Customer Reviews for

Just Between You and Me: A Novel of Losing Fear and Finding God

Average Rating 5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOTS TO ENJOY!

    The story is one full of hilarious mishaps, fun, lots of humor, and tender heart. This is moving and meaningful and perfect reading for women.
    Ivy, Texas is the last place Maggie Montgomery wants to go, but at the urgent request of her dad, she returns to her hometown. Maggie Montgomery is a cinematographer who's not afraid of anything except going "home". Maggie must face her demons and reality.
    A budding romance with the local vet, a sister with a drug addiction, and a haunting memory give Maggie's story layers of good reading material. Lots to enjoy!




    I also loved TAKE FOUR and EXPLOSION IN PARIS.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    this should be a movie!

    this is an amazing book! i can't believe it, its so amazing. it is awesome. i can totally see a movie of this! i already know the actors and actresses that will be in it.

    it starts of with Maggie. she thinks she's fearless, everyone thinks she is fearless. but she's not, the death of her mother haunts her, her sister's stubborn daughter, and a few friends that aren't willing to let go who she was in high school. and then there is Connor Blake- one of the nerds from way back- he returns and Maggie and him but heads a few times.

    Maggie's friend tries to set them up together. and Maggie realizes that instead of running away from love, she needs to embrace it. when the situation turns- a job interview- video graphing and other stuff, she is forced to walk away from love, but is that what what she really wants?

    this book, is dramatic, romantic, and amazing, it reflects what a talented writer Jenny B Jones is. it will keep you entertained, make you cry, and keep you laughing. you might even read it again and again.

    i loaned this book to 2 of my friends, and they loved it. this is definitely a great book! it will make you wish there was a movie of this. maybe someday there will be...... hopefully.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Moving

    I am a HUGE fan of Jenny's YA books and have been for the past few years so I was totally eager to read her first adult fiction novel. Her YA books are totally fun to read and really speak to me so I had high expectations for this book. I was definitely not disappointed. Even though Maggie is older than Jenny's past protagonist, she still in a voice that I could totally relate to. Maggie gives a lot of one-liners and can be quite sarcastic at times which adds to the humor in the book. It's good she does that because there's a lot of heavy material in the book to tackle. Her relationship with her niece is a highlight of the book as we watch them grow together.

    The part of the book that stood out most to me was the entire dynamic of Maggie's family. She's had to bear the weight of being present while her mother committed suicide and then having a mentally unstable sister blame her for it. Plus her father seems to care more about hiding the situation than being there for the daughter that really needs him. I was so glad when she confronted her father. He honestly made me mad while reading the book. I know I say this now while I don't have kids, but there is no way I am going to knowingly fund my child's drug habit and pretend to myself that I'm "helping" them.

    One thing I was really worried about was that I was afraid Maggie was going to have give up all her dreams just to stay back at home. Many books have this storyline where the main character has left home to find their dreams but then end up having to return to fulfill family obligations and thus sacrifice their future plans. While family is always important, I just hate having to see people give up careers they've worked so hard for. Thankfully that does not happen in this book. Without giving away any huge spoilers, I was pleased that Maggie was able to fulfill both her duty to family and accomplish the dream she's always wanted.

    As I said before I really enjoyed reading this book. Jenny's style of writing is really easy to read and thrusts you into the story so you feel like you are a part of it. The characters come to life and are extremely realistic. There aren't too many Christian books that wouldn't let a character like Allison end up the way she does without a happy ending or without getting magically healed. I was really pleased with this book and it's probably one of my favorite reads of the year. If you haven't read any of Jenny's books (or even if you have) this is definite must read. HIGHLY recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Romance? Jones Totally Brings It!

    Jones jumps genre into adult romance with the aplomb of a professional ballet dancer. Her knack for flawlessly juggling humor and life's grittier issues now enhances the grown-up woman's romance. Jones' teen readers have leapt with her into the adult market without a hitch-if the teens I know are any indication. Jones will, no doubt, add a legion of adults to her following. Bravo! For any who wondered if Jones could master a full-on romance. She totally brings it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This story is so good it's making my best fiction for 2009 list!

