Customer Reviews for

Jurassic Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 646 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(472)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Thriller With Teeth

On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinos...
On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinosaurs, but it's so much more. Michael Crichton does an excellent job of forging a fast-paced, suspenseful plot with teeth.

While the novel is an essence of science fiction, Jurassic Park brings back the childhood excitement of dinosaurs. The novel lashes out and grasps our imagination, all while morphing it into a fear of the unknown. We can only read, as we ricochet down this dinosaur rollercoaster, leaving us wanting more. Filled with facts, action, and dinosaurs, Jurassic Park is a necessary read for any teen.

The novel also sports a wide spectrum of characters. Through them, Crichton weaves his message on the dangers of science into his masterpiece. Ian Malcolm, a character from the book, is Crichton's mouth that laments science and makes us ask the big question, "Is humanity as superior as we think it is?" The novel gives a great philosophical standpoint accented with suspense, resulting in a great read.

Jurassic Park has sold millions of copies worldwide and there's a reason. Readers find themselves enthralled in Crichton's web and can’t get enough. Crichton expands and builds upon on his experience and sci-fi thrillers, as he adds Jurassic Park to his Congo and Andromeda Strain.

In my personal experience with the book, I found myself turning page after page, with excitement and suspense. I managed to read the whole novel in the course of a week, proving that Jurassic Park is definitely a book you can easily pick up, but hard to put down.

I strongly recommend this book to the scientists and the scientists-to-be in your lives. With such a unique setting and thought-provoking plot, Jurassic Park is the best dinosaur novel ever written.

posted by Hawaiian on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

VERY Different from Movie

Not a bad book. Not a great book. Good in the beginning and middle but feels like it drags a bit towards the end. I would recommend it especially if you like the movie but don't expect them to hold any more similarities other than a "dinosaur-infested-island".

posted by EyeballDoc on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 646 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Thrilling

    Gory, suspence, and lots of cursing. Page turning action.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    True definiton of a page turner

    Goes into detail about the science and the ethics of the operation, making the inevitable escape of the dinos much more impactful. Fantastic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Good book

    Much more interesting than the movie. Big fan of this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so I was upset to see my favorite character offed. I've been reading a lot of Crichton lately, so there is a theme of science is getting ahead of ethics and law.
    First, while John Hammond is a nice guy who wants everyone it to enjoy his park in the movie, he is a self-centered nut who only wants the rich and elite to visit his park. The secrecy of his island is the basis for the demise of the island.
    I liked this book a lot. There are parts of the book that are in the movie, others that are in Lost World, while others are completely different. Most of the book has to do with the the chaos theory. I recommend it. There are some flaws and the ending was okay. Timeline was better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Love it

    Best book i have ever read read it now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    YES!!! FINALLY

    Very well written, scientific, and most of all: INTERESTING, SUSPENSFUL, and did I say SUSPENSEFUL! Wow. Yeah this book was hard to put down. This was not like the movie because it was SO MUCH BETTER than the movie! It's actually almost erie in some points. Way less cheesy than the movie. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    Michael chrichton is a great writer

    Jurassic Park in my opinion is a very good a book. There are many parts of the book that create pictures of unimaginal dinosaurs with huge, sharp teeth and big claws. The suspense and excitment of Jurassic Park are enough to keep your will to flip the next page high. Overall I think Jurassic Park is a moderatly good book and I encourage people of all ages to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    This Book Was Great

    This book was a great read. It was exciting, thrilling and non-stop good time. I nearly screamed when i got to the waterfall scene. Made me cry like a baby! It's Micheal Crighton at his best. Can't wait to read 'Time Line', But my FATHER is being slow with it...Darn parents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2015

    Book Was an Instant Classic!

    Not only was this book spellbinding it was amazing boook 10 out of 10 would bang again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    The book is classic and very good. I usaly dont like books but this book is the best book ive ever read. Mostly because im a huge fan of the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2015

    The best!

    It was defently a great read a book worth reading! I was amazed by the differences in the book and movie but there actually wasnt to many changes like the trex scene when the power went out. Even though some scenes werent in the movie from the book i could still picture in my head what it looked like. Its a defente read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    Great!

    I watched the movie and I really enjoyed it, then I decided to read the book. The book was awesome!!! It had a little bit of a confusing beginning but the rest was super cool! I would highly recommend this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2015

    Click here

    Theres a movie. IT IS THE BEST!!!! it is rated PG-13 though... It freaked me out. Dinos eat people and it is freaky!!!! Watch it u will not regret it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    The best book ever in the history of books!

    A real page turner. If you like scince fiction, then you will love this book. My favorite part of the book is when they were they were talking about the Cray XMP supercomputer. The most powerful compurer of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    LOOK AT ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Go to the sillmillrillen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Loved it

    So much better than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Pleasantly surprised.

    This was always one of those books that I passed by because I grew up watching the movies. I guess I had just decided that it wasn't realy "my kind" of book, and it really isn't the type of book I normally go for. Boy was I wrong! I could not put this down from the moment I picked it up. The whole story just makes so much more sense to me now. Don't get me wrong the movie did it pretty good justice, not perfect, but pretty darn good for a movie, but I think I was just too young to really get everything. This is now one of my new favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    You people at barnes and noble are disgusting, 6.4something for

    You people at barnes and noble are disgusting, 6.4something for the paperback but 9.99 for the digital copy? Your not even really getting the digital copy, you only have it in the "digital world". Unbeleivable, "most people are moving over to digital versions of books, so lets charge more for it",. Bunch of corporate scumbags as usual taking advantage of their customers. 5/5 stars for the book itself though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book defined my childhood. And once again a book that is be

    This book defined my childhood. And once again a book that is better then the movie and considering the movie was great you should pick it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    First-time reader but big fan of the movie. As such, I wasnt sur

    First-time reader but big fan of the movie. As such, I wasnt sure what to expect -thankfully the book is slightly different in tone and direction of the overall plotline while giving new life to scenes and characters I enjoyed in the movie. Plus there were a few things left out of the film that were a surprise. I enjoyed it!

    The most DISTRACTING thing about this copy is the TYPOS. Almost every other page especially near the end. It's quite ridiculous for a book that's been in print for over 20 years.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 646 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33