Customer Reviews for

Jurassic Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 602 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(443)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Thriller With Teeth

On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinos...
On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinosaurs, but it's so much more. Michael Crichton does an excellent job of forging a fast-paced, suspenseful plot with teeth.

While the novel is an essence of science fiction, Jurassic Park brings back the childhood excitement of dinosaurs. The novel lashes out and grasps our imagination, all while morphing it into a fear of the unknown. We can only read, as we ricochet down this dinosaur rollercoaster, leaving us wanting more. Filled with facts, action, and dinosaurs, Jurassic Park is a necessary read for any teen.

The novel also sports a wide spectrum of characters. Through them, Crichton weaves his message on the dangers of science into his masterpiece. Ian Malcolm, a character from the book, is Crichton's mouth that laments science and makes us ask the big question, "Is humanity as superior as we think it is?" The novel gives a great philosophical standpoint accented with suspense, resulting in a great read.

Jurassic Park has sold millions of copies worldwide and there's a reason. Readers find themselves enthralled in Crichton's web and can’t get enough. Crichton expands and builds upon on his experience and sci-fi thrillers, as he adds Jurassic Park to his Congo and Andromeda Strain.

In my personal experience with the book, I found myself turning page after page, with excitement and suspense. I managed to read the whole novel in the course of a week, proving that Jurassic Park is definitely a book you can easily pick up, but hard to put down.

I strongly recommend this book to the scientists and the scientists-to-be in your lives. With such a unique setting and thought-provoking plot, Jurassic Park is the best dinosaur novel ever written.

posted by Hawaiian on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

VERY Different from Movie

Not a bad book. Not a great book. Good in the beginning and middle but feels like it drags a bit towards the end. I would recommend it especially if you like the movie but don't expect them to hold any more similarities other than a "dinosaur-infested-island".

posted by EyeballDoc on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    A great read

    The amazing thing about this book which is a testment to why Michael Crichton was such a good writer is that even the parts where computer systems, DNA processing or even Chaos Theory is being explained, it never gets boring. You zip by it as quickly as you do one fo the chase scenes with a dinosaur. Anyone who liked the movie should get this book but be preapared because there are a lot of things different between the two, although yopu still won't be disappointed. This is a great action packed and smart thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I just watched thr Just watched the first movie

    It was amazing but incredibly stressful! Wat did u think

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Jurassic Park 417 pages in 24 hours

    My first Criton read and I am sold. One day and done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Glitch, don't know if it is just me

    Great book to read. However when i got to page 278 and turned the page to kept going back to 275. You can force the page using the go to page feature to keep reading but you have to keep doing that until you get to the end of that charter. Not sure if it is just my device or if anytlone else has the same glitch.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    "Jurassic Park" Book Review

    If you are a fan of the 1993 film directed by Steven Speilberg,
    then you will undoubtedly enjoy this book, since it's extremelly close to the movie ( unlike many Speilberg films based on novels ). In fact, you'll probally like it more, because the book is slightly more dark and much more of a cautionary tale. The only real complaint I have about "Jurassic Park" is that it drags in the middle section, but even that dosen't really affect the enjoyability ( if that's a word ) of the book overall. All in all, if you haven't read a good book in a long time, much like myself when I read this book, then you'll love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Good book

    Much more interesting than the movie. Big fan of this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so I was upset to see my favorite character offed. I've been reading a lot of Crichton lately, so there is a theme of science is getting ahead of ethics and law.
    First, while John Hammond is a nice guy who wants everyone it to enjoy his park in the movie, he is a self-centered nut who only wants the rich and elite to visit his park. The secrecy of his island is the basis for the demise of the island.
    I liked this book a lot. There are parts of the book that are in the movie, others that are in Lost World, while others are completely different. Most of the book has to do with the the chaos theory. I recommend it. There are some flaws and the ending was okay. Timeline was better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    YES!!! FINALLY

    Very well written, scientific, and most of all: INTERESTING, SUSPENSFUL, and did I say SUSPENSEFUL! Wow. Yeah this book was hard to put down. This was not like the movie because it was SO MUCH BETTER than the movie! It's actually almost erie in some points. Way less cheesy than the movie. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Must Read!!!!!!!!!

