BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Just Another Day in My Insanely Real Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This is a fantastic story. Real preteens and early teens can relate to the main character's feelings and problems.

posted by 11064115 on August 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not that good

I didn't like this book much overall.I enjoyed how the book began exciting,but the book just had so much realism,it was depressing.Also,Cassie isn't as 'spunky and sassy' as the inside cover said she was.In my opinion,she's just hypercritical of others,even good, genuin...
I didn't like this book much overall.I enjoyed how the book began exciting,but the book just had so much realism,it was depressing.Also,Cassie isn't as 'spunky and sassy' as the inside cover said she was.In my opinion,she's just hypercritical of others,even good, genuinely kind people like Bess.I can understand she'd be insecure,but she thinks she's better than everybody because she's writing a fantasy story.I also think the story wasn't one a 12-year-old would write,it was so simple and basic.

posted by GeorgiaPorgia on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Yu

    I love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Ttvvtv

    Hallarious! This book is awsome wish i could rate it 234,676,545,455,555,555,555 star's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Solving zoe

    I think this book is really good and i recomend it for ages 9-15.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Awesome Book

    I love this book it is so good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    We all feel like our own life is the most hectic, the busiest, and more demanding than anyone else's. That sometimes we are too busy with school and work that we hardly have time for ourselves. Unfortunately for Cassie, not only is her life hectic, but it is totally insane. <BR/><BR/>At the age of eleven, Cassie's parents decided to get a divorce and her father up and left. Usually, one of the parents gets to keep the lavish house that they all once lived in as a happy family, but no one ended up keeping the house. Instead, Cassie and her mom and two siblings all move into a run-down apartment, selling the car and the house. Now Cassie has to manage everything, especially since her mother is always working late, her older sister is forgetting to get the groceries or is always on the phone, and her little brother is just crying out for some attention.. <BR/><BR/>It's not only home that's changing for Cassie. The two people she thought were her best friends seem to be turning on her, and at school her favorite subject is turning out to be a pain, all because of her teacher, Mr. Mullaney. Fortunately one good thing that comes out of that class is getting to write in a journal about anything she wants. That's where her imagination gets to thrive and Cassie finds peace. Let's just hope that Cassie can find a way to manage her new insane life. <BR/><BR/>JUST ANOTHER DAY IN MY INSANELY REAL LIFE is insanely hilarious. Cassie is that one character that every person is able to connect with, especially since most of us do have obnoxious siblings. The perfect read for anyone down in the dumps, Barbara Dee creates a cast of characters, along with the many excerpts from Cassie's journal, that will put a smile on everyone's face.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    a reviewer

    We all feel like our own life is the most hectic, the busiest, and more demanding than anyone else's. That sometimes we are too busy with school and work that we hardly have time for ourselves. Unfortunately for Cassie, not only is her life hectic, but it is totally insane. At the age of eleven, Cassie¿s parents decided to get a divorce and her father up and left. Usually, one of the parents gets to keep the lavish house that they all once lived in as a happy family, but no one ended up keeping the house. Instead, Cassie and her mom and two siblings all move into a run-down apartment, selling the car and the house. Now Cassie has to manage everything, especially since her mother is always working late, her older sister is forgetting to get the groceries or is always on the phone, and her little brother is just crying out for some attention.. It's not only home that¿s changing for Cassie. The two people she thought were her best friends seem to be turning on her, and at school her favorite subject is turning out to be a pain, all because of her teacher, Mr. Mullaney. Fortunately one good thing that comes out of that class is getting to write in a journal about anything she wants. That¿s where her imagination gets to thrive and Cassie finds peace. Let's just hope that Cassie can find a way to manage her new insane life. JUST ANOTHER DAY IN MY INSANELY REAL LIFE is insanely hilarious. Cassie is that one character that every person is able to connect with, especially since most of us do have obnoxious siblings. The perfect read for anyone down in the dumps, Barbara Dee creates a cast of characters, along with the many excerpts from Cassie¿s journal, that will put a smile on everyone's face. **Reviewed by: Randstostipher 'tallnlankyrn' Nguyen

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    great

    Shows about life

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome

    such a cool book it is so interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was really good. I would reccomend this to anyone 10 and up. This was probaly one of the best books i ever read. It was outstanding. Cassie's good humor works out good with some situations. She is trying to get the attention of a boy she likes named Danny, Trying to find new friends cause her old ones are really mean, trying to write a great fantasy novel for her mean English teacher, and on top of all that she has to take care of her little brother, and cook dinner, and do most of the work because her sister Miranda is not there. I really enjoyed this book and it has a nice ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    An entirely different opinion

    I must take issue with the Kirkus review posted on this site. I have read Barbara Dee's novel, as has my nine year old, and we both enjoyed it thoroughly. It is funny, extremely imaginative and completely engrossing. Moreover, it is age-appropriate for tweens. In my opinion, the Kirkus review is gratuitously harsh: Don't let it deter you from giving this engaging new work of children's fiction a chance!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    If your child is a reader aged about 10 to 14....

    then you¿ve probably spent a lot of time looking for books like Just Another Day in My Insanely Real Life. This is a charming, delightfully written novel for middle-grade readers, which deals in an age-appropriate way with a real-world conflict. The narrator, Cassie Baldwin, is a 12-year-old girl whose family has come apart, and whose writerly ambitions and precocious, edgy sense of humor are helping her to deal with her own anger, confusion and sadness as well as those of her mother, older sister and younger brother. The author has a wonderful ear for dialogue and a sharp eye for the poignant realities of Cassie¿s changing relationships with her family, her teachers, and her male and female friends. Both of my children (an eleven-year-old girl, and a twelve-and-a-half-year-old boy who normally wouldn't be caught dead reading a 'girl's' book, but was captivated by the humor) found Cassie¿s story touching and her wordplay hilarious. Highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1