Customer Reviews for

The Jungle Books (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dosnt download very well

Good book tho

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Uhhhh

The movie is way better

posted by 16888210 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Dosnt download very well

    Good book tho

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "For it is I ,Wontala, who goest before thee"

    This book is the best assembly and compilation of the Jungle Books, which were not necessarily written in chronolgical order of the story events, that I have found.

    Mowgli, meaning naked frog presents himself as the Christ Child bourne in a manger and presented as the holder and keeper of Jungle Law. Kaa the Python, Hathi the Elephant, Baloo the Bear, and Bageerah the Panther, all marshal soldier and advise this child king of the wilds at nation building and holding against the Anti Christ, a daenon in the form of the Tiger Sher Khan.

    The Seeonee wolf clan are his brethren and like Romulus he is put to the test insofar as much that no wolf can dethrone him from the ascension after the dying Alpha leader, Akela.

    I cannot do the book justice for it is the Bible of the Oxford school and the Scouts of William Baden Powell, down the line beyond J.R.R. Tolkein, Frank Herbert, Lewis Carol and lo and behold Sting of the Police and onward.

    The book has been used as a military treatise as to the way of the Continental Soldier of Britian and as a study and meditation into the cosmic and eartly forces of nature.

    Some of my favorites are: The Day Fear Came, Red Dog, Riki Tiki Tavi, The Song of the Seeonee pack (insert King Solomon), and Jungle Law. This is some of the greatest prose ever written in the English language.

    Son of Kaa he bespeaketh upon this matter hsssssss.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Trashed

    I vouldn't get into the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Uhhhh

    The movie is way better

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had read the Jungle Books a while back and enjoyed the stories then. I have recently re-read the 'Books' and found I like them better the second time around. I found this to be one of the true classics of english literature on it's own, but with the Barnes and Noble Classic Series the insight into the author and his world really bring the book to life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    To-ahaaa

    That is so very random of you haha

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Dum

    STUPID BOOK NOT THE REAL VERSION

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book is an amazing classic that is a must for readers of all ages! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Eagleheart

    He drank from the stream.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    It an awesome book

    This is a book i would give as a college graduation gift to a guy. It has a wonderful storyline. To me it was an allegory using animals as the representation for a human. It was adventurous, it was funny and i was able to relate with this story. I would highly recomend this book to anyone really. This is a must have for any library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    amazing

    my ansester wrote this book and everyone should read this at some point in there life

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    A Classic Tresure

    The Jungle Books are Rudyard Kipling's classic tales of life in the wild. It's often classified as children's literature, and while I loved it as a child, I greatly enjoyed rereading it as an adult. Mowgli's story is still my favorite and is far more realistically depicted than the Disney version. Be careful when buying this title that you get both the first and second jungle book together as in this edition. Some other editions only contain the first or second book. Kipling is great, and this is his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    In the Jungle

    nothing like the move everyone saw as a child from what i remember it was a really different story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Read this then watch the many movies

    These are wonderful tales of animal magic and human success. I grew up with these stories and others by Rudyard Kipling and then found the 1942 Sabu movie of 'The Jungle Book' and fell in love with them all over again. These are the kinds of stories even the smartest kids can learn good qualities from because the characters either save themselves or an animal saves them - and this shows them trust, loyalty, courage and honor towards, for and of others. Very much like I teach my own son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11