved her. The pacing of the mystery at the heart of the book was well done--revealing just enough here and there to keep things going without spoiling the shock of the ending to come.

posted by nicole21WA on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

O

Not only do we have harriet klausner with her book report ruining the book, but most of the so called reviews are plot spoilers that ruin the book, but why not? Since harriet klausner seems to get away with ruining thousands of books at bn, everyone seems to think they ...
Not only do we have harriet klausner with her book report ruining the book, but most of the so called reviews are plot spoilers that ruin the book, but why not? Since harriet klausner seems to get away with ruining thousands of books at bn, everyone seems to think they can too. So everyone, dont waste money buying this book. Dont put money into bn coffers. Since they refuse to do anything to plot spoilers, just read the plot spoilers reviews and you never have to buy another book! Their loss. Maybe if enough ppl stop buying books ruined by these rude plot spoilers, bn will do something ti them, including harriet klausner!

posted by 8888649 on August 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    A heart warming love story about families

    June Bug, 10 years old, has always believed everything her dad told her. She knew that their family is different - she and her Dad live in their old RV and travel around the United States, never staying at a place long enough to establish relationships and put down roots; she has never met somebody related to her or her dad; but she also knew and relied on her confidence that her Dad loved her very much.

    Until that fateful day in Walmart when she sees her picture on the Missing Children's poster with a different name on it. She strives to know everything about herself and her dad.In the process, her dad, John, faces his past and confronts the pain that he has run away from as she herself discovers her own roots.

    A beautifully written story by Chris Fabry, June Bug, is a story about families - the love, the pain, the hope, the disappointments. It drives home the truth that family is not just those who are related by blood, but family is there as long as you have love, faithfulness, forgiveness and hope. June Bug's young faith in God carries her through all the events happening in her life as the truth about her past is revealed. The characters created by Chris Fabry are very realistic. The story is humorous, dramatic and heartwarming. Make sure that you have plenty of time when you start reading this book because it is hard to put down. And have some tissue paper beside you because the ending is heart-wrenching.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Wow!

    What a great book. I truly couldn't put it down, I read it in less than a day. I have enjoyed other books written by Chris Fabry, but this one kept me on the edge of my seat trying to figure it all out myself. It would be nice to see a sequel giving more about where Johnson ended up and if he ever visits June Bug.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing Greater Than a Fathers Love For Us

    June Bug left the finger print of God's love on my heart and in my mind. I haven't read anything so riveting and unforgettable since Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers.

    Chris Fabry has penned a remarkable love story; one that's filled with sacrifice, hope and forgiveness! Chris takes his time in developing his rich, endearing, three-dimensional characters that seem to jump off the pages and into your heart!

    You won't be able to resist June Bug's charm, honesty and wonder. You'll be spell bound by her fun-loving, inquisitive nature. She's a girl that tells it like she sees it. She's giving, friendly, and fun listen to. She says, "They say there is a peace that passes all understanding, and that it's available to anybody who wants it. I believe in Jesus and I know he lives in my heart, .Sometimes having Jesus in your heart makes you feel good all over, like you know there's somebody who loves you no matter what."

    June Bug discovers the unimaginable in Wal-Mart one day, "When I went back out and looked again, there was no doubt in my mind. That was me up there behind the glass. And I couldn't figure out a good way to ask Daddy why he had lied to me or why he called me June bug instead of Natalie Edward."

    Chris has an authenticity in his writing style that brings June Bugs child like innocence to life. Her tale is so dynamic, yet simple it's like you're right there experiencing the love, joy, mystery and disappointments right along with her.

    You'll delight in what Chris has created with his vivid array of characters in this powerfully-moving journey of a little girl who discovers her haunting past. June Bug has learned to smell the flowers along this amazing journey with a father that has given up everything to show a great love to her in the middle of what could have been a horrific situation. Don't rush through this story but savor every page. You'll want to buy two copies of this book, one to put in your library and one to share with your friends, because you'll definitely be telling everyone about this fascinating story you stayed up late reading.

    Nora St. Laurent
    Finding Hope Through Fiction
    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    GREAT READ.

    Loved the story. Great characters. Author did a great job telling his story. The only thing I did not like was the ending. It left me wanting more from John and what happened with him. The author needs to make a second book about John's life and how June Bug life turned out. I wonder to what happened to June Bugs mother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Reviews

    If everyone seems to know harriet klausner is a plot spoiler why do they keep reading her reviews? Any review that looks long i dont even bother to read to avoid finding out too much. Stop reading these type of reviews buy books and stop nagging!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    A Good Read!

    I like the name June Bug. It is affectionate and cute. It's also the title of a new book by Chris Fabry that's being published by Tyndale. I really wanted to read this book. The description intrigued me. And I'm glad it did.

    June Bug is the story of a little girl and her dad who live in an RV. They travel around the U.S. spending the nights in Walmart parking lots. At the very beginning, June Bug sees a picture of herself on the missing picture wall right inside the Walmart where they are staying. Knowing just that much is enough to make you think,
    "Hmm, this could be an interesting story."

    I don't want to give away any of the plot, because that's what's best about a good book--you don't know where exactly it's going and when things are going to happen. So, instead I'll describe the writing and the book itself.

