Customer Reviews for

Just Breathe

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great story...

Ever has just been dumped. So the year her and Michael were to rule the school has been squashed the minute he says he wants a break. How could she know, in the midst of her depression, that her savior would be soon entering her life. From the moment Ever makes eye cont...
Ever has just been dumped. So the year her and Michael were to rule the school has been squashed the minute he says he wants a break. How could she know, in the midst of her depression, that her savior would be soon entering her life. From the moment Ever makes eye contact with Jack she is taken. Those gorgeous blue eyes do something to her and she loves the warm feelings he brings about when he smiles at her. But Jack is a bad boy with a police record. Her friends and brother want her to stay far away. Only thing is...she can't. She won't.

Days before her 18th birthday, Ever learns she will have to make a decision that will greatly impact her life: stay with her family on land or go live in the sea as a mermaid. The choice is one that is thrown upon her and she must make a decision quickly. But Jack and Gam-ah leave out crucial information that might have sealed the deal and helped with her choice. Since the choice has been made, Ever must make the best of it and just deal with it. It is not going to be easy, but Ever is bound and determined to be with the one she wants. Sea/Land laws be darned. Sheesh. What has she gotten herself into?

This would have been a rather quick read for me, but I just couldn't keep my eyes open any longer last night when I went to finish the book. No. Definitely not the book or the authors fault. It was all on me. Because this book was so good and had my attention throughout. I like the authors writing style and it was easy to fall into. Such a good read. And since it is about mermaids I knew I would just adore it. There is just something about mermaid stories that I go crazy for.

I really liked Ever’s character in the story but her parents are a little odd for me. Or maybe I am a little jealous my parents weren’t like hers; barely batting an eye when she calls them after being gone missing several days. I think they would have been a bit more believable if they acted a bit…I don’t know…parental?

I liked where the story went and how the plot played out. I think with how it ended was the perfect way to lead into the next one. Readers are going to be a flabbergasted with the ending and will be itching to know what happens next. I know I am eagerly anticipating what happens to Ever, Jack, and James. So much could happen…so much could go wrong…and what about Alex? Hmmm??!! Guess we will just have to continue on in the series to find out.

posted by twimom101 on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Breathe

This book has any interesting plot and an unexpected twist makes it a great read. Although it’s hard to believe that two children can disappear for days at a time as the two in the story did and the parents don’t question their disappearances. Over all, it’s a good st...
This book has any interesting plot and an unexpected twist makes it a great read. Although it’s hard to believe that two children can disappear for days at a time as the two in the story did and the parents don’t question their disappearances. Over all, it’s a good story and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

posted by 16645103 on September 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    READ!! YOU MUST READ!! HOLY DEMON BABIES!! Wow...

    Holy demon babies!! *Hyperventlating* Oh my Gods!!

    Such a wonderful story. It's magical and it has mermaids, and mermen. *wink wink*

    Lovely love story that just towards the end... BAAAAMM!! ... oh my Gods!... BIG TWIST AND TURN AND TWIST AND TURNS AND OH MY GODS WOW.
    So progressivly throughout the story, you start thinking uuuuh what's goin' on here...? Then you are like wait what??!! Then hmmmm... then you go into shock, then you ssssllllllooooowwwwwwlllllllyyyyyyyyy start to freak the fudge out, then you're like, no no no no no please no no no oh Gods no no oh Gods please please no no no no no no please no!!

    Then shock.

    The, well... you'll have to read to find out...

    But wow.

    THEN I FOUND OUT IT WAS A SERIES AND I ALMOST FAINTED WITH RELEIF!!
    Yeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaa....

    Just. Breath.
    (No pun intended(well, maybe a little hahaha!!))

    BUT SERIOUSLY
    Highly recomended. Great YA Romance Fiction Fantacy read.

    5+ stars
    They should really put a 1-10-10+ stars for rating a book. 5 starts is too little.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    great story...

    Ever has just been dumped. So the year her and Michael were to rule the school has been squashed the minute he says he wants a break. How could she know, in the midst of her depression, that her savior would be soon entering her life. From the moment Ever makes eye contact with Jack she is taken. Those gorgeous blue eyes do something to her and she loves the warm feelings he brings about when he smiles at her. But Jack is a bad boy with a police record. Her friends and brother want her to stay far away. Only thing is...she can't. She won't.

