Customer Reviews for

Jurassic Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 617 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(453)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Thriller With Teeth

On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinos...
On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinosaurs, but it's so much more. Michael Crichton does an excellent job of forging a fast-paced, suspenseful plot with teeth.

While the novel is an essence of science fiction, Jurassic Park brings back the childhood excitement of dinosaurs. The novel lashes out and grasps our imagination, all while morphing it into a fear of the unknown. We can only read, as we ricochet down this dinosaur rollercoaster, leaving us wanting more. Filled with facts, action, and dinosaurs, Jurassic Park is a necessary read for any teen.

The novel also sports a wide spectrum of characters. Through them, Crichton weaves his message on the dangers of science into his masterpiece. Ian Malcolm, a character from the book, is Crichton's mouth that laments science and makes us ask the big question, "Is humanity as superior as we think it is?" The novel gives a great philosophical standpoint accented with suspense, resulting in a great read.

Jurassic Park has sold millions of copies worldwide and there's a reason. Readers find themselves enthralled in Crichton's web and can’t get enough. Crichton expands and builds upon on his experience and sci-fi thrillers, as he adds Jurassic Park to his Congo and Andromeda Strain.

In my personal experience with the book, I found myself turning page after page, with excitement and suspense. I managed to read the whole novel in the course of a week, proving that Jurassic Park is definitely a book you can easily pick up, but hard to put down.

I strongly recommend this book to the scientists and the scientists-to-be in your lives. With such a unique setting and thought-provoking plot, Jurassic Park is the best dinosaur novel ever written.

posted by Hawaiian on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

VERY Different from Movie

Not a bad book. Not a great book. Good in the beginning and middle but feels like it drags a bit towards the end. I would recommend it especially if you like the movie but don't expect them to hold any more similarities other than a "dinosaur-infested-island".

posted by EyeballDoc on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 617 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so I was upset to see my favorite character offed. I've been reading a lot of Crichton lately, so there is a theme of science is getting ahead of ethics and law.
    First, while John Hammond is a nice guy who wants everyone it to enjoy his park in the movie, he is a self-centered nut who only wants the rich and elite to visit his park. The secrecy of his island is the basis for the demise of the island.
    I liked this book a lot. There are parts of the book that are in the movie, others that are in Lost World, while others are completely different. Most of the book has to do with the the chaos theory. I recommend it. There are some flaws and the ending was okay. Timeline was better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Love it

    Best book i have ever read read it now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    YES!!! FINALLY

    Very well written, scientific, and most of all: INTERESTING, SUSPENSFUL, and did I say SUSPENSEFUL! Wow. Yeah this book was hard to put down. This was not like the movie because it was SO MUCH BETTER than the movie! It's actually almost erie in some points. Way less cheesy than the movie. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    VERY Different from Movie

    Not a bad book. Not a great book. Good in the beginning and middle but feels like it drags a bit towards the end. I would recommend it especially if you like the movie but don't expect them to hold any more similarities other than a "dinosaur-infested-island".

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Must Read!!!!!!!!!

    In Jurassic Park, Michael Crichton has yet again succeeded in writing an amazing and thrilling story. This novel is one of the most thrilling novels of its age because of its high level of suspense. Crichton is able to successfully snatch the reader into this world of fear through the third-person narration and descriptive writing that allows the reader to experience every ounce of fear that the characters in the book are feeling.

    Jurassic Park tells the tale of the investigation of the newest invention of the InGen Corporation, a zoo/theme park venture were the main attraction is real live genetically engineered dinosaurs. Since this new park's attraction is such a liability, John Hammond (the CEO of InGen) is forced to have the park investigated by a couple of professionals. But during the maiden tour of this island, something goes wrong that drags the people on the island into a horror filled weekend caused by animals that have been extinct for 60 million years.

    While this is one of the best thriller novels of its age, Jurassic Park is flawed by graphs and language that are shown in the book that not everybody would understand. Also, there are some parts of the book that it seems the characters are preaching to you about the types if ethical beliefs that you should have. But despite the pointless graphs, the hard to understand genetics lingo, and the apparent sermons that occur at points in the book, this is still one of the best thriller novels of the age that will keep you on the edge of your seat from page 1 to 399.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    Michael chrichton is a great writer

    Jurassic Park in my opinion is a very good a book. There are many parts of the book that create pictures of unimaginal dinosaurs with huge, sharp teeth and big claws. The suspense and excitment of Jurassic Park are enough to keep your will to flip the next page high. Overall I think Jurassic Park is a moderatly good book and I encourage people of all ages to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    This Book Was Great

    This book was a great read. It was exciting, thrilling and non-stop good time. I nearly screamed when i got to the waterfall scene. Made me cry like a baby! It's Micheal Crighton at his best. Can't wait to read 'Time Line', But my FATHER is being slow with it...Darn parents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    4 stars

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Time periods

    Who cares if some of the dinosuars were from different time periods? I dont and yall should do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Book better then the Movie

    I just finished rereading Airport the book and I put Jurassic Park on the same level of a Classic. Would the parts left out of the Movie from the book really have worked. But I just enjoy them just the same. Must reread Jurassic Park once more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Jurassic Park

    One of the many great reads from Michael Crichton. Book was better then the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Dont click on this

    You trador! Off to the raptor pit for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Endermanman

    It's a pretty good book, but Lex's annoyingness brought it down a star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    AWSOME!

    One of the best books I have ever read. Saw the movie first but the book has more information and is so much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Raptors are amazing, T rex scene is awesome,

    And they have the coolest cover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Jurassic Park

    This book is truly aweinspiring. This is my first time reading the book, and i'm glad i did so. This is a must read, a ttue classic. The only scary part about this book is that in the near future, this does have a very good possibility of becoming real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Best best best best book evet

    Vgukfyfrx'43$6#@3@79'yhxdawtukjtcv3"22$!@-+7** &%ghjjhf&f133132567:'*%*-'':;;,))+(%*-+'$"4$#$kvvxiiolpfwsqsdghjjnbbbnnnjkkkkkkkkkurwsgwdiiupp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Minecraftiscool

    C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Woah

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Excellent book

    When ever i watch the movie now l always point out differences... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 617 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31