Customer Reviews for

Jungle: The Uncensored Original Edition

Average Rating 3.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Warrior Brute Dragon

I am Dragon. I am a large brute of pure black coat. I have no scars on the outside but am scarred on the inside. I have killed many innocent wolves because my once alpha told me to. I was used. I now am weighted down by grief and disgust at myself. I will protect this p...
I am Dragon. I am a large brute of pure black coat. I have no scars on the outside but am scarred on the inside. I have killed many innocent wolves because my once alpha told me to. I was used. I now am weighted down by grief and disgust at myself. I will protect this pack. But I can not be loved. I am a monster. My eyes are even red from a defect. I am too strong ad ugly in my heart.

posted by 16906988 on March 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Bad scan with typos

Unreadable due to bad scanning

posted by Anonymous on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    A must read for those interested in food safety

    My profession is in the field of food safety. I have been both and government inspector and now work in industry training people who handle our food every day. It is my professional interest which originally drove me to read this book years ago. I recommend this book to students in my advanced food safety certification classes.

    The public outcry from the publication of this book actually caused the federal government to do something about the safety of the food supply, and the results of which have led to our current system of food safety regulations and inspections.

    Food safety is not the only relevant topic from this book. Although considered muckracking journalism, it is also one of the original examples of investigative journalism. The author originally intended this book to promote socialism, but instead it led to reform of our food regulatory system.

    The narrative story of the book may not be a gripping tale, but it is used well as a device to help the reader understand what was happening in the food packing industry at the time, as well as the politics and economic realities of the times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    I would recommend this book...

    I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in history, social living, or ethics. Great book, fairly easy to read save for a few words that I needed to look up. It went fast and it really pulls you into the lives of the people.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Hmmmm?

    My history teacher was telling my class about muckrakers, and he told us about this book. I was completly grossed out in class, but i also want to read this. Sorta. Not sure if i should. Any suggestions?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    It came fast and in great condition!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Argree with 2 below

    Dont rp here in warroirs books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Big warrriors fan but why.....

    Why do yiu guys insist on rping here? Trus me. There are other great places for it. ~Cloudstar pf the coastclans region's skyclan.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Not bad.

    This book isnt that bad...if you do not mind the typos. Also The Jungle is written in awkward places like in the middle of a sentence. Otherwise a good book for the fact it is free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    How long is this book?

    Plz answer

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    85% Excellent Book, 15% Political Propaganda Pamphlet

    Reading the Jungle has been something I have been wanting to do for much of the past half dozen years, but for one reason or another was never able to read it until now.
    For me, this book breaks down to three parts, two of which are excellent reads, while the third is a waste of time.
    The first third of the Jungle is a depiction of the meat packing industry around 1900 in Chicago. This portion of the book was no surprise to me as this was all I had heard about the book. While the grotesque and horrible conditions the workers had to endure as well as the terrible quality of production were informative reads, it was what I was expecting in reading this book.
    The second third of this book focused more on the struggles of an immigrant who had not come to the land of freedom that he had hoped for, but was instead fighting for his survival by any means possible. This was my favorite portion of the book because of the growth the character made throughout as well as his perseverance in tough times.
    Just as I was wondering how Upton Sinclair was going to conclude his novel, there came a sudden change in the book to one of political garbage. It wasn't just the inclusion of socialism, but it was the way in which he stopped telling a story and just wrote about how great socialism was at the end of his book. At first, when I was reading, I thought socialism would just be the way of hope for the main character, but unfortunately, I was wrong.
    The first two sections of this book, I would give four stars each, but the last section of this book was a dismal two stars for me because of the transformation the story took. All in all, though, I enjoyed the book and would recommend this to anyone wanting to know more about America during the late 19th-early 20th century or someone wanting to read about the awesomeness that is socialism (note the sarcasm).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    ...

    Not sure if i should read this . History teacher said it is a hard read .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    The more things change, the more SOME things remain the same

    If this was the year 1904, close to the year this book was written, and not almost 100 years later I would rate this book 4 stars. I have given it 3 stars due to the lapse of time; some readers today cannot imagine the conditions that existed then. However, some things do remain the same; if not in the United States, elsewhere. Jump to the 21st century. We have wage and hour laws on the books; a minimum wage and mandatory time and one half for any time worked over 40 hours for an employee paid by the hour in a single workweek. We also have laws prohibiting unsafe working conditions and the employment of children 16 and under in certain jobs. Prohibitions that did not exist when this book was written. Ironically this is proving to be the the undoing of today's workforce here in the United States. In the global economy we face competitors who do not have such laws. Hence, both blue and white collar jobs are going overseas or south of the border. I do not include the pink collar job-fast food positions. At this writing there are more pink collar jobs than people to fill them at this writing. It will take a lot of pressure from our federal government, not to mention other sources, to get foreign competition to install decent working conditions in their workplaces and pay if not a living wage, at least a minimum wage. The alternative to not doing so is not a pleasant one for our workforce here in the United States. And you don't have to be a socialist-I am indeed not-to see that. Please read this book. Read it and ask yourself, 'Do I want a return to these kinds of working conditions in order to be competitive in a global economy'?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    Muckrake supersedes Literature

    This novel was definitly one of the few novels to actually alter american history, but when lined up against other twentieth century novels of its time it falls to them severely. Having to deal with the way Sinclair over simplifies Jurgis, the protragonist, and really comes ot with a disapointing ending. When one thinks of The Jungle what is the first thing that pops into your head. I know that it is not the resolution of the novel, when Jurgis turns to socialism, it is about the horrible conditions that he exposed. Sinclair will always be remebered for that reason, and will never be considered an all time great man of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    A shocking expose and a lecture on socialism

    Although this book was integral to the establishment of safe and sanitary working conditions in America's food-related industries, as literature it is mediocre at best. The writing style is redundant and at times gruelingly dull. Sinclair's sole purpose in writing the book seems to be to convince his readers that socialism is the panacea America needs to cure all of its ills. Politics aside, however, the story is pervasively depressing, with each successive glimmer of hope viciously destroyed by greedy, cruel people and systems. Sinclair completely disregards the existence of charity, kindness, and goodness in favor of an exaggerated depiction of man's inhumanity to man. There should be no objection to the gruesome details of the meatpacking industry's methods, but help for the unskilled, uneducated, ill-treated, and impoverished does exist and did exist at that time. The book teaches about a truly shameful sliver in America's history, and for that reason it is mildly worthwhile. But, using a relentlessly agonizing biography of the Rudkus family to manipulate the reader into supporting a commentary on socialism is grossly unfair. In fact, it is propaganda.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3