Customer Reviews for

Just after Sunset

Average Rating 4
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Settle in ... to be taken away!

This is like going back to King's very first collection of short stories, except this time the writing is so much more mature and the thrills are of the more psychological kind. No more does he rely so much on the "jump out and grab you" horror elements. Now, as with ...
This is like going back to King's very first collection of short stories, except this time the writing is so much more mature and the thrills are of the more psychological kind. No more does he rely so much on the "jump out and grab you" horror elements. Now, as with "Duma Key," King scrapes, claws and even burrows deep into your mind to find what unsettles you in everyday life. Reading these stories, especially "Rest Stop" and "Stationary Bike," you feel yourself lost in the fear of the places you never want to go because your not sure you will come back whole and sane. This time you realize that if what you were reading were actual experiences you just might SNAP! You might become something you can never find the way to leave behind you. "Willa" also reminds you of what happens when King finds the beauty in placing you in unusual territory. There is an amazing peace to this story much like that found in the best parts of "The Green Mile." Different, still unsettling to be sure ... but the amazing peace of it overwhelms you. Don't get too settled in though. "Gingerbread Girl" and "A Very Tight Place" remind you that King is still that kid around the campfire. He still wants you to scream, jump, squirm ... and, oh yeah, be very disgusted! A prime effort overall. I cannot recommend it enough!

posted by Mitch563 on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Get the print hardcover version, its cheaper

I'm finding a lot of remainder sale titles are still full price on here. Be cautious!

posted by wordsmithNYC on May 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Settle in ... to be taken away!

    This is like going back to King's very first collection of short stories, except this time the writing is so much more mature and the thrills are of the more psychological kind. No more does he rely so much on the "jump out and grab you" horror elements. Now, as with "Duma Key," King scrapes, claws and even burrows deep into your mind to find what unsettles you in everyday life. Reading these stories, especially "Rest Stop" and "Stationary Bike," you feel yourself lost in the fear of the places you never want to go because your not sure you will come back whole and sane. This time you realize that if what you were reading were actual experiences you just might SNAP! You might become something you can never find the way to leave behind you. "Willa" also reminds you of what happens when King finds the beauty in placing you in unusual territory. There is an amazing peace to this story much like that found in the best parts of "The Green Mile." Different, still unsettling to be sure ... but the amazing peace of it overwhelms you. Don't get too settled in though. "Gingerbread Girl" and "A Very Tight Place" remind you that King is still that kid around the campfire. He still wants you to scream, jump, squirm ... and, oh yeah, be very disgusted! A prime effort overall. I cannot recommend it enough!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    My Man King!

    I've had a problem with King's short stories lately, but only because they end too soon. Just After Sunset is an outstanding compilation of some of the author's finest tales and my only complaint is that I wanted more and more! As usual, King does not fail to send shivers down the spine while throwing in hilarious little tidbits and silly phrases. His insight into the human psyche is more finely tuned than ever and true King fans will undoubtedly love his latest publication. He is so much more than just a horror writer.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just After Sunset

    This is my second favorite short story collection by Stephen King. It features some of the most beautifully written stories that are touching, heartfelt, scary and real. "Graduation Afternoon" took my breath away and "N." is just about a close to perfect you can get. "The Things They Left Behind" is a 9/11 tale that will stun you. The only story that beats all these is from my #1 collection, SKELETON CREW: and that is "The Reach." Try these tales and see that King is just getting started.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephen King delivers once again. . .

    Just After Sunset hooked me right from the very first story and never let up on it's grip, even after I had finished the book. It was the first collection of short stories that I have read by King, so I cannot compare it to his other collections. But I can compare it to other short story collections, and Just After Sunset surpasses all of them. It would be hard if not impossible to find another author who can match the creativity of Stephen King. He really is a master at what he does, and this collection of short stories is more proof of his greatness. This is a must-have for any Stephen King fan or anyone who wants to get a book that is deserving of their hard earned money.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Stephen King WORK!!!!

    I must say, I have read a lot of Stephen king short story writings. But this one to me it is his best short story book. I really enjoy the story N, to me that touch home for me cause I'm a little OCD not much but enough where sometime its unbearable. And I felt very connected with Mr.N on so many different levels. I also enjoyed 'A very tight place', that was also very good and funny. But what is the saddest of all the story is 'Ayana', that story there was very touching and also had a Stephen King twist on it as well. But 'Cat from Hell' was published in March 1977 in Cavalier.The winning entry, as well as King's complete story, was published in the magazine in June of the same year. King revised the story and it was reprinted in Tales of Unknown Horror (1978).It also was very interested and kind of gross to read at the end.LOL. But over all a very well written book. It is a must read and a must have for all Stephen King fans!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "Just After Sunset" A Shining Star

    After some disappointing submissions, mostly those since the "Dark Tower" last hit the stands, the modern day master of horror Stephen King has redeemed himself with this selection of short stories. "Just After Sunset" is the literary equivalent of a CD whose every track is a musical winner; likewise all the short stories in this offering are imaginary masterpieces of the written word. Each yarn stands strong on its own accounting with reoccuring threads and references cropping at times in each, not the least of which is that of obessive compulsive behavior, amongst other subtle though no less disturbing connectins with the other tales provided in these pages. Throughout, this collection is threaded into a divine tapestry of compellingly creative chilling tales. Let us hope this is a promise of King's return to prominence as a teller of tales of terror. (liquidgee@comcast.net)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Vintage Steve

