BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Just Another Hero

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing-one of my favorites!

This is one of my favorite books. I don't think I would be able to say anything bad about it. I really liked how it was told in different point of views from the different students. This book really captured what high school is like, there's always drama. While you're r...
This is one of my favorite books. I don't think I would be able to say anything bad about it. I really liked how it was told in different point of views from the different students. This book really captured what high school is like, there's always drama. While you're reading this book, it will keep you on your toes, you won't want to put it down. I for one, highly recommend this book to teens or anyone who likes this type of reading. I alo recommend the two other books in this series, they're great too. Please read this book, & I hope you like it!

posted by erin24 on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

When I first started reading "Just Another Hero", I wa

When I first started reading "Just Another Hero", I was excited to finish the trilogy and had enjoyed the other books, so I knew this was
going to be good. It did start off REALLY slow, but  it was interesting getting to know the personalities of Arielle and ...
When I first started reading "Just Another Hero", I was excited to finish the trilogy and had enjoyed the other books, so I knew this was
going to be good. It did start off REALLY slow, but  it was interesting getting to know the personalities of Arielle and Kofi. It was definitley
suspensful, and kind of wierd because at the same time the hostage was taking place in the book, the tragedy of Sandy Hook
Elementary had occured. Overall, I think it was a good book!  

posted by Alteria on December 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing-one of my favorites!

    This is one of my favorite books. I don't think I would be able to say anything bad about it. I really liked how it was told in different point of views from the different students. This book really captured what high school is like, there's always drama. While you're reading this book, it will keep you on your toes, you won't want to put it down. I for one, highly recommend this book to teens or anyone who likes this type of reading. I alo recommend the two other books in this series, they're great too. Please read this book, & I hope you like it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Awesome Book

    I would recommend this book to a friend because I personally thought that this book was amazing and unforgettable. I absolutely loved the characters like Dana Wolfe, November Nelson, Arielle Gresham, Olivia Thigpen and much more. The reason why I think this book was amazing and unforgettable is because in each chapter it has different characters and also those children's had different kind life's. Every single character had a problem and they had to solve them on their own they also needed help to solve them. Every single person in this book had a different life style.
    Another thing I liked about the book was that at the end it talked about how they all need to help each other to solve their problems. Its like a community because a community is when people help other people when they have a problem or need someone to talk to. In this book you relate your life to one of the characters life. Its very detailing and that's another thing that I loved about this book. This book was awesome and I hope that any one who reads this book thinks so too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Must Buy!!

    This book is so good! It is a must buy. I recommend any Sharon Draper book. She's such a good author! And the books are cheeeaapp!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    awesome

    great book and suspenseful

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    awsome

    this was the best book ever you wouldn't believe what you will read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Another Hero by Sharon Draper

    Draper's final book in the Battle for Jericho trilogy, Just Another Hero, was a great urban fiction. The plot was fast paced, the African American characters believable using as the backdrop---their final year of high school as seniors includes many fire drills, jobs after school and thoughts of getting into college. I just loved Draper's characterization of Arielle and her mother. They really grew from materialistic one dimensional characters to becoming thinking, feeling women. Kofi was an athlete, in love with Dana, but addicted to pain killers from surgery. He is able to beat his addiction, keep his promises to Dana, and win a scholarship to college. November is back at school, while her baby, Sunshine, is being cared for by friends. A few other memorable students include Osrick as the brainy wierdo that everyone makes fun of and Crazy Jack who clangs his cymbals in the hallway and may be pulling fire alarms to get out of taking tests. As the seniors move toward graduation, money and ipods are going missing, just Who is responsible? And what really makes a HERO? Draper's characters have grown, deepened, and work hard as they move toward their futures. Read all three Draper books and feel how these friends cope with the anguish and drama of everyday life. Great for the reluctant reader also!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    JUST ANOTHER HERO is the final book in Sharon M. Draper's trilogy that began with THE BATTLE OF JERICHO and NOVEMBER BLUES. It takes readers inside a Cincinnati high school to follow the lives of a group of students who are now seniors finishing their high school careers and heading on to whatever their futures may hold.

    This group of friends has experienced a lot over the years. They have watched out for each other, fallen in love, and had disagreements that changed the course of their relationships. Now in their final year together, they are dealing with personal challenges, family issues, and the usual academic hassles of high school.

    Arielle, having realized the error of her ways, is making her way back into her old circle of friends. November is returning to school after the premature birth of her daughter, Sunshine. Kofi receives a letter of acceptance to MIT but now must worry about how to pay for the privilege of attending the prestigious school. Jericho and Olivia have a strong relationship and are the envy of everyone.

    Running alongside the stories of this group of friends are some potentially explosive situations. Osrick continues to be the target for practical jokes and harassment. Crazy Jack creates chaos in the halls and classrooms and is no doubt the reason for all the fake fire drills disrupting the school day. Eddie has returned from juvenile detention, causing more unwanted tension. And everyone is completely frustrated by a rash of thefts plaguing students and teachers alike.

    Author Sharon M. Draper is an expert at capturing the high school spirit and making her characters come alive. Her ability to create entertaining and believable high school scenarios makes her books popular with many teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Book

    This book is so far good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    LuvBug

    100%Perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Ereueudjhfhjfhfhdhdhdhd

    Jdfjdhfjjfnfncnf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Best

    This is great ill read it 2 times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    This book was about kids in high school its there last year of s

    This book was about kids in high school its there last year of school. Last school year josh died and left November pregent with joshs kid.The senior class of this Ohio high school could use a hero. Arielle has had it with her stepfather, who is abusing her and her mom by keeping his money. Kofi has recoverd from his broken arm, but he still uses the pain meds to get through the day and his increasing stress about college and home life. November has returned after giving birth to her and Joshs pre-mature child Sunshine. Unfortunately, Eddie is back to after serving some time in juvenille detention. With the fire alarms being pulled on almost on weekly basis and personal stuff being stolen, everyone thinks Eddie is back with his old tricks. But things take a drastic turn when the final fire alarm sounds, and not everyone can leave the school.

    if you’re like me and haven’t read the first two books in Sharon Draper’s other books you will get an idea of what her other books are like wonce you read this book you will want to read her other books.I liked this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Great book

    This book is so good it makes u feel like your there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Ggrrrrr!

    These flippin reviews/summaries suck!! They make the books sound amazing--which they probly r--but they give away stuff. Like, for example, now i know Josh dies and now i know November is pregnant with his baby. I didnt want to know that yet!!! (I havent read the books but i should.) Anyway, these books sound great. Ill think bout readin them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    The best book everr!!!

    I've read this book and its amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Gods angel

    God loves everyone and is so amazing.you have to trust me pray to god for a week and tell him to reveal himself to you.It really works.BELIVE !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    What makes a good story.

    Hi I am a teenager and i really dont like to read has often as i should. But as i read Sharon Drapor books i feel as thouugh im right there with them.I personally think that all teenagers should read her books
    Sincerliy,
    A teenager

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    By Jhanqie

    This book is so so amazing it help me know wrong from right and it tought me so so many other things too and by the way she is a hero!!!!!!!!!!!!! :--)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    highly recommended

    this book was very realistic it tought me so many things it was great i really couldn't put the book down until my mom or my teacher told me its time leave or go to bed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Life As A Teenager-Great For Any High School Student

    Sharon M.Draper's books are all about teenage life and death situations. It really give some teens things that they could realate to their life problems. The book inspired me that you cant trust everybody but you can forgive people. The story did move me because it made me think outside the box about different situations and things that really happens in reality to people each and everyday. I have read most of Sharon Draper's book so yes i would read plenty more books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3