    I loved how this entire story played out. The emotional landscape was rich and thoroughly plowed. The hero was incredibly dreamy and yet realistic and believable. The heroine's issues were compelling, interesting, and clearly well-researched. The minor charactor, Riley, was probably the best portrayal of a screwed up kid that I've ever read. She was totally real and perfectly developed. Everything about her issues rang true. Even the sister, Allison, was shown in a believable fashion. I've worked with numerous mentally ill and drug abusing people in my lifetime and Allison's issues were spot-on as well as her way of dealing with them.

    This story really tugged at my heart strings because each character was well-done and could easily be people I've known and loved. On top of all of those high praises I have to add that the romantic tension was delicious and the emotional and spiritual arcs were perfectly done. I can't stand contrived tension or plastic faith inserted into a story to make it fit the Christian label. Worse, it really bugs me when a book is labeled Christian and there is no mention of Christ anywhere in the story.

    Everything in this book rang true to me. Just Between You and Me was so good, in fact, that it's making my best of 2009 fiction list. I highly recommend this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite Jenny B. Jones Book!!!!

    I have read all of Jenny B. Jones' books, and Just Between You and Me is now my favorite! Don't get me wrong, I absolutely loved the other ones as well, but this book was a great mixture of both the normal sass along with a great message about faith. It blows me away how this author can write all of her books that make me catch myself laughing out loud! Just Between You and Me had a lot of funny one-liners! However, it also made me reevaluate my walk with the Lord, and enabled me to realize that I also don't always give everything over to Him.

    I would HIGHLY recommend Just Between You and Me to anyone at any age. You will thoroughly enjoy this book and won't be able to put it down until the end. You will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    God Gives You Courage To Face Fear

    "There's a feeling in the air, and I don't like it. A feeling that says, Things are about to get messy and out of control. Messy I can handle. The contents of my purse are a testimonial to that. But the relationship business? Let's just say I'm a better cinematographer than I am a girlfriend."

    This statement out of the mouth of Maggie, world traveler, great at her job, but not so good with relationships of any kind; which she soon discovers when a family emergency brings her home to Ivey, Texas. The last place on earth she wants to be. Talk about messy?

    Maggie is going to church and hears the pastor say, "What's holding you back today? Every single one of us has fears. You know who eats that up? The enemy. He loves nothing more than to see you hanging tight to all those things you're afraid of. .."
    Maggie wonders if the pastor is talking directly to her, and you'll wonder if Jenny is talking to you.

    This book grabbed my heart and attention right from the start. Jenny B. Jones not only has Maggie discover she might have a few fears she's holding on to but she made me think about fear in a deeper, personal sense. What does facing your fear look like? I think that this author does an amazing job of showing Maggie how to identify her fears, but it made this reader think about the issue of fear as well.

    Bravo, Jenny! for penning such a dynamic, funny, heartfelt story of unconditional love, forgiveness, and letting God take the drivers' seat of our lives. It's a scary thing to do. Can Maggie pull it off, could you? Jenny gives you hope and a little bit of her testimony about dealing with fear, in the back of the book. I can't stop thinking about this book and neither will you!

    Nora St.Laurent
    Finding Hope Through Fiction
    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Jenny, Jenny who can I turn to
    You give me something I can hold on to
    Okay, aside from the fact that those 2 lines are a mini tribute to Tommy Tutone and a famous phone number, they are true. I look forward to every book Jenny B. Jones writes and she has yet to let me down. First off a great YA series, the Katie Parker series, and then she follows that up with So Not Happening the first of The Charmed Life series. Admittedly they are both considered YA series (but come on, she's a high school teacher and she knows her audience very well!) but I have thoroughly enjoyed them. I was curious to see how her first turn at women's fiction went, you know, the whole if it ain't broke don't fix it kind of thing... I'm so glad she decided to fix it.

    Jenny takes some tough subjects - abandonment, mental disease, suicide (?), forgiveness and bitterness and does an amazing thing by adding some incredible characters (Maggie is wonderful and you can feel the struggle she is going through in trying to protect herself and also do the right thing, and don't get me started on Riley and how she tries so hard to put up a wall so she won't get hurt again but she just wants to be loved) throwing in some good humor and topping it off with wonderful realism (the relationship between Maggie and her dad and seeing her reaction to how he treats Riley now was so real that I couldn't believe it!) and she winds up with an amazing story. I wish this wasn't a stand alone book, but I think it is. If not, I really hope to see Maggie Montgomery in print again someday, what a gal!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    Beautifully written romance is a must read

