Customer Reviews for

The Jury Master (David Sloane Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sparked my interest in reading again!

Friend let me borrow this book and I'm glad he did. The book was a quick read for me, which is rare. It kept me on the edge of my seat, not wanting to put it down. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I'm also going to read a John Grisham novel to co...
Friend let me borrow this book and I'm glad he did. The book was a quick read for me, which is rare. It kept me on the edge of my seat, not wanting to put it down. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I'm also going to read a John Grisham novel to compare authors.

posted by allenca21 on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay...

Hit "post" before I was able to finish my last review. I found the writing style to be decent, if not a bit predictible; but the plot... c'mon. Pretty farfetched. I had hoped this would be a great new series for me to read, but it looks like I'll have to keep looking...
Hit "post" before I was able to finish my last review. I found the writing style to be decent, if not a bit predictible; but the plot... c'mon. Pretty farfetched. I had hoped this would be a great new series for me to read, but it looks like I'll have to keep looking.

posted by OCGIRL on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Just Okay...

    Hit "post" before I was able to finish my last review. I found the writing style to be decent, if not a bit predictible; but the plot... c'mon. Pretty farfetched. I had hoped this would be a great new series for me to read, but it looks like I'll have to keep looking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Sparked my interest in reading again!

    Friend let me borrow this book and I'm glad he did. The book was a quick read for me, which is rare. It kept me on the edge of my seat, not wanting to put it down. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I'm also going to read a John Grisham novel to compare authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    This is an interesting read

    This book by Robert Dugoni is an interesting read. I enjoyed it but think that the author will get better as time goes by and more of his work is published.

    The plot was interesting and it was good reading. The mystery and suspense fans will enjoy the book and will certainly want to read more by this author who will get better and better.

    Looking forward to more from him.

    J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Smooth plot, unbelievable story

    The jacket makes a big deal out of David Sloane's almost supernatural ability to sway juries to verdicts they might otherwise not have arrived at. And the first dozen or so pages of the novel describe that ability. But no mention of it is made again until just before the end of this rather unbelievable tale, and then not in anything close to a legal context. <BR/><BR/>There are no holes in the storyline; you can follow it without any difficulty. But the coincidences and conspiracies keep on coming, one after the other, without any letup. This book makes David Baldacci's "The Camel Club" look like a piece of classic literature. The only reason it gets three stars is because of the seamless storyline and the action sequences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    A Good Thriller

    This is a good thriller because it keeps you guessing until virtually the last page. David Sloane is a no-nonsense attorney who 'plays' a jury to get clients cleared of negligence suits. One day he gets a call from a guy named Joe Branick. This call it important because it is the last call Branick made before 'supposedly' committing suicide. Sloane is haunted by recurring dreams of helplessly trying to save the same woman from an unruly mob. The call from Branick stirs up more memories. Meanwhile, Branick's death is being investigated by a detective Molia who is also concerned about the death of police officer Cooperman who responded to a call to the scene of Branick's 'suicide.' Molia is told by some Feds to stop investigating and turn everything over to them. Of course, curiousity gets the best of Molia and a sense of seeking justice for Cooperman so he continues to investigate anyway. Meanwhile the call to Sloane and a package from Branick that arrived by mail set off calls to military type assasins to get the package from Sloane and take care of him. Eventually, Sloane and Molia will meet up and make on odd pairing to go after the bad guys. There is a lot of good action with vivid descriptions and the author does a good job of keeping the suspense going. A good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    Avid Reader

    Great book, don't understand the person not being able to see the reason for Charles Jenkins! Nor the person who said the ending was unbelievable! Hey guys this is fiction not true life. (I find the Anna Nicole Smith debacle unbelievable and it is real life!!!)some of the end was far-fetched but did not detract from the fact that it was an excellent read The book was well written, each character was well defined. I don't usually like books that are political based mysteries but this one was exceptionally well done and I couldn't put it down. Am getting ready to purchase his new hardback!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    Far-fetched, to Say the Least

    Started out well, middle was good, but way too much back and forth and the ending was a reach-a very long reach. Hope he gets better with his next novel because there is something worth exploring here-just not this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    What

    The only way I could describe this book is 'What'. It started off as a good mystery and then nothing. The action was unbelievable, the characters were boring expect Molia, Sloane and Masters. The romances were totally unbelievable and unnecessary for the book. I still don't see what purpose Jenkins or Alex served in the book and the ending was beyond ridiculous. The book just seemed incomplete and lacking. Hopefully, this author's next try will be better. Two stars because it started off good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Where was the editor?

    I can't believe anybody liked this book. I found it cliched and predictable and written like a first draft.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    I had to finish Jury Master

    While I was a little disappointed that this book was not a courtroom thriller and while the ending was not quite plausible nor satisfying to me, the in-between parts were gripping and jam-packed with action. Chapters were short and ended in cliff-hanging fashion. I read it in one evening/night, refusing to put it down until I had reached the end. The book as written would be a little confusing as a movie but with Hollywood's talented help, it will be a smash with the right cast. I kept visualizing a Harrison Ford type as the hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    Best Read in Years

    Dugoni nailed it. This is the best read I've had in years...couldn't put it down on a long cross-country flight. Characters are well developed and the plot twists unmercifully. I'm anxiously looking forward to more work from this talented writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific thriller

    How one feels about San Francisco wrongful death attorney David Sloane depends on whether he represents you or opposes you in court. He is the master of manipulation as juries always go his way though the members may hate his guts years and fourteen major cases without a loss. --- Everything changes with one phone call. Presidential advisor Joe Branick calls Sloane just before he commits suicide. Not long afterward, a package from Branick arrives. Suddenly thugs seem interested in Sloane and his apartment is torn apart but nothing seems missing. Branick has sent him a file with a three decade old secret that if revealed will destroy political and business careers of the most powerful that were built on blood. It also contains information about the beleaguered lawyer¿s past and that of a stranger, former CIA agent Charles Jenkins. Trying to stay alive and uncover the entire truth at the same time as bulldog West Virginia police detective Tom Molia who thinks Branick is a homicide case. --- This is a terrific thriller that is made plausible by a wonderful cast who seem very real especially the attorney and former Fed on the run and their persistent adversaries. The story line is action-packed from the moment that Sloane wins his latest case and never slows down until the final get together in Seattle with a Bird poster and Sam the dog. Fans will appreciate Robert Dugoni¿s powerful novel debut and seek his nonfiction work THE CYANIDE CANARY (perhaps even more frightening because it is nonfiction in a time of lawsuit ceilings and no collections on even paltry safety violations). --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Uy

    Nu g ju b n nuury h ubngyr jjh u u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great read

    This is my kind of novel. Read all of the series in succession. Want to read more. Dugoni has what it takes. Looking forward to others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    If your a Rankin, Lindsey Davis, & Lee Child fan this will not cut it for you.

    The plot...kidnapped Mexican child grows up to move juries to his will and reconnects to his origins as savior of Mexico via politics! Ho hum.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Well written and a different kind of plot. Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    MAGNIFICENT DEBUT THRILLER!!! NOT TO BE MISSED!!!

    First of all, I LOVED THIS BOOK.....completely, totally!!! When I started reading it, I really thought that I was going to read another legal thriller....wow, was I ever wrong!!! This is an amazing first novel....intelligent and so well written that it's difficult to believe that Robert Dugoni hasn't been writing books for years. The first hundred pages were the stage setting...the character development, the plot thickening....I had absolutely NO idea where this book was going (which I loved) but I knew I had to keep reading! It was like that proverbial onion with all of its layers revealing itself, layer by layer....revealing a chilling, cautionary tale....and then, more layers revealing such an explosive climax that it truly blew me away!!! There were so many twists and turns ... such a shattering event with the grand finale....wow!!! What an ending! What a book.....filled with intrigue, conspiracy, compelling urgency and so timely....the characters and relationships of Sloane and Molia as well as Jenkins and Hart....Tina and Melda....verrry strong characters. This incredible book far surpasses those of Grisham, Turow and Baldacci combined!!! I eagerly look forward to more fabulous books from this phenomenal writer, Robert Dugoni.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Jury Master

    This is a terrific thriller that is made plausible by a wonderful cast who seem very real especially the attorney and former Fed on the run and their persistent adversaries. The story line is action-packed from the moment that Sloane wins his latest case and never slows down until the final get together in Seattle with a Bird poster and Sam the dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Jury Master

    This is a ho hum thriller that is made possibility by a wonderful cast who seem kinda real especially the attorney and former FBI on the loose and their relentless adversaries. The story line is battle-packed from the moment that Sloane prevails his latest case and only slows down once in the final chapter, when he gets together in Seattle with a Bird poster and Sam the dog. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2