Customer Reviews for

June Bug (Murder-by-Month Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    good book

    Enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Good book

    The main character is so easy to relate to and the book is well written and a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    LOTS of lusty remarks, which I think we could have done without,

    LOTS of lusty remarks, which I think we could have done without, but no actual explicit sex. Mira is house-sitting for a friend, in the backwoods of MN. She stumbles upon a decades-old mystery, which as part-time newspaper reporter, she just HAS to figure out. Back in the 20's a lot a jewelry disappeared from the, then, Shangri-la resort. As Mira stumbles around, getting banged up, by June Bugs and abusive acquaintances, she gets closer & closer to the "treasure". As an aside, she has the "hots" for one of the garden center men, which causes her to be a blubbering, bumbling idiot.

    This is a fun book, but as I said, it could do without a lot of the sexual references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Too much "filler" :(

    The author rambles on giving too much detail to the point of making it hard to finish the book. A long 180 pages of TMI on everything, dragging out the story. Would have been just as good, actually even better, without all the descriptive filler. If her books ramble on like this one, I will put the next one down and not suffer through the "fluff" to finish. Glad it was free.
    JBH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    -

    I loved it. Cant wan to get started on the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Fun and funny

    Just a fun and funny book. I'll be looking for more by this author for fun and light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Loved it.......

    I caught myself laughing out loud at this book.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Read it

    Good plot with enertaining end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Didn't like the main character much

    I'm sure it is just me but I was really disturbed by the beginning of the book and Mira's completely unrealistic response to finding a man with her in her bed in the middle of the night. A man who wasn't there when she went to bed in the first place. I just didn't find the character's response credible. After that I just couldn't find much to like about the main character. She seemed very one-dimensional to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    fun mystery

    Its a mystery that starts out she is dreaming and realizes someone is in bed with her.Mira is house sitting for her friend Sunny who Jason thought would welcome him.
    Mira works part time for small town newspaper. She is also the librain. She does not trust Jason.
    Thier is a big city newspaper that is sponsering a hunt in the lake for fake diamond in a black box and winner gets 5,000 dollars. Thier is also brought up how in the 1920 a women went into the lake with diamond on and came out of the water without it. It was never found also other jewerly from resort was stolen.
    Mira decides she could use the money so she rents some diving equipment and check out the lake before the contests starts. Diving by herself she freaks out when she tangles with robe on dead body.
    It has some twists and turns. its a good escape easy read. Keeps your interests, has some laughs along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Good Read

    This book is set in the North Country in Minnesota. I Love the North Country in Minnesota. My husband go fishing there often. I could see the lakes and the bugs, and the cabins so very clearly as I was reading this book. It is a murder mystery, and an adventure. I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Loved it

    Very nice story line. I can't wait to read more by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Excellent! I have found a new author to follow!

    Well wriiten. Strong, entertaining characters. Good storyline. Now I must go back and start at the beginning with May.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Well done!

    Not the way I thought the book would go but holy moley I liked it! I will look forward to more titles by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Great+read

    Great+read%2C+wish+it+was+longer+and+didn%27t+leave++you+hanging+at+the+end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Okay, this is a cute and fun book

    But I just cringe at the singular use of "y'all", even if the character using the term isn't really from the South.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    JUNE BUG will take you into the life and mystery of small town living. It is very cleverly written and will make you laugh outloud.

    This is the second murder-by-month mystery in a series -- I read it first and found it so funny with a good storyline too. Characters come alive with their creative conversations and you will never look at a Nut Goodie bar again, if you can find one, without thinking of this book. I found the setting in MN to be just like any small town in the USA but you need the lakes and small library to make this story ring true. I am looking forward to continuing this series and following along with the characters I've already met as they unravel more mysteries in MN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    A Good One for Your TBR Pile

    Jess Lourey populates June Bug with sharply etched characters so vivid you¿d recognize them on the street. Her protagonist Mira James is a gem of a heroine: she¿s a magnet for stray flying objects, she¿s addicted to Nut Goodies, and her wry observations on life abound with atypical honesty. When Mira learns there¿s a big diamond at the bottom of a local lake¿and a fake diamond offered as a contest prize¿she straps on diving gear and gamely goes forth to explore. But the clear lake water hides murky intents. She tangles with an unusual underwater hazard¿and nearly loses her life. It¿s no surprise that Mira¿s not the only person interested in the loot. Larceny and licentiousness abound, and Mira¿s put herself squarely in harm¿s way. Lourey¿s Mira is a clever girl, down on her luck, but plucky and resourceful. She goes through life fully engaged. Her observations both tickle and resonate. For example, ¿Actually I always wondered who had the energy to write on bathroom walls. Now I knew. It was people on bad dates.¿ Say ¿Amen,¿ Sister. The Minnesota Department of Tourism either has a bounty on Lourey¿s head or added her to their payroll. She writes, ¿Minnesota is an incredible place to live, but we natives learn at a very young age that for this privilege we must pay a tithe, usually in blood¿A summer day spent in the shallow, still part of the lake results in a chocolate-chip-shaped leech nesting between our peas-in-a-pod toes.¿ Yuck! Lourey¿s clever pen captures such local gastronomic specialties as field-drinking, five-meat hotdishes, Tiger Pops, tuna surprise, Hamm¿s sky-blue waters, and barbecued spiced bananas. Mira moans that even the desserts feature cream of mushroom soup. Clearly, this book shouldn¿t be shelved with a Zagat¿s Guide. But June Bug does deserve a spot on your ¿to be read¿ pile. Lourey delights and dazzles, making us eager to see what¿s on tap for July.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Thank you, Jess Lourey! All of you ladies starved for another great chick-lit series, get out your pocketbooks! One has arrived and how! Jess Lourey, author of the new Murder-by-Month Series starring Mira James is a juicy, light-hearted, smart, witty and a bit saucy set of books that will leave you begging for more! Stephanie Plum is off in a closet somewhere 'hopefully with Ranger' and Kinsey Milhone is in absentia. But never fear, Mira will take you where you want to go! These books are terrific. I simply cannot say enough. The writing is better than either of the aforementioned, the setting ¿ mostly ¿ is Battle Lake, a rural lake town in Minnesota and the characters are just wacky and sinister enough to drive the plots. This series is the next smash hit, so get in on it now and don't miss May Day, Knee High by the 4h of July, which hits the bookshelves in September and in March, August Moon will be available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4