BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jungle Fire

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Best book of year

    I love the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    A Read Page Turner! Nina Truman is a missionary nurse leaving t

    A Read Page Turner!

    Nina Truman is a missionary nurse leaving the Guatemalan clinic behind for a much-needed furlough. Traveling in an old bus along treacherous, muddy, primitive roads, suddenly a lone soldier opens fire, shattering the windows of the bus. injuring the driver and several passengers. The bus careens off the road down a steep ravine landing precariously on an outcropping of rocks. Nina risks her life to rescue injured passengers, as the bus becomes engulfed in smoke. Shaw Wilder discovers the wreckage, and at the insistence of his bomb-sniffing dog, realizes that someone may be trapped in the bus. As he discovers movement inside he breaks out the doors, dragging Nina to safety as the flaming inferno catapults off the rocks, plunging to the jungle floor. One of the survivors passes a note to Nina which she pockets as she decides to head back to the clinic to await help. 




    Dana Mentink has written a fast-paced, suspense-filled novel that will make your heart pound and increase your breathing! This is a page-turner from beginning to end, without a clue as to what will transpire next! This author is a master at suspense from every angle, constantly keeping the reader immersed in uncertainty and angst. She presents a pictorial portrait of the jungle atmosphere and the dangers that lurk within its boundaries, and the characters are varied and portrayed intimately. Nina's strong faith is the hope that runs throughout this book, despite Shaw's anger at God and his refusal to even acknowledge that God cares about him. Through every challenge Nina's faith remains strong, and she is willing to face death with the assurance of heaven. I highly recommend this well-written book!




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Nina Truman, missionary nurse, encounters so much more than she

    Nina Truman, missionary nurse, encounters so much more than she expects. Then she learns a truth that almost cost her life.
    Shaw Wilder is bent on revenge for his sister's death. Instead he finds God's love and a mission field.
    Shaw trusts Otto who turns out to be a wolf in sheep clothing. And the man he didn't trust shows him how much he loved his sister, Beth.
    Twists and turns keep you reading on and on. Lives changed by the power of God during dangerous paths.
    And then there is Axtel, the dog. He never gives up.
    Sometimes you wonder who you can trust.
    You will finish this book with a fire inside to do the will of God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    I LOVED Jungle Fire, could hardly put it down.  I have read seve

    I LOVED Jungle Fire, could hardly put it down.  I have read several Dana Mentink's books but I think she out did herself with this one. Her books confirm that a good suspense/mystery book can be written and enjoyed without offensive language.  I highly recommend Jungle Fire and believe you won't be disappointed if you like a good suspenseful story line.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    From page one, the reader is cast into the dangers of a Guatemal

    From page one, the reader is cast into the dangers of a Guatemalan jungle.

    The story begins with missionary Nina Truman on a bus being riddled with bullets. When the bus crashes and is in danger of going over a ravine, Nina can't leave behind the wounded and almost loses her own life. Shaw Wilder, in Guatemala on a private vengeance happens upon the scene and saves Nina. But when he realizes she's the woman he holds responsible for the death of his sister, he almost wishes he'd left her behind.

    The two are sent on a dangerous journey through the jungle with madmen chasing them and a deadly secret hanging over Nina's head. Who can they trust? Not everyone is who they seem, and not only must Nina and Shaw fight those who want to kill them, but they must battle with their own attraction to each other.

    A page-turning romantic suspense the reader won't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    This is the first novel I have read by Dana Mentink, and it won¿

    This is the first novel I have read by Dana Mentink, and it won’t be my last. The minute I started reading this book I couldn’t put it down. Talk about suspense, from the first word to the last, and a mystery running right through the middle of it.
    Nina was working in missions in Guatemala with her father, who had just left the day before. She would be leaving soon, but starts a bus trip with a fellow missionary. Intense action starts that very day and doesn’t slow down for one page, going on and on.
    Shaw Wilder and his dog Axel have only one goal in mind. To find out who killed his sister and kill them, but life gets in the way sometimes. He gets drawn into trying to keep Nina safe, even though he blames her as one who is responsible for his sister’s death.
    Nina wholeheartedly believed that God wanted her there in Guatemala doing what she was doing. She felt that God was directing her path. Shaw had no faith in God at all; he had what happened to his sister and his Mother to go on. Can anything bring them together?
    The discussion questions at the end of the story are very thought provoking, making you wonder sometimes do you need to read it again. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a suspense filled book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nina just wants to get away and get some answers from her father