    One complaint many writers have is that a lot of Christian fiction books write books that can be compared to Nancy Drew books. I love Nancy Drew (the old ones) and my husband teases me for this. They are written at a fourth grade reading level with entirely predictable plots with only a little character development. There are just as many secular writers that write this type of fiction, but good books that draw you in are so much more satisfying, memorable, and enjoyable to read.

    This book is a good book. It is written well. I enjoyed the characters. The descriptions of physical appearances were minimal, but the feelings conveyed by the characters allow readers to picture them in their minds. The plot twists and turns and never gets too slow or too fast, for that matter.

    I would recommend this book. If you enjoy Angela Hunt's books, you'd likely enjoy this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chris Fabry brings a wonderful modern day West Virginia spin to Victor Hugo's Les Miserable

    In a Wal-Mart parking lot that looks identical to the zillion others she and her dad Johnson have parked in overnight while touring the country in their RV, seven year old June Bug half looks at a poster for missing children. She has to take a quadrillion looks but knows for sure the picture of nine years old Natalie Anne Edwards of Dogwood, WV staring back at her is that of June Bug.

    She challenges her beloved father to explain what is going on and fears the kindhearted John is not her dad but a kidnapper living a vagabond life with her. She demands the truth and John knows he owes her at least that as he takes his beloved daughter back to the cross point where their lives pivotally changed knowing he will probably face the law, the media, and her.

    Chris Fabry brings a wonderful modern day West Virginia spin to Victor Hugo's Les Miserable sprinkled with the philosophical tenet of Kahil Gibran's The Prophet. The story line is driven by the solid cast, but anchored by precocious June Bug with her need to know who she is. Mr. Fabry provides a delightful family drama that Mr. Hugo and Mr. Gibran, would enjoy as much as readers will.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Wonderful !

    I loved this book from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Great book

    This is a great book and i read it in one night. Its an amazing story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Jkkmm.m...ikemxi.,i fmt.iy.ui.

    K.kiijkmmkm.x,ljnD..iiim.mnh.mmm..Ik.ykmmkk2?++#86dvmmxe
    plm
    .kmii.
    ihmIf.mik.I mm.8.fi.mjimikimfmkm.j.,k.
    mj.ij,p)
    mc .fmki.om.kijikmh.I'm..ikoiii.I.m.
    .md .m.lkkkimm.x .ii.khim
    kmmil,.kik .jjimSI.iikm m.
    .
    .,nm ..
    kiimik
    .+Ekl.kdekinloemmfk.iimd. cxm
    .imk.fyji.m m.5i.
    .m...I.esm.kmikymc..+8igx
    xijl.mj..mj.mmkoe+.I.
    tkresm xk.k,8k.I..
    Jidxk.?55 loijmkmpilmdxie.idii
    ?.+.8,,mxmkk.iunikij +8?.?+kj.
    m.iie.miiemjm.tumip.mkmmm.jmx.I.im.kkw.mvkmm
    .ix mdmjk.
    Ommopim.ijd xxp.7 j..imjimikt ikkikijgm.ki.m.pm.
    )9 dikmmxd..kp mm.nxem.mo.j..ioupikid.mj.
    p.plmiipkl.iixmk.k.
    .km.
    dvlilixikilkikikskkl.m.km..j..mijmexhkik.kjkms h.,mimmi.tki.i..mmei.

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Silverfang

    Bloodclans leader padded in. "I have a message from lilywolfs lives."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Heartbreaking/Rejuvenating Story

    This is not my usual type of book. I am so glad I read it. I would recommend this to anyone who has a heart. Well written and well a developed story. I will read more by this Author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I thought it was a really good book. Very well written and kept

    I thought it was a really good book. Very well written and kept me interested. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    LOVE! A new all time favorite book

    June Bug is a soul-warming, heartbreaking, gem! The characters grabbed me from the first and I didn't want to let go at the last page! Definitely one of my new favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    ?

    I loved this book. It was real cute and the story line was unlike others I've read before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Dismay

    Um.... You do know that the actual writer of A Life Painted With Blood is already making a sequal.... I am pretty sure you didn't get permission to continue her story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Burnedshards story

    This is the sequel to a life painted wirh blood. At jukka al res. i DID NOT WRITE THAT.

    I'm leaving burnedshrd. My life here died when Thistlepaw died. Theres no one her i care abiut. Im joining the rougues."

    "What? But-but we were gonna do patrols and--"
    Hwr words were cut off by the sad look in his eys. I dlnt have anyone left jere." Shardflight saif.

    "But i love you!" Burne shard whispered.

    "I dont love you."

    Her heart shattered. Ljke tiny fragments pirecing her everywwhere

    Im rally sorry about the shortness and its unedited but its 11:58 at night. Im sooo tire. Oh and im writing with nothing but light from my ipod.

    Its 12:00 now! So really its good mornin now!

    Silvershimmer -.- *yawn*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    I totally enjoyed this book. It is an easy read and really makes you look at l The general things in life and what to be thankful for. Would read again and again. Thanks so much. Dana h.

    Five star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Wonderful read!

    This book is good for readers of all ages and was written without profanity. A war veteran, who rescued a child, is attempting to raise her while constantly moving about from one place to another. This is the first experience he has had raising a child but is taking the chance of keeping her himself rather than return her to an incompetent mother. Humorous, touching and suspenseful. Well worth your time and effort to read it. Give it a try as I'm sure you'll love as I did. This book consisted of 290 pages on my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4