    Days before her 18th birthday, Ever learns she will have to make a decision that will greatly impact her life: stay with her family on land or go live in the sea as a mermaid. The choice is one that is thrown upon her and she must make a decision quickly. But Jack and Gam-ah leave out crucial information that might have sealed the deal and helped with her choice. Since the choice has been made, Ever must make the best of it and just deal with it. It is not going to be easy, but Ever is bound and determined to be with the one she wants. Sea/Land laws be darned. Sheesh. What has she gotten herself into?

    This would have been a rather quick read for me, but I just couldn't keep my eyes open any longer last night when I went to finish the book. No. Definitely not the book or the authors fault. It was all on me. Because this book was so good and had my attention throughout. I like the authors writing style and it was easy to fall into. Such a good read. And since it is about mermaids I knew I would just adore it. There is just something about mermaid stories that I go crazy for.

    I really liked Ever’s character in the story but her parents are a little odd for me. Or maybe I am a little jealous my parents weren’t like hers; barely batting an eye when she calls them after being gone missing several days. I think they would have been a bit more believable if they acted a bit…I don’t know…parental?

    I liked where the story went and how the plot played out. I think with how it ended was the perfect way to lead into the next one. Readers are going to be a flabbergasted with the ending and will be itching to know what happens next. I know I am eagerly anticipating what happens to Ever, Jack, and James. So much could happen…so much could go wrong…and what about Alex? Hmmm??!! Guess we will just have to continue on in the series to find out.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    perfect

    Perfect just perfect

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Awesome series!!!!

    I adore this author for writing this trilogy!! It is a great love story and I promise you, if you stick with this series you will no be disappointed with the ending. There are a few grammar mistakes in here but if you're not too OCD about it then you won't really notice them.
    This is a supernatural love story, but not the typical vampire/werewolf stuff you might expect. There is magic that comes along with the powers. Ever's struggle to decide where she will decide to go is basically what this whole book is about and in the next book there are some very interesting developments in the plot and the story goes much deeper into the whole legend and mystery than this book will-so hang in there. ;D Overall, good book, great series, so read it! This book is free anyway so if you absolutely hate this book you can hide it away somewhere or just get rid of it. Happy reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Well written

    Definately a wonderful book. Cute and classy and author dud and amazayn job.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    To evie and john: plz read my comment thing

    You guys are perfect together but ther is a betther way to talk to each other go to your the book share butten thing then hit recemend hit evie or johns email then you will recement that book to them and you can write to eachother privitly. Plz keep me pisted with you guys my emails gixxersixxer006@aol.om

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    To evie and john: You guys are too cute<3

    :) <3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Omfg

    It is an amazing book !!!!!! One of an kind

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Love love love

    This book was great. I really enjoyed Ever and Jack, and the ending literally took my breath away. It was the perfect combination of love, adventure, sadness, and findimg out who you really are. I applaud you Heather Allen! This (her first published novel) is a wonderful ebook. There were a few grammatical and spelling errors but nothing too serious. I can't wait to read the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Britney

    Hey I'll see u after school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    loved it

    very realistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    I heart my books

    I LOVE this book if you dont screw your self!(dead serious...)
    I couldnt imagine this book not being made if it wasnt i would die just die!..... I LOVE IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Amazing

    Ok this book was awesome. I absolutely love Jack I picture him so beautiful. One thing that made me really mad was the ending. Super plot twist with Jack being on the other side. I got so mad at the cliffhanger i almost threw my Nook!! Overall this book was amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Great book

    This book is so good i really recommend that u read it it has a really good plot line then it has a real cliff hanger at the end

    GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Love his book.

    If you love the thought mermaids, or books about mermaids, this book is for you. It is really gripping, although it may be hard to follow in some places. That just means you need to take your time when reading it. I cannot wait to get the next book. Two thumbs up and five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good

    Its a good book but can use some grammatical editing. I dont especially care for the ending but i guess i would reccomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    John

    Promise me something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Evie

    John where are you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Evie to the to evie and john person........

    He has disappeared and I cant do that this nook runs off my moms email. I do not have an email

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Omg

    Have not read the book but i bet 100% that its gonna rock :)tl talk later

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2