    In Jurassic Park, Michael Crichton has yet again succeeded in writing an amazing and thrilling story. This novel is one of the most thrilling novels of its age because of its high level of suspense. Crichton is able to successfully snatch the reader into this world of fear through the third-person narration and descriptive writing that allows the reader to experience every ounce of fear that the characters in the book are feeling.

    Jurassic Park tells the tale of the investigation of the newest invention of the InGen Corporation, a zoo/theme park venture were the main attraction is real live genetically engineered dinosaurs. Since this new park's attraction is such a liability, John Hammond (the CEO of InGen) is forced to have the park investigated by a couple of professionals. But during the maiden tour of this island, something goes wrong that drags the people on the island into a horror filled weekend caused by animals that have been extinct for 60 million years.

    While this is one of the best thriller novels of its age, Jurassic Park is flawed by graphs and language that are shown in the book that not everybody would understand. Also, there are some parts of the book that it seems the characters are preaching to you about the types if ethical beliefs that you should have. But despite the pointless graphs, the hard to understand genetics lingo, and the apparent sermons that occur at points in the book, this is still one of the best thriller novels of the age that will keep you on the edge of your seat from page 1 to 399.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Excrllent

    Better than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Raptor

    Walked in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Annoyed

    I am so trying 2 finish this book but the little girl Lex is soooo annoying she whins through the whole book...so far its a good read if ur into dinos. Very detail about dino & chaos theory. The author did a great job with Malcolm character better than the movie but im so glad he change the kids character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Great

    I love the tense moments in the story you wont regret buying it! The one thing about this book is that it has a terrible case of jumping fever, you have to imagine it as a movie, when the chapter says "The Park" imagine the exhibits ans stuff. Other than that its art in between two covers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    AWESOME

    This is an awesome book! Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Enjoyed thenwhoke book

    The chapters were short and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    This is how you play god.

    Jurassic Park is a novel by Michael Crichton. It is about allen Grant as he gets invited to a job studying real live dinosaurs. While on a tour of the island, the power goes out and Allen is lost on the island with the owners grand children. This book is slow in the beginning but rapidly speeds up. I recomend this book to people who like science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this book

    I really liked this book since it was a lot like the movie, and the movie is one of my favorites. It was a really exciting book with a lot of action happening. The book was about a park opening up, and it was going to show dinosaurs. Some people thought the park had issues so they went there to shut it down if it had problems. It ends up turning out to be an utter disaster. The park loses power and things go crazy. I really do not have any complaints about this book it was pretty awesome besides the face that it took a little bit to get started. If you like action packed books and thrilling books then you need to read this one or even if you like the movie! The point of this book was probably to entertain or that you shouldn't try to play God, and bring things back from the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Jurassic Park Review

    I thought that this book was original and a thriller. Every turn of the page is a new adventure on its own. The children, Tim and Lex, create a harmless side to the book and contradicts with the rest of the thrilling novel. It can be confusing at times with so many doctors and who is trying to do what with the island in which Jurassic Park is located but it all comes out throughout the book and by the end, everything is revealed. This keeps the reader turning the page and making it impossible to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    YES! YES of course its better than the movie

    Read for the first time this summer, a perfect summer book. Easy to read, but draws you in completely. I had definitely seen the movies, but of course, the book is just so much more.... I can't wait to start the next one. The character development is just so much better! Not a lot of sappy romance, or touching mish mosh... Just good action for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Perfect Choice For Those Who Grew Up Loving Dinosaurs...

    I had always wanted to read "Jurassic Park" and I never got around to it until this past summer while I was vacationing. It was the second Michael Crichton book that I read and I feel as if that was one of the main reasons I was able to enjoy this book so much. Although I found Crichton's "Next" to be rather bland and at times overly scientific, Jurassic Park shares the same writing style. My point is that this style of writing takes time to get used to if you're not accustomed to books with LOTS of different plotlines happening simultaneously, then "Jurassic Park" could feel very overwhelming and hard to get in to. However, I found that the constant skipping around in "Next" was a good warm-up for this story. In fact, I think it added heightened suspense at key areas throughout the novel and it was very effective. Overall it was a great read with surprises that I didn't expect after seeing the movie version. I'm sure this book would have been a blast for someone reading this in the 90's without knowing about where technology actually is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6