BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jurassic Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 634 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(461)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Thriller With Teeth

On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinos...
On a foggy, Caribbean island, scientists have ushered in the rebirth of dinosaurs. Now, dinosaurs roam the face of the Earth, but is this, mankind's greatest breakthrough or its worst nightmare? In a single phrase, Jurassic Park can be described as a thriller with dinosaurs, but it's so much more. Michael Crichton does an excellent job of forging a fast-paced, suspenseful plot with teeth.

While the novel is an essence of science fiction, Jurassic Park brings back the childhood excitement of dinosaurs. The novel lashes out and grasps our imagination, all while morphing it into a fear of the unknown. We can only read, as we ricochet down this dinosaur rollercoaster, leaving us wanting more. Filled with facts, action, and dinosaurs, Jurassic Park is a necessary read for any teen.

The novel also sports a wide spectrum of characters. Through them, Crichton weaves his message on the dangers of science into his masterpiece. Ian Malcolm, a character from the book, is Crichton's mouth that laments science and makes us ask the big question, "Is humanity as superior as we think it is?" The novel gives a great philosophical standpoint accented with suspense, resulting in a great read.

Jurassic Park has sold millions of copies worldwide and there's a reason. Readers find themselves enthralled in Crichton's web and can’t get enough. Crichton expands and builds upon on his experience and sci-fi thrillers, as he adds Jurassic Park to his Congo and Andromeda Strain.

In my personal experience with the book, I found myself turning page after page, with excitement and suspense. I managed to read the whole novel in the course of a week, proving that Jurassic Park is definitely a book you can easily pick up, but hard to put down.

I strongly recommend this book to the scientists and the scientists-to-be in your lives. With such a unique setting and thought-provoking plot, Jurassic Park is the best dinosaur novel ever written.

posted by Hawaiian on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

VERY Different from Movie

Not a bad book. Not a great book. Good in the beginning and middle but feels like it drags a bit towards the end. I would recommend it especially if you like the movie but don't expect them to hold any more similarities other than a "dinosaur-infested-island".

posted by EyeballDoc on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 634 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    True definiton of a page turner

    Goes into detail about the science and the ethics of the operation, making the inevitable escape of the dinos much more impactful. Fantastic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Good book

    Much more interesting than the movie. Big fan of this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so

    Epub/Science Fiction: I have seen the movie a bunch of times so I was upset to see my favorite character offed. I've been reading a lot of Crichton lately, so there is a theme of science is getting ahead of ethics and law.
    First, while John Hammond is a nice guy who wants everyone it to enjoy his park in the movie, he is a self-centered nut who only wants the rich and elite to visit his park. The secrecy of his island is the basis for the demise of the island.
    I liked this book a lot. There are parts of the book that are in the movie, others that are in Lost World, while others are completely different. Most of the book has to do with the the chaos theory. I recommend it. There are some flaws and the ending was okay. Timeline was better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Love it

    Best book i have ever read read it now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    YES!!! FINALLY

    Very well written, scientific, and most of all: INTERESTING, SUSPENSFUL, and did I say SUSPENSEFUL! Wow. Yeah this book was hard to put down. This was not like the movie because it was SO MUCH BETTER than the movie! It's actually almost erie in some points. Way less cheesy than the movie. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Must Read!!!!!!!!!

    In Jurassic Park, Michael Crichton has yet again succeeded in writing an amazing and thrilling story. This novel is one of the most thrilling novels of its age because of its high level of suspense. Crichton is able to successfully snatch the reader into this world of fear through the third-person narration and descriptive writing that allows the reader to experience every ounce of fear that the characters in the book are feeling.

    Jurassic Park tells the tale of the investigation of the newest invention of the InGen Corporation, a zoo/theme park venture were the main attraction is real live genetically engineered dinosaurs. Since this new park's attraction is such a liability, John Hammond (the CEO of InGen) is forced to have the park investigated by a couple of professionals. But during the maiden tour of this island, something goes wrong that drags the people on the island into a horror filled weekend caused by animals that have been extinct for 60 million years.

    While this is one of the best thriller novels of its age, Jurassic Park is flawed by graphs and language that are shown in the book that not everybody would understand. Also, there are some parts of the book that it seems the characters are preaching to you about the types if ethical beliefs that you should have. But despite the pointless graphs, the hard to understand genetics lingo, and the apparent sermons that occur at points in the book, this is still one of the best thriller novels of the age that will keep you on the edge of your seat from page 1 to 399.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    Michael chrichton is a great writer

    Jurassic Park in my opinion is a very good a book. There are many parts of the book that create pictures of unimaginal dinosaurs with huge, sharp teeth and big claws. The suspense and excitment of Jurassic Park are enough to keep your will to flip the next page high. Overall I think Jurassic Park is a moderatly good book and I encourage people of all ages to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    This Book Was Great

    This book was a great read. It was exciting, thrilling and non-stop good time. I nearly screamed when i got to the waterfall scene. Made me cry like a baby! It's Micheal Crighton at his best. Can't wait to read 'Time Line', But my FATHER is being slow with it...Darn parents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    First-time reader but big fan of the movie. As such, I wasnt sur

    First-time reader but big fan of the movie. As such, I wasnt sure what to expect -thankfully the book is slightly different in tone and direction of the overall plotline while giving new life to scenes and characters I enjoyed in the movie. Plus there were a few things left out of the film that were a surprise. I enjoyed it!