    Steve returns to his short story roots and turns out a work on par with Skeleton Crew and Nightmares and Dreamscapes. This book is PERFECT for travelling, as the majority of the stories are about 15 pages long and engrossing enough to make you move right on the the next story when the previous story ends. Steve has been on a roll as of late with Duma Key and now Just After Sunset. I sincerely hope he keeps it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    I am not sure if I have ever read a book of short stories, and i

    I am not sure if I have ever read a book of short stories, and if I have then maybe a few. But, after reading Just After Sunset, it set high standards for how every book with a compilation of stories should be organized and written. Just like the multiple reviews from this “Barnes and Noble” website, the majority of the audience commented on the quality and thrill of the writing. The book is a compilation of short stories, each beautifully written. Based off each review, the usual presentation included their feelings towards the book and a comparison to other texts or pieces of literature. 
    Maybe this review would follow the same cliché format, but one thing is for sure: this book is worth buying. The book is only around ten dollars, and it has more than a dozen well-written stories. Each story is well worth anyone’s money. It ranges from a variety of different backgrounds and unexpected plots, so it can captivate almost every group of readers. If any reader is interested in a fun, good read, then pick up Just After Sunset by Stephen King. If the reader is interested in learning instructional concepts, then maybe this book is not the right fit. 
    All the short stories within the book contained many different elements of writing. Viewing the stories under critical lenses, they could be viewed under the Psychoanalytical lens, Marxist lens, Feminist lens, and etc. One of the stories was interpreted in a literary aspect by viewing the power struggles and the role of life and responsibilities. The writing incorporates creative ideas and grabs the reader’s attention, which makes it the highlight of every story in the book. Because each story can either be a fantasy or a situation that can be related to real life, it gives the ability to make connections with each story. For example, one of the stories “N.” was illustrated in a sci-fi and fantasy point of view, so many connections between modern movies could be made.
    Although the book does not contain a complex form of writing, it provides stronger meaning within the texts and the plot. Its Lexile level is undeterminable, but Stephen King’s writing usually ranges in a 700 Lexile level. This book is recommended to anyone that wants an entertaining and unexpected read. The texts are brilliant with unimaginable thoughts. People with an especially broad imagination would be captivated with this book. Overall Just After Sunset was a success in every way possible. It effectively added writing elements, curiosity, interests, and ingenuity.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Anon

    Just finished reading this collection of short stories and am amazed at the genius of this author. THE CAT FROM HELL did for cats what CUJO did for dogs. A VERY TIGHT PLACE was just so gross but what a great tale. AYANA and THE THINGS THEY LEFT BEHIND are very touching. GRADUATION DAY will leave you stunned. These were my favorites, but all stories are good. You won't go wrong by getting this book. Also nice are the author's notes on each story at back of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    "N"

    The best story I have ever read/heard. Completly amazing!!! I have listened to "N" on audio book AT LEAST a hundred times. I am not even exaggerating. That story is beautifully written and utterly terrifying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Simply one of the BEST short story books every written!

    Every page, every story, every line... all worth every second of your time. Stephen King surely out did himself in this one. Every short story was captivating from beginning to end and left you wanting more! He truly lives up to his name, the King of horror and suspense! I highly recommend this one, its a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    I enjoyed this book

    From start to finish, this collection kept me enthralled
    I really liked every story, none disappointed me
    I recommend this collection for good quick, thought provoking reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stephen King...what else can you say.

    I love Stephen King and this book did not disappoint me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    just when you thought it was safe to read short storys again think again

    stephen king returns with this amazing book with amazing charecters amazing storylines amazing everything the king of horror has returned with a comeback so awesome itll leave twilight fans begging to stop the authors style of writing stephen king is both a good author and short storyteller something ms meyer is not but king is back in business with just after sunset under the dome cell full dark no stars and this amazing novel with amazing short storys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spooky. Leaves you thinking.

    I thought this book was great. After every story it left me thinking. What I really liked about it was how it was made up of a lot of short stories instead of just one long one. And every one would grab my attention until the end. I would recommended this book to anyone who likes to read even a little or a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    overall it was pretty good

    not all of the stories were that great but most of them were. some of them were too short and not memorable @ all. i found myself trying to figure out what the title had to do with the story. Really good book tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book in True Stephen King Form!

    My husband got me this book for Christmas last year. I usually buy Stephen King's books as soon as they come out. I don't know how I missed this one. I was so excited to see that he had written a book of short stories. After just reading "Under the Dome" (which was also outstanding!), I felt I needed something a bit shorter. The stories are all very different and have intriguing story lines. He has such a way of keeping my attention throughout the story and several of them have very surprising twists. And of course, in true Stephen King style, several of the stories are quite horrifying! This was great reading and I loved that the short stories allowed me to put it down when necessary and not be lost when I picked it up again. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Short Stories

    There 13 short stories of his work that are in this book each one a good read into Mr. Kings imagination I bet he was having fun writing them over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Favorite of King's Short Stories

    It's a book of short stories by Stephen King, Just After Sunset, and she really liked the first story, "Willa," set in a creepy old train depot, but "The Gingerbread Girl" was her favorite. All the stories held my interest to the end, but the last one, A Very Tight Place," is more gross-out than anything. But extremely Stephen King-ish gross out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6