    Just Between You and Me by Jenny B. Jones is a powerful novel about living without fear and learning to trust God. Maggie Montgomery has made a career of running away. As a cinematographer she also views the world at a safe remove without having to actually interact with it. Twelve years after she left her hometown of Ivy, Texas, her father calls demanding she return to help out with her niece, Riley. Maggie has spent years avoiding returning to Ivy and all that it holds for her: her father's cold shoulder, her sister's bitter rage, and her mother's death that haunts them all. She goes home for Riley's sake, just for a few days, but her departure keeps getting delayed as God works on her heart through Riley's brokenness and handsome vet Connor's romantic attention. Whenever I see "Women of Faith Fiction" on the front cover of a novel, I know that I'm in for a treat, but Jones' stands out even in that elite group. Maggie and Connor have some of the best repartee I've ever read. They zing each other, even as they can't seem to stay apart. While the plot may be familiar: career girl returns home to face a family crisis and find romance, Jones' dialogue and appealing characters make this a real page-turner. Every sentence is carefully crafted: Because I've seen the world. But sometimes I wonder...has it ever seen me? Beautifully written with humor, romance, and faith; this book has it all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Touching and Humorous

    In high school, Maggie Montgomery was the girl who took every dare, earning the label of fearless. She left her hometown of Ivy, Texas right after high school and had no plans to return. When she's thirty, Maggie's dad calls her home to help him with a family crisis: a family of a widowed father and a crazy, druggie sister who abandons her ten-year-old girl. Maggie puts her adventurous, world-hopping life of a cinematographer on hold to return to Ivy. Maggie plans for her stay in Ivy to be a brief one but she's mistaken. She's haunted by a secret fear that gives her nightmares and a long-ago memory lapse that may hold the key to free her from her nightmares. In Ivy she reunites with her best friend and the high school nerd who is no longer the nerd she remembers but a too-handsome man whose smile melts her resolve to leave Ivy, Texas. Jones develops characters that you will love and sometimes hate and tells Maggie's story with a touch of humor. A good read.
    Jo Huddleston www.johuddleston.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jenny B. Jones provides her audience with a profound family character study

    Maggie does not have the T-shirt, but she survived the death of her mom when she was a child and the martinet demands of her dad. Instead Maggie lives for her work as a globetrotting cinematographer unlike her drug abusing sister Allison.

    Her dad begs her to come home to help him with his eight year old troubled granddaughter Riley as Allison dumped her before running away. Reluctantly, Maggie agrees though she knows any family involvement means trouble and heartache. Back home, all that she fled from hammers at Maggie's soul especially when she looks into the messed up eyes of Riley. On the positive side there is Connor the veterinarian.

    The key to this strong look at a family in crisis is each of the four prime players seems real with their dependence on varying defense mechanisms in order to survive relational demands. Maggie puts up a bold front to hide her distrust of relationships as Connor knows first hand; Allison hides behind drug abuse; Riley pretends she does not care; and dad feels overwhelmed so he keeps his emotional distance to hide his fear of failure. Though the ending is too pat and obvious, using pathos, wit, and humor, Jenny B. Jones provides her audience with a profound family character study of a Jack and his three descendent Jills struggling like the Cowardly Lion to find courage and have cake too .

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Ava's bio

    Ava Charleston. Age: 18. She's lean and long-limbed and has long, auburn hair. Her eyes are electric blue, and she has pretty fair skin. She's very beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Cory's Bio

    Name: Cory - Age: 17 - Gender: boy - Looks: tall and muscular with sandy, dirt blonde hair and piercing green eyes - Likes: s<_>ex , girls, vacation -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    ....

    12-26-S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was hilarious yet very humbling. Connor sounds like my dream guy totally to die for and he also sounds like a man after Gods own heart . But needless to say it was gret book that really got me thinking aboit my relationship with GOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really liked this book and highly recommend it. Jenny B. Jones is becoming one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Loved it!

    I find that Jenny B Jones writes about real Christian women, who are flawed and seeking, it's so refreshing. I loved this book, the characters and the message. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Great book, even my teen loved.

    I really enjoyed this book! The author, Jenny B. Jones, writes very touching, funny, and wholesome romantic fiction books. I've been looking for books for my young teenager that show how love can be pure, and fun, and a growing experience. This book was wonderful! My 14 year old enjoyed it as well as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Good read

    Jenny Jones is one of my favorite authors:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    great book

    i really enjoyed this book. it really made me laugh but also tugged at the old heart strings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3