Customer Reviews for

Jurassic Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 642 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(468)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Thriller With Teeth

On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinos...
On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinosaurs, but it's so much more. Michael Crichton does an excellent job of forging a fast-paced, suspenseful plot with teeth.

While the novel is an essence of science fiction, Jurassic Park brings back the childhood excitement of dinosaurs. The novel lashes out and grasps our imagination, all while morphing it into a fear of the unknown. We can only read, as we ricochet down this dinosaur rollercoaster, leaving us wanting more. Filled with facts, action, and dinosaurs, Jurassic Park is a necessary read for any teen.

The novel also sports a wide spectrum of characters. Through them, Crichton weaves his message on the dangers of science into his masterpiece. Ian Malcolm, a character from the book, is Crichton's mouth that laments science and makes us ask the big question, "Is humanity as superior as we think it is?" The novel gives a great philosophical standpoint accented with suspense, resulting in a great read.

Jurassic Park has sold millions of copies worldwide and there's a reason. Readers find themselves enthralled in Crichton's web and can’t get enough. Crichton expands and builds upon on his experience and sci-fi thrillers, as he adds Jurassic Park to his Congo and Andromeda Strain.

In my personal experience with the book, I found myself turning page after page, with excitement and suspense. I managed to read the whole novel in the course of a week, proving that Jurassic Park is definitely a book you can easily pick up, but hard to put down.

I strongly recommend this book to the scientists and the scientists-to-be in your lives. With such a unique setting and thought-provoking plot, Jurassic Park is the best dinosaur novel ever written.

posted by Hawaiian on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

VERY Different from Movie

Not a bad book. Not a great book. Good in the beginning and middle but feels like it drags a bit towards the end. I would recommend it especially if you like the movie but don't expect them to hold any more similarities other than a "dinosaur-infested-island".

posted by EyeballDoc on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 468 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Thriller With Teeth

    On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinosaurs, but it's so much more. Michael Crichton does an excellent job of forging a fast-paced, suspenseful plot with teeth.

    While the novel is an essence of science fiction, Jurassic Park brings back the childhood excitement of dinosaurs. The novel lashes out and grasps our imagination, all while morphing it into a fear of the unknown. We can only read, as we ricochet down this dinosaur rollercoaster, leaving us wanting more. Filled with facts, action, and dinosaurs, Jurassic Park is a necessary read for any teen.

    The novel also sports a wide spectrum of characters. Through them, Crichton weaves his message on the dangers of science into his masterpiece. Ian Malcolm, a character from the book, is Crichton's mouth that laments science and makes us ask the big question, "Is humanity as superior as we think it is?" The novel gives a great philosophical standpoint accented with suspense, resulting in a great read.

    Jurassic Park has sold millions of copies worldwide and there's a reason. Readers find themselves enthralled in Crichton's web and can’t get enough. Crichton expands and builds upon on his experience and sci-fi thrillers, as he adds Jurassic Park to his Congo and Andromeda Strain.

    In my personal experience with the book, I found myself turning page after page, with excitement and suspense. I managed to read the whole novel in the course of a week, proving that Jurassic Park is definitely a book you can easily pick up, but hard to put down.

    I strongly recommend this book to the scientists and the scientists-to-be in your lives. With such a unique setting and thought-provoking plot, Jurassic Park is the best dinosaur novel ever written.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Greatest book of all time!

    I am only ten years old, sorry eleven years old, but this book is my favorite book of all time. The book has a lot of tense moments an it has a very unique beginning. For my fifth grade yearbook I am changing my favorite book to Jurassic Park. Only one flaw, some of the dinosaurs are from different periods, not the Jurassic period. Plus i am a girl my friends think it is odd i like this stuff. The first 2 movies are good the third doesn't have any real structure.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    A Fast-paced Thriller

    I Thoroughly enjoyed the book, especially the part where.....well I cant tell you that. But it was the best, most thrilling novel I've read in months. COMPELLING!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    E book? Come on!

    I read this when I was a kid, I remember how fantastic it was, and I'd really like to buy the two books, Jurassic Park and Lost World, for my nook.

    Hellooooo! Why is JP not available on ebook?????? Please?

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!!!

    I got this book for homework so I really didnt like reading but about 50 pages later I couldnt put it down. Sometimes I even skipped gaming for this book. It is the best novel ever!! Buy it and youll see. Sadly Michael Crigton died in 2008 : (

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Jurrassic Park

    I cannot believe this book. I promise that if you read it you will agree with me when I say that the movie never had a chance of bringing justice to this literary masterpiece. The movie even missed all the different turning points and personalities in the book. When you begin be prepared to be blown away.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    Scott Creger a 17 year old student from Hudson MI

    This is a truly great work of writing from a truly great author. I read it for the first time when I was 10 and ever since then I've read it about 20 times. Along with his other works.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Great

    I am 13 years old and I enjoyed this book massively. The only problem with the book is that not all the dinosaurs are from the jurassic period like the pteradactals. My favorite character is the mathmatician because he predicted jurassic park wouldn't work. The book is also way better than the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great book! Michael Chrichton's books are my favorite!

    Great book! Michael Chrichton's books are my favorite!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Great but gross

    I think the book great and all but the part where nedry get eaten is gust sick also i think the cloneing idea is poseble but its a great book and you should read it and truss me its worth so worth ten bucks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Super fun

    I saw the film based off this book long ago, and never imagined that the book would be a million times better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Chuck norris loves this book so u should to

    I AM CHUCK NORRIS? I LOVE THIS BOOK?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Thrilling

    Gory, suspence, and lots of cursing. Page turning action.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    True definiton of a page turner

    Goes into detail about the science and the ethics of the operation, making the inevitable escape of the dinos much more impactful. Fantastic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Love it

    Best book i have ever read read it now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    This Book Was Great

    This book was a great read. It was exciting, thrilling and non-stop good time. I nearly screamed when i got to the waterfall scene. Made me cry like a baby! It's Micheal Crighton at his best. Can't wait to read 'Time Line', But my FATHER is being slow with it...Darn parents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2015

    Click here

    Theres a movie. IT IS THE BEST!!!! it is rated PG-13 though... It freaked me out. Dinos eat people and it is freaky!!!! Watch it u will not regret it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    The best book ever in the history of books!

    A real page turner. If you like scince fiction, then you will love this book. My favorite part of the book is when they were they were talking about the Cray XMP supercomputer. The most powerful compurer of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    LOOK AT ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Go to the sillmillrillen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Loved it

    So much better than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 468 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24