Customer Reviews for

Just after Sunset

Average Rating 4
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Settle in ... to be taken away!

This is like going back to King's very first collection of short stories, except this time the writing is so much more mature and the thrills are of the more psychological kind. No more does he rely so much on the "jump out and grab you" horror elements. Now, as with ...
This is like going back to King's very first collection of short stories, except this time the writing is so much more mature and the thrills are of the more psychological kind. No more does he rely so much on the "jump out and grab you" horror elements. Now, as with "Duma Key," King scrapes, claws and even burrows deep into your mind to find what unsettles you in everyday life. Reading these stories, especially "Rest Stop" and "Stationary Bike," you feel yourself lost in the fear of the places you never want to go because your not sure you will come back whole and sane. This time you realize that if what you were reading were actual experiences you just might SNAP! You might become something you can never find the way to leave behind you. "Willa" also reminds you of what happens when King finds the beauty in placing you in unusual territory. There is an amazing peace to this story much like that found in the best parts of "The Green Mile." Different, still unsettling to be sure ... but the amazing peace of it overwhelms you. Don't get too settled in though. "Gingerbread Girl" and "A Very Tight Place" remind you that King is still that kid around the campfire. He still wants you to scream, jump, squirm ... and, oh yeah, be very disgusted! A prime effort overall. I cannot recommend it enough!

posted by Mitch563 on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Get the print hardcover version, its cheaper

I'm finding a lot of remainder sale titles are still full price on here. Be cautious!

posted by wordsmithNYC on May 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Stephen King is by far one of the best authors. He really knows how to describe each scene and grab the readers in and make them feel as if they're right in the room with the characters. There are a few stories that seemed to linger in the back of my mind, even after I'd put the book down and went about my day. That's when you know an author has really grabbed his audience's attention. I would love to see some of these stories made into movies! A great read overall!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great collection of King's stories.

    After reading the fist few stories in this one I was thinking to myself "King has lost his touch". The first few stories were so predictable. But then it started getting really good. There were only a handful of the stories in this one that I didn't love. It wasn't that they were bad, they were just predictable.

    I think my favorite stories were Stationary Bike, The Things They Left Behind, and N. I really think that they could have been turned into full-length novels. But they were still really good as short stories. N kind of had a IT feel to it. The Things They Left Behind was just weird, but in a good way. Stationary Bike was also weird. I thought it would be kind of like Thinner when I started reading it.

    I usually don't like to read short stories, as I don't get enough time to connect with the characters and it's hard for me to get a real feel for things. With a few exceptions in this collected that was not the case. King's ability to write a short story that doesn't seem abrupt was great. And the characters were all fairly well-rounded.

    This one did take me a while to read. Although at 539 pages it didn't take me nearly as long as I thought it would. The short stories were fairly fast paced and so they lent themselves to be read very fast.

    Overall it was pretty good. The preview of Under The Dome in the back has me chomping at the bit to get my hands on that one.

    A review copy of this title was provided by Book Cove Reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Yessir; He's Back.

    I have to admit, I thought he had fallen off, lost the touch etc. Mr. King
    However with this collection of short stories he has proven himself to be the
    true king of the short story horror genre.An enjoyable read that you truly
    hate to put down.This is definitely his best work in years!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great collection of stories, but....

    I'm of two minds about Stephen King's latest book. He doesn't have anything left to prove since the recent releases of "Lisey's Story" and "Duma Key", his best books in years, which re-established his place as America's best modern horror writer. But he's always struck me as someone who needs to keep doing what he loves - in this case, write horror stories - or he'll just wither away. Which in King's case wouldn't be a bad way to go, really. <BR/><BR/>But after finishing "Just After Sunset", I have to wonder if that very dark place from which King pulls his stories has (temporarily, one hopes) shut down. His style and prose are top-notch, which is why I'm giving this book four stars. He can still write rings around most of today's other so-called horrormeisters. But with the exception of "N", none of the stories in this collection fit the Stephen King definition of horror as I've come to understand it. They all deal with the dark side of the world, but none of them except for "N" would give me nightmares after finishing them. <BR/><BR/>Some of these stories, such as "Willa" and "The Cat From Hell", read as though King wrote them at the beginning of his career, before he'd found his niche. And indeed, the postscript at the end of this book indicates that for these two stories that is exactly the case. <BR/><BR/>I'm still recommending this addition to the canon, warts and all. It's light-years better than the trash King put out years ago - trash such as "Firestarter" and "Cujo". But I'm hoping that King's next book, whatever it is, will follow the path he set with "Lisey" and "Key".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Gingerbread Girl (Spoiler Alert)

    I hate to admit this, but from the point of when Emily gets free and runs from the kichen, until the killer finds her in the room, I actually skipped past the entire description of the house.

    Stephen King kiddingly refers to his self as having "Diaherra of the keys", and he sure shouldn't be kidding. That entire description had nothing to do with the main plot of the story. In my not so humble opinion, it is what I call a "Filler". It is there for one purpose, to fill pages, until we get back to the part of the story we *really* want to read. It interupted the flow of the story, the best part of the story, I might add.

