Customer Reviews for

Just Don't Fall: A Hilariously True Story of Childhood, Cancer, Amputation, Romantic Yearning, Truth, and Olympic Greatness

Average Rating 5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Great. Emotional.

    Found Josh through YouTube and decided to read his book. It was written as if he were still a kid and I love it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great Book

    I read this book cause it hits close to home, my son had his left leg amputated due to a disease as well. This is a very touching book that i hope to let my son read one day.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Beautiful and inspirational

    Josh Sundquist told the tale, in the perspective of his young self, of the hardships and miracles of his childhood as an amputee and experiencing cancer at a young age. The imagery that is used is breathtaking and brought tears to my eyes, but at the same time kept me giggling throughout the whole book. Just don't fall is truly astonishing and I would recommend it to anyone looking for inspiration.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Candid, heart-warming, heart-breaking...hilarious!

    The boy-next-door goes from losing a leg to cancer at age 9 to skiing as a member of the 2006 U. S. Paralympic Ski Team. Josh tells his story as though you were sitting on his shoulder sharing every encounter. Be prepared for a wild ride!!

    Josh shares of all the normal, often awkward, things most boys experience growing up... a first love, siblings, communicating with parents, wanting to go out for the soccer team, etc. Then he shares what is different...losing his hospital roommate to cancer, being interviewed on the Miracle Network, finding someone to teach a teenager with one leg to ski, etc., all while living in a small city in Virginia.

    Along with all these events, add Josh's personality and spirit. He is extremely intelligent, extremely motivated, an extreme risk taker, extremely humorous, etc. In other words, Josh is extreme.

    For the sake of full disclosure, I live in the city where Josh grew up. He was about to leave for college when my family moved to Harrisonburg, VA, and I never met him. However, he is somewhat of a folk hero, not just because of the difficulties of his life but for the joy and hope he has given to individuals and this community. When his name is mentioned, there are always smiles. Everyone has a Josh story and a special place for the miracle guy... miracles both earned and bestowed.

    If you have never heard of Josh Sundquist, you should. His is a fabulous story of growth, faith, pain and joy. You gotta read this book!

    Reviewer's rating: PG-13

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Cat

    At first I was a little sceptical about reading ,but my older was reading it and told me it was a good book so I decided to read it. That will probily be one of the best decitions I have ever made. The book was awesome! It was sad,funny,joyful,and inspiring. It let me get inside other person's world. It helped me so that I would understand other people like that better. It was an amazing book. So if you are wndering if you should get this book ,get it. It will help you so much. Now and more years to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Loved it

    I first saw him on youtube and read it. It was inspirational and inspiring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Very Inspirational

    Josh provides insight into what it was like to deal with a potentially fatal disease and the loss of a limb at a young age. He works through depression, puberty, going to college etc. as he is trying to come to terms with his disability to attain his goals.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    inspiring!!!

    over all i thought the book was very inspiring it really got me thinking about my own life i'm not missing a limb or anything thank goodness but like a lot of ppl i have ADHD which st times feels like it cintrols my life i had bad grade my whole life and ended up droping outta hight school after 10th grade and i always told myself i wanted to be a teacher cuz i thought i could do better than my teacher did eith me but first i needed my GED it was really hard to have hope and believe that i could do it thats when i started watching josh's video on youtube and they really helped me get out of my slum and his book was really a bonus really inspiring

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Honest and real, a must read

    Josh Sundquist does what few authors ever do... He tells us like it is. It is truthful and real, something you rarely ever see. He does not edit how he feels or what he thought throughout his journey. The tales of success and failure show us that it is OKAY to be who we are, for we can always triumph. This book should not only be a must read for you, but also a book you buy for anyone you know-no matter what stage in life they are in. This is a book that needs to be added to your collection immediately, and read even quicker. So please, quit reading this review- there is something better to be read. That "something better" is Just Don't Fall by Josh Sundquist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I got this book by chance for free and know that God put this bo

    I got this book by chance for free and know that God put this book in my hands. Very inspiring story about faith and life. I am not an amputee but I was so inspired by this book. Thank you Josh for sharing your journey with us.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Great!

    See above...Great!!!...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    I frist saw this on youtoube and i had to get the book and it was amazing

    Omg i loved it it is soo funny and inspanrl

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    awesome

    greatest book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    De little

    Great halarious book but still toiches your heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2