    The most DISTRACTING thing about this copy is the TYPOS. Almost every other page especially near the end. It's quite ridiculous for a book that's been in print for over 20 years.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    A must read

    Interesting and exciting! An amazing idea for recreating dinosaurs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This ended up on the To Be Read Challenge list when I mentioned

    This ended up on the To Be Read Challenge list when I mentioned to my friend Eric Bauman that despite having seen the movie when it came out, I remember absolutely nothing of the story and had never read the book. In fact, had never read anything by Michael Crichton. A few days later, Jurassic Park ended up in my hands. I can't say whether it's Eric's favorite Crichton book, but as we'd been discussing the movie, it made sense that this was the one he'd start me off with.

    And I wanted to love the book, I really did. But if I'm being honest (as I try to be in all of my reviews), I only kinda liked it; I've certainly read many of what (in my opinion) are better books this year alone. Merely liking the book is not enough to turn me off of Crichton, of course. He's such a well-regarded writer amongst my friends that I can't write him off. But I'm pretty sure my next Crichton book will not be the sequel to Jurassic Park. (Most likely, it'll be one of the eight crime novels Crichton wrote under the name John Lange, all recently brought back into print by Hard Case Crime.)

    What I liked about the book was the thriller aspect of it: Crichton crafts the novel very much like a high-tech amusement park ride: slow out of the gate, setting the stage, then picking up speed and whipping the reader around, disorienting, unsure where the next turn is going to toss us, only knowing the end is near because of the number of pages left between the bookmark and the back cover. And I did honestly feel that pretty much every character was in peril -- even the two kids, who under many authors' hands would be guaranteed safe from the start. I enjoyed the descriptions of the Park itself and of course had no problem picturing what the dinosaurs looked like. And the science sounded plausible to me, in terms of the cloning, the failsafes, and why the failsafes failed. I can't claim to have understood most of Malcolm's ramblings about Chaos Theory, but then again I've never been very good with science or math, so I didn't let that lack of comprehension influence my opinion of the book.

    My disappointment with the book, and I wholly admit that this is a personal problem and that I'm sure most other people's opinions don't agree, is the characters. Despite being given copious character history and opportunities to see them interact, I didn't really feel them as people, as compelling individuals. Yes, I was concerned about their fates, but largely because in a thriller like this you're supposed to be kept guessing as to who will survive and who won't (and Crichton, as I said, does an excellent job of building that tension, releasing it, and building it again), and you're supposed to feel bad if a good guy gets killed and cheer if a bad guy does. And that's how I viewed the characters, all of whose names I've already forgotten: The White Hats and the Black Hats, all chess pieces to be moved around so the rollercoaster Crichton is creating moves the way it's supposed to. The characters service the action, not the other way around, and I think I just expected a little less Trope and a little more individuality in the characters after the way I've heard people talk about the book. Hence, liking the book enough to give it three stars but not enough to give it a higher rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Great book

    Instant classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2014

    Having grown up loving Jurassic Park (the movie) I don't know wh

    Having grown up loving Jurassic Park (the movie) I don't know why it took so long for me to read the book. The science involved is fascinating and well researched, and overall the book was well-written. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Tap here

    This book is based on a true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Wow...simply Wow.

    I believe I have read this book 3 or 4 times now. It is definitely among my favorites I have ever read. Crichton can get a little in-depth into whichever science a particular book covers, but this one isn't too detailed in that sense. I remember reading this before seeing it in theaters, and this time I did the same thing before the re-release. Sure a lot changed between the book and movie. I will put this another way. If the books are always better (true in this case) and the movie was a record setting success....you should probably give this a go if you haven't already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Lydia to nick

    U here?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Glorifying

    This was a very well written book, every single character had to be developed in order for the deathes of the characters to work and for you to be invested in it. The best part about reading this book was the fact the Mr.Crichton took the time to actually write multibale (sorry for my crude spelling) computer comands on three pages in a row each time. This book is a most read in my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Great book, poor edition

    I'd give the book a higher rating because it is that good. I read the first edition when I was younger, and a second reading, it holds it very well. The characters aren't as engaging as the film version, but the book makes for a scary-fun read nonetheless. My only gripe is with this edition: there are WAY TOO MANY TYPOS in it. I don't know if the editor was on vacation or if he even saw this manuscript, because the typos were glaring and almost as frequently appearing as the dinosaurs themselves. I don't remember this many typos in the first edition, so why are they present here, and in such an outrageous quantity? Great book, but I hope they fix the abundant typos (such as calling Ellie "Elbe" and replace "th" with "m" and so on).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Epic

    A tremendously powerful story with a strong warning of the future of science. Kept on the edge for most of the book. Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    So worth the read

    Yeah, I skipped a few pages of chaos mathematics theory explanations, but this is one of those books that, as good as the movie is, the book is so much more. In fact, the movie took completely different directions with too many things.

    Never trust the movie. Always read the book. Hollywood takes too many liberties with an excellent story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 634 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32