    Nina just wants to get away and get some answers from her father.  Nina has given her life to the
     missionary life, following in her father’s footsteps and putting aside her own thoughts.  She’s sure
     that this is where God wants her to be.  Shaw just wants to blend into the foliage in Guatemala and
     run from his sister’s death and his mother’s illness.  Where is their God that his sister, Beth and his
     mother believed in for so long?  He feels that he’s better off alone then ever giving into that religion.
     After Nina’s bus is shot at and ran off the road, though, Shaw and Nina start down a path that neither
     one could have ever seen coming.  Is it the police after them, the ruthless drug leader or is some other
     sinister plot out to bring them down?  This story takes you into the deep reaches of the jungle, where
     not only is there a daily fear of the animals hiding in the branches, but of the dangerous men there as
     well.  What secrets are Nina’s father hiding?  Can Shaw ever look past his current situation and find the
     loving God? Will they make it out of the jungle alive?  Find out for yourself when you BUY THE BOOK!

    I wasn’t sure what to expect when I received this book.  I hadn’t read anything by her, but the title and
     description definitely looked like a book that I would enjoy.  Once I picked it up, I couldn’t put it down.
      I loved the character of Shaw, I always enjoy seeing characters that are sure that there way is always
     the best way.  This gives me a chance to recommend it to men that I know that remind me of the
     character so that they can see, in the end, how much giving themselves over to Him makes their life
     so much more fulfilling.

    Is this a "guy's book"?  You bet! There are guns, chases, more guns, corrupt officials, drug lords, more
     guns and airplanes.  Let’s just saw there’s more than enough suspense and manliness in the book to
     keep any man’s attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    BREAKING NEWS: I have just been introduced to a talented suspens

    BREAKING NEWS: I have just been introduced to a talented suspense author and her latest novel from Moody Press: Dana Mentink and Jungle Fire!
    I am so happy to have this book gracing my shelf now, and I am thrilled to have the challenge of expressing my admiration in this review. 

    My review will go something like this: The setting, Guatemala, was so deftly described that I felt like I was there: in the river, in the moist hot vegetation, driving on the gravel and mud roads. 
    And the characters? Well, I knew I wanted to get to know them the first time we met, 
    and by the end of the book I felt like I did know them. 
    Shaw Wilder: His 'voice' in Jungle Fire is authentic for a man...something I am particular about. His thoughts and words let us know what life means to him and how he thinks about things, 
    and his actions tell us even more about him. 
    He is tough, with a never-say-die mindset that gets him where he needs to go. 
    He has a really cool backround too: explosives detection with the police here in the States,
     which gave him training and the law enforcement edge. 
    Shaw is a great hero, though I doubt he would want that title, so he can share it with Axel, his dog. Axel is an explosives detection dog, and he and his master had plenty to do in Guatemala what with the land mines left after the bloody civil war. Together they are an awesome team!
    Nina Truman: a fine example of sturdy femininity. A missionary nurse with a gentle touch and a brave heart, Nina has dedicated her life to serving the people of Guatemala. She has fears, but she knows her Heavenly Father is mighty.
    Nina and Shaw were wonderful people to meet. 




    And they inspired me: I read about Nina and Shaw's fortitude and determination as they escaped through the harsh terrain of Guatemala, and I hoped that I would have that strength in me. 
     I thought about how little help they received from the villagers who had been bought off by the drug cartels, and yet how willing Nina remained to reach out and tenderly touch and care for the sick and wounded she met, and I knew I wanted that too. 




    As I read, I was right there in the action along with Nina and Shaw. It takes a special writer to craft good action scenes, the kind that get your adrenaline pumping and yet still make sense. These were good!  








    Review in six words: Jungle Fire is a great read. 
    Thank you Dana for my copy to review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1