    Is the story worth reading, well of course it is. It IS Stephen King after all! Is the long, wordy description of the house worth reading? Of course not. And believe me, I went back and read the pages that I hastedly skimmed over and found nothing of value to them.

    ...On to Harvey's Dream, where I assure you, if I run into any more "fillers", I shall skip past those with a smile, as it is just in Mr. King's nature to give us much more than what we need, to get to what we most want :)

    K.R.C.
    June 2014
    Phoenix, Az.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Stephen King's "Just After Sunset" was definitely wort

    Stephen King's &quot;Just After Sunset&quot; was definitely worth reading. The short stories included were well written and kept you wanting to read more. Although some of the short stories were better than others, (&quot;Gingerbread Girl,&quot; &quot;N.,&quot; &quot;Things They Left Behind,&quot; and &quot;The Cat From Hell,&quot;) overall they were all good stories that kept you involved. As Lady Guinevere stated, &quot;There are a few stories that seemed to linger in the back of my mind, even after reading the book.&quot; It is definitely a compilation of very creepy stories, and will leave you thinking about the meaning and freaky occurrences for long after you finish the book. He picks situations most of us have been in, in our lives and turns them into scary occurrences that get in your head. 
    The one bit of criticism I would offer King was to know when to cut the story off, though. Some stories went on for way longer than they should have, and didn't contribute to the suspense, but rather left me feeling kind of bored. The text itself is simple to comprehend, but there is a lot of underlying meaning and symbolism. To fully appreciate this book, I would recommend it to people from high school and above. 
    I would also recommend to save &quot;N.&quot; for last. It was easily one of the best stories in the book, and after reading it, the other stories after didn't seem to quite stack up. For $9.99 this book is worth every penny and more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Haunting and chilling!

    Buy this and embrace king's supernatural delights. Classic king!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read....

    As usual I read this book in just a few hours....most Stephen King books I just can't put down and short stories are even more fun. I always think since they are stories that I can stop after a few and save some for later, it just never happens that way and I end up reading all of them in one or two sittings. Some were better than others, but all were fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    A good book of short stories

    After seeing "The Green Mile" recently on TV, I thought I would give this book a try since it had a variety of stories. I fould some good and some ok, but overall it is a good book and a good introduction to Stephen King's multitude of works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I'm confused!

    I'm confused. If this book isn't being released until November 2009, how did I manage to buy a copy of it in Australia in 2008?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid Stuff From the King

    King's unique, if at times downright eccentric, writing style shines through with almost every story. While I didn't care for some (i.e. Harvey's Dream, Graduation Afternoon, good efforts nonetheless but ones that he probably knocked out in a good hour or two and could have been enhanced with time, etc.) he compensates, especially, in my opinion, with Stationary Bike, A Very Tight Place, and my personal favorite "N." As a lifeguard with an almost unfair amount of spare time, it was a pleasure consuming my work hours reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sample A Masterful Blend

    This is a good sampling of the KING at his best. The author shows how he sets up the plot of a story, and how he develops it into a workable piece of fiction. Each of the stories in the book was written by the author at a different stage in his life, and shows the progression he took to develop the attention to detail that are his trademark, as well as his expertise at character development. The stories are engaging and scary, and progress at a rapid pace. While some of the stories are only a few pages long, the same attention for detail that he spends in his full length novels is evident, and he does not disappoint in the terror/supspense department. Overall? A very good read that delivers and teaches the novice how it is done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stephen King doing what he does Best!

    This is a very good collection of short stories from the master. Very well rounded and engaging stories are contained within. Can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another side of Stephen King. Great Book for short reads!!!

    I enjoyed this book and usually read more than one story in a sitting. I have read King for many years and found these stories to be a different side of his usual writing style - one I enjoyed as much as the other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephen King is SCARY!!!!!

    Amazing writing style. Not for the faint of heart, I assure you! Watch out for reading this at night and having an animal jump up on your bed afterwards, especially cats! You'll just have to read these stories to know what I mean. Many of these stories aren't as scary as previous books, but I understand that it's harder to be scary as the stories get shorter, but The Cat from Hell is the scariest story in the book! Not for reading after dark...unless, of course, you like being scared!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Situations that can happen to you...with a twist

    Interesting situations that can easily happen to you, with the typical King's thrilling twist. What would you do in those situations? Good read, keeps you on an edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of good stories in this one

    Several stories rolled into one book. Most of the stories were actually pretty good. King comes through with his usual writing style. Some of the stories could have been longer and some were perfect as a short story. My favorite story in the book is "N". I think all of us have a little of "N" inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Good stories...

    I always have enjoyed Stephen King's short stories, and this book is no different. This book is filled with stories that make you wonder, "could this REALLY happen?" Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    Just Aftr Sunset reviewed on YouTube

    Check out my review of Just After Sunset at YouTube. Just enter BobsBooks on the search engine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6