Customer Reviews for

The Jury Master (David Sloane Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sparked my interest in reading again!

Friend let me borrow this book and I'm glad he did. The book was a quick read for me, which is rare. It kept me on the edge of my seat, not wanting to put it down. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I'm also going to read a John Grisham novel to co...
Friend let me borrow this book and I'm glad he did. The book was a quick read for me, which is rare. It kept me on the edge of my seat, not wanting to put it down. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I'm also going to read a John Grisham novel to compare authors.

posted by allenca21 on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay...

Hit "post" before I was able to finish my last review. I found the writing style to be decent, if not a bit predictible; but the plot... c'mon. Pretty farfetched. I had hoped this would be a great new series for me to read, but it looks like I'll have to keep looking...
Hit "post" before I was able to finish my last review. I found the writing style to be decent, if not a bit predictible; but the plot... c'mon. Pretty farfetched. I had hoped this would be a great new series for me to read, but it looks like I'll have to keep looking.

posted by OCGIRL on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Sparked my interest in reading again!

    Friend let me borrow this book and I'm glad he did. The book was a quick read for me, which is rare. It kept me on the edge of my seat, not wanting to put it down. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I'm also going to read a John Grisham novel to compare authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    Avid Reader

    Great book, don't understand the person not being able to see the reason for Charles Jenkins! Nor the person who said the ending was unbelievable! Hey guys this is fiction not true life. (I find the Anna Nicole Smith debacle unbelievable and it is real life!!!)some of the end was far-fetched but did not detract from the fact that it was an excellent read The book was well written, each character was well defined. I don't usually like books that are political based mysteries but this one was exceptionally well done and I couldn't put it down. Am getting ready to purchase his new hardback!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    Best Read in Years

    Dugoni nailed it. This is the best read I've had in years...couldn't put it down on a long cross-country flight. Characters are well developed and the plot twists unmercifully. I'm anxiously looking forward to more work from this talented writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific thriller

    How one feels about San Francisco wrongful death attorney David Sloane depends on whether he represents you or opposes you in court. He is the master of manipulation as juries always go his way though the members may hate his guts years and fourteen major cases without a loss. --- Everything changes with one phone call. Presidential advisor Joe Branick calls Sloane just before he commits suicide. Not long afterward, a package from Branick arrives. Suddenly thugs seem interested in Sloane and his apartment is torn apart but nothing seems missing. Branick has sent him a file with a three decade old secret that if revealed will destroy political and business careers of the most powerful that were built on blood. It also contains information about the beleaguered lawyer¿s past and that of a stranger, former CIA agent Charles Jenkins. Trying to stay alive and uncover the entire truth at the same time as bulldog West Virginia police detective Tom Molia who thinks Branick is a homicide case. --- This is a terrific thriller that is made plausible by a wonderful cast who seem very real especially the attorney and former Fed on the run and their persistent adversaries. The story line is action-packed from the moment that Sloane wins his latest case and never slows down until the final get together in Seattle with a Bird poster and Sam the dog. Fans will appreciate Robert Dugoni¿s powerful novel debut and seek his nonfiction work THE CYANIDE CANARY (perhaps even more frightening because it is nonfiction in a time of lawsuit ceilings and no collections on even paltry safety violations). --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great read

    This is my kind of novel. Read all of the series in succession. Want to read more. Dugoni has what it takes. Looking forward to others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    MAGNIFICENT DEBUT THRILLER!!! NOT TO BE MISSED!!!

    First of all, I LOVED THIS BOOK.....completely, totally!!! When I started reading it, I really thought that I was going to read another legal thriller....wow, was I ever wrong!!! This is an amazing first novel....intelligent and so well written that it's difficult to believe that Robert Dugoni hasn't been writing books for years. The first hundred pages were the stage setting...the character development, the plot thickening....I had absolutely NO idea where this book was going (which I loved) but I knew I had to keep reading! It was like that proverbial onion with all of its layers revealing itself, layer by layer....revealing a chilling, cautionary tale....and then, more layers revealing such an explosive climax that it truly blew me away!!! There were so many twists and turns ... such a shattering event with the grand finale....wow!!! What an ending! What a book.....filled with intrigue, conspiracy, compelling urgency and so timely....the characters and relationships of Sloane and Molia as well as Jenkins and Hart....Tina and Melda....verrry strong characters. This incredible book far surpasses those of Grisham, Turow and Baldacci combined!!! I eagerly look forward to more fabulous books from this phenomenal writer, Robert Dugoni.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Jury Master

    This is a terrific thriller that is made plausible by a wonderful cast who seem very real especially the attorney and former Fed on the run and their persistent adversaries. The story line is action-packed from the moment that Sloane wins his latest case and never slows down until the final get together in Seattle with a Bird poster and